We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walters Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Walters Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Walters Bed and Breakfast
Oelestrasse 35, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 Interlaken B&B and Inns
San Antonio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Walter was not there when we arrived however he left a note indicating what room we were assigned to. Room was big and clean. Breakfasts was great for the price since Switzerland is very expensive. There was more than enough to eat and as mentioned before he provided bags to pack a lunch if desired. The location is a short 7 minute walk to town and about 10 to the interlaken east station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at Walter's for five nights in May 2013 and it made definitely made our trip! The room was spotlessly clean and tidy! Our room (triple room) was on the ground floor next to the bathroom and kitchen, which were both very very clean. Walter is very caring and came in to check in on us every night to make sure everything was okay. Breakfast was amazing and a budget saver, Walter even gave us bags to pack the leftovers for lunch! We would definitely stay at Walter's next time!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Walters B&B.. in a nutshell.. superb !!

We stayed for 3 nights at this B&B and Mr. Walter did everything possible to make our stay as homely and comfortable. We had a large triple room with shared bath right across the room with a kitchen we could use anytime. Since we were the only family on that floor, it was more like a private facility for us. Walter welcomes you with Toblerones on your bed !! The view from the balcony of the Alps were to die for.. just a minute walk from the bus stop Gymnasium for buses 102/103 and 104 we were never far from any place in Interlaken.

The breakfast @ Srf 7 pp was HUGE !! and I mean HUGE !!! Walter provides bags to pack up the stuff you cannot possibly finish and make sandwiches for lunch. We bought supplies from COOP for dinner and had a great time putting together Rosti and salads..

We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Interlaken.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My fiance and I stayed in Walters for 2 nights for only CHF33 per person with breakfast, which was quite a bargain, knowing accommodation options were really expensive in Interlaken. It was about 20 minutes walk from Interlaken Ost (we were quite sure it wasn't 7 mins as stated in our booking confirmation!).

The B&B was a huge house in a quiet neighbourhood, with as many as 9 rooms. We were greeted by a friendly old gentleman, Mr Walter, who showed us our room on the first floor. It was very spacious and had a double bed as well as another single bed which we used for laying out our clothes. Though I wouldn't say it was spotless (the floor was slightly dusty), it was clean enough for our standards and we had what we needed e.g. hooks for our coats, sufficient electrical outlets, good wifi. The shared bathroom was just next door and the water pressure was great, but you will need to be careful when adjusting the temperature (it gets hot real quickly even with a slight turn of the knob). We were the only occupants on the first floor, hence we never had to wait for the bathroom or the kitchen. Speaking of the kitchen, Mr Walter gave us free reign with his well-stocked utensils, which we utilised one night to cook instant noodles. This is great for travellers who wish to save money by eating in, and groceries can easily be bought from COOP near Interlaken OST. Mr Walter also stocks soft drinks in his refrigerator much cheaper than what you get in convenience stores outside, and all you have to do is jot down what you took on a piece of memo and he would add that to the bill when you check out.

Mr Walter places a slip of paper on your door everyday for you to indicate if you wanted breakfast (and at what time), which is actually really cheap at only CHF7 per person for a full basket of bread rolls, cold meats, assortment of cheese/butter/jam, fruit with yogurt, fresh fruit and a huge pot of coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Mr Walter serves his breakfast punctually and personally greets you at the door to inform you that breakfast is ready. Like every other reviewer, we packed the remaining food for lunch which allowed us to save quite a sum on eating out! Great bargain!

Would recommend Walters for budget travellers for its value and comfort. Remember to ask for your Interlaken Visitor's Card from Mr Walter as it allows you free travel on all the buses and trains within Interlaken. Saves us much time on walking!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived 20 minutes after last check-in time i.e. 8:30pm. When ring his bell, Mr. Walter walked downstair with a angry face. We said sorry and explained that we got lost as it was too dark to find his house. He was still angry and looked indifferent. He gave a three persons room which was quite large for two of us. The room was clean and quiet.
We tried to search restaurant for dinner but there were only two restaurants in surrounding area. You better buy something from Coop supermarket to cook of station before check-in.

Room Tip: room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with a child. Room was quite big with a kitche and shared bathroom on the same floor. We stayed on the first floor. Room was very basic, but had everything what we needed. Beds were comfortable. Owner was a gentleman, informed us about every details. There was no one else staying on that floor, there was no problem in bathroom sharing. Very near from the station. Overall, great hotel for the money you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are in a budget, and want a clean easy to get to, extremely comfortable room this is the place to be! The owner was so acomodating he let us check out at 400PM! :)

There is plenty of Interlaken information on the hallway.

Me and my fiancee stayed here for one evening ( which is was more ) in February 2013, the price you pay is beyond fair for what you get: A huge private quiet room with a super comfortable bed, a table, no tv, heating, a great view to the mountain, close to Interlaken Ost a super easy 8 minute walk ( a little hard to find :) ) . We shared a bathroom which was super clean too!

A Walk to Downtown Interlaken is a very easy 15 minute stroll, Unless you stay at the victoria jungfraouch; your only 2 other options should be: backapckers villa or here!

Would defenetly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walters Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walters Bed and Breakfast

Address: Oelestrasse 35, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Walters Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walters b&b
Walters Hotel Interlaken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walters Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.