We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base location for hiking around Interlaken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnolds Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arnolds Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Arnolds Bed & Breakfast
Parkstrasse 3, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 51 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base location for hiking around Interlaken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Clean, quiet, basic, small room (A) with private bath (excellent shower!) and beautiful mountain views at the most affordable price we could find and the nicest and most accommodating hostess ever (Excellent English and very knowledgeable about cities around the world). We had easy access by car to all the superb hiking trails around Interlaken (this B&B is right next door to the Backpackers Villa, a hostel for hikers and great source of friendly advice and a drink). The downside in the rain is that you have to park in a public lot a short distance away but the upside is that you can walk anywhere in town (don't overlook the short walk to the Old Town, the longer hike up to Harder Kulm with phenomenal views over both lakes, and dinner at Restaurant Tenne, a short walk away). Yes, we would definitely return, and hope to!

Room Tip: We were delighted with room "A."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
707 reviews 707 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 285 cities Reviews in 285 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights -- room "A" -- and we felt just like at home. It was lovely to talk every morning with the owners, they were always very kind.

Room is like... a "home room", extremely cozy -- just like the whole BB. Size is sufficient, the view should be wonderful (it was cloudy in Interlaken during our stay). Breakfast is good enough with basic -- and very good! -- options. There was no bath soap but we had our own.

It's located right back of a big hostel, between the two train stations -- it's an easy walk (1km) for both.

I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennet, Nebraska
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here 4 nights in June during the Jodeling and Alphorn festival. We loved the location - about half way between the 2 train stations and near the center of town. We arrived to find an envelope with the key on the door. We met the Arnold's the next morning at breakfast. They are wonderful hosts. The room 'A' was small but the view made up for the size. Everything was spotless. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed with the Arnolds for 4 nights. The hosts are extremely friendly and very helpful. The room we stayed in was huge with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. There is a bar fridge in the room.

Breakfast was plain and simple, muesli and yogurt with breads and cheese and coffee and more than enough to get you to lunch. It was centrally located with easy access from both train stations and a few minutes’ walk to town.

We enjoyed our stay with the Arnolds very much and will go back there when in Interlaken and we can and will recommend Arnolds B&B to all visiting Interlaken.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I'm slightly surprised because of the kind of reviews that this place has been given. The location and rooms were really good, but I found the place very indifferent and cold. I would think that the whole idea of staying in a bed and breakfast place was that it isn't an impersonal experience. But the hosts weren't really that helpful or, for that matter, available to provide any tips, or guidance -- considering that Interlaken is also such a small place; and they weren't even home half of the time, especially not even when we arrived. This meant we had to carry the luggage all by ourselves to the second floor, especially a problem, since my mother is a senior citizen and has a back problem. There was no opportunity to discuss, ask, or talk about anything with the hosts. The host also wasn't exactly sure of which bus would come from the station to the hostel! For the location, I think this is a complete waste of resources.

There was no Internet terminal available for those without a laptop. There was also no soap in the bathroom! We got it after we asked, but I think it's a little strange, since people traveling on a journey can't be expected to carry any soap with them. The breakfast was sketchy to say the least. I wish there were vegetables and fruits, or at least egg or something warm available. There was only cheese and bread and butter and jam and juice and conflakes and coffee and tea. The usual tinned, routine, packaged stuff. There was nothing fresh and hot, or anything out of the ordinary. I enjoyed the view and the rooms, but that's about it.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My wife and I were delighted with our trip to Interlaken and our stay at Arnold's. Armin & Beatrice were very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the top floor, which has a separate living room and a small fridge. This meant that after a hard day's walking we could kick off our boots and eat far too much fresh bread and Swiss cheese while watching Spiderman speaking German (there is an English channel, but it does repeat an awful lot of soaps). The bedroom window framed the Jungfrau wonderfully, so when we got up at 6am for the must-do Jungfraujoch trip we could see the top was clear of cloud. If we go back to Interlaken - and we hope to - Arnold's will definitley be our first choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Lovely comfy bed and good brekky with charming hosts.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arnolds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnolds Bed & Breakfast

Address: Parkstrasse 3, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arnolds Bed & Breakfast. Our nice and cozy house with a fantastic view to the Jungfrau and the surrounding mountains is the ideal place to stay in Interlaken. Located very centrally in a quiet area. Big garden. Rich breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arnolds Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnolds Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.