We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Indian Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice India

Spice India
Postgasse 6, Interlaken, Switzerland
033 8210091
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 121 Restaurants in Interlaken
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good Indian Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Situated near the main market, this place offers good Indian food. Convenient location, good ambiance, good service and finally good food. Satisfactory over all.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    37
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Costly good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The food is good, service is good, but its so costly that you think whether its worth it. The nan served by them were excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Switzerland but ????????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were in Interlaken for 2 Nights had prebooked a Set Menu Dinner for both evenings through were travel agent here.
Nice ambience, good decoration and courteous staff and amazing food. May be even better than some of the good restaurants here back in India also. We really enjoyed and happy that we had our food here but one bitter point.........

As we entered the restaurant on the first evening, I promptly informed the server that we have a booking for a Set Dinner Menu and gave him my booking voucher. We were made to take a Comfortable seat and then the waiter informed us that they will be giving 3 side vegetables and Rotis. When we told him that we were informed that in a Set Dinner Menu either it will be Buffet or we will start with a Soup and Starter and them the Main Course with rice/pulao, papads and a Dessert to finish with. The waiter asked to wait as he needed to check with his manager and he came back and said Ok Sir ! We will give you a Tomato Soup and Cocktail Samosas in the starter and then the main course and dessert. After finishing the main course again we were made to wait for a good 15 mins and no one showed and we had to call them and ask if they are giving the dessert. That was served after 15 mins.

This problem was repeated again the next evening and we literally felt like beggars asking for everything. The other choice was either to create a havoc or leave in a huff.When I told one of the Servers that I want to talk to the Manager he replied that the Manager doesn't talk to the guests normally. On my insistence, he went inside to check an came back to inform that the manager has gone out and will be back only after sometime.
So, my advice to everyone that food is good but don't prebook. They expect you to spend more by ordering Ala Carte to be served properly.
And a word for the Management- pls don't accept PreBookings if you don't like to serve properly. For God Sake don't make your guests feel like beggars. Please keep in Mind : CUSTOMER IS GOD

I have cut 3 Stars for this thing otherwise it would have been 5.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The costliest meal you will have in your life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Go there if you are Tata, Birla or Ambani! For other mere mortals, this place can put a big hole in the pocket and frankly the food is very ordinary. There are other better alternatives in Interlaken.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Truly Indian ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We dined at spice India everyday we were in interlaken on our honeymoon
It serves a good quality Indian food the taste of good is as good as any authentic Indian restaurant in India .. Biryani and chole were simply amazing .. Fairly price .. Being a vegan we had no problem in interlaken thanks to spice India

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice India also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Unterseen, Interlaken
 

Been to Spice India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.