We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blume

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blume to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blume
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jungfraustrasse 30, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We really liked this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a bit of difficulty finding this place, but the information desk at the Interlaken West train station gave us a map and circled where the hotel was.

We were on the top floor and it is definately not easy if you were to have lots of luggage. We just had backpacks and carry-on luggage and even then it was steep and curvy.

We also had to share a bathroom, but it's not like a dorm - you could lock the door and be the only one in there. So, really, there was no issue. There was also a toilet 1/2 flight down and 1 1/2 flights down, there was another shower. We only had to wait for a bit one morning.

We stayed two nights here only because it was only available for two nights. We had to stay somewhere else, but wished we could have stayed the whole time at Hotel Blume. It was literally in the middle of things. We walked just about everywhere and there are shops and restaurants all around.

Our room was big with a double bed, a small table with two chairs, night tables, a couch, a wardrobe, and a coffee table. The room was kind of like a cabin, with wooden ceilings and beams. There was mariachi music and a drum line until 9:30 one night, but it wasn't noisy beyond that. We had a good view, as well. There was a skylight and it was pretty bright at night, so you might want to bring an eye mask if you are a light sleeper. They also had a fan, which was nice as there wasn't air conditioning.

There was free breakfast and the lady who ran the hotel was so nice! She also booked some of our excursions which was convenient. We were allowed to leave our luggage on our last day.

Overall, it was a good price for the location and we would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
34
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel has a great location on quiet pedestrian street, close to Interlaken West station (5 minute walk) and Interlaken Ost was only about a 15 minute walk. Absolutely awesome customer service: Claudia helped us with everything, gave us local info, arranged for a packed breakfast the day we left early, and even remembered that we were travelling for our anniversary. The room (room #1) was very large with a desk & closet, a big bed & 2 side tables. We also had a little balcony overlooking the street, with a table & chairs, which was lovely to sit and watch the world go by and the mountains in the background. The bathroom was a little small but had sink/toilet/shower, so what more do you need?! So nice to come "home" to after a long day! The breakfast was very good and the lady who runs it (and also cleans the rooms later, I feel bad that I didn’t get her name) works so hard! Always running around making sure everyone has coffee, food is refilled, tables are set/cleared … rarely do you come across people who work so hard to make other people happy! Breakfast consisted of good coffee, a selection of breads, croissants, jams, brightly coloured eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc. The Coop Pronto store around the corner is convenient for cheap sandwiches (nice lunch option - picnic at the park instead of paying a fortune at a restaurant), basic groceries & snacks, and there is also a Migros nearby (full grocery plus restaurant). We had been debating between a cheaper but higher rated b&b with a much smaller room, or this one that was more expensive but larger - we DEFINITELY made the right choice and this place deserves to be ranked #1 for the fantastic people that run it!! Absolutely enjoyed our time in Interlaken and were so glad we picked this hotel!

Room Tip: We asked for (and got) a room on a lower floor because there's no elevator, the stairs aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First, understand what we were doing. My wife and I decided to do what my friends did 30 years ago, take a small backpack and a Eurail pass to travel around part of Europe in a simple fashion. We looked for decent, basic hotels within walking distance (or an easy bus or tram ride) from the train station and/or from the main attractions. We usually spent one night in each place and moved on. We did not spend much time in the hotels, so we required only a decent place to sleep, bathe, and wash out some clothes in the sink. If breakfast was included, all the better.

Given our parameters, this hotel was excellent. It is in the middle of shops and restaurants, and an easy walking distance from the train station, closer to the station that comes from Zweisimmen, so get off there if you are walking. We walked to the other Interlaken station in the morning to go on to Luzern, but it's a longer hike with a pack. Since we usually live in Mexico, we were delighted by the authentic Mexican decorations and the Spanish-speaking owners (He is from Mexico, and she speaks Spanish too). She was especially friendly and helpful. The Mexican restaurant is authentic as well if you happen to be craving Mexican food in the Alps. I don't know if the cook added more chile because we live in Mexico, but my enchiladas were hotter than any I've had in Mexico. Everything is outrageously priced in Switzerland in general, and Interlaken is no exception, but this hotel is on the lower end of prices for decent hotels. Even so, it was hard to pay 30 dollars for three small enchiladas!

The room was small, clean, comfortable, and perfectly adequate for our needs. We had a little balcony that overlooked the street, but there was no noise at night. Switzerland gets quiet early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our hotel room was clean, the bed was very comfortable with nice linen & pillows. Plenty of hanging space and storage. TV had plenty of English speaking channels and Internet was very good. Bathroom was clean, nice towels and hot water . The owners Claudia & Pauli were more than hospitable, they put a bottle of prosecco and lovely heart shaped chocolates in our room when we returned for the day when they new it was our Anniversary. If there was anything you wanted to know or needed they were more than happy to help. After having spent the last month in a number of different hotels it was a pleasure to stay here with the personal touch. They even have a microwave for your use if you need one. Breakfast was nice and buffet style. It is in a good position close to shops, restaurants and station, and if you like Mexican they have their own restaurant down stairs

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you have a bit of luggage ask for a room on the first floor. And the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

For anyone planning a budget hotel at Interlaken, I would strongly recommened Hotel Blume. It is very close to station and maintained very cleanly. I stayed with my family for 2 nights and I was very happy that I choose this hotel. The staffs are very kind and helpful. In fact my trip was unplanned. The hotel staff was kind enough and gave us a perfect plan that helped us to spend our days effectively at Interlaken. We stayed in the first floor, so did not have any issue due to absence of lift. Though the room size is small, but it was good enough for three of us. The room was cleaned everyday and kept clean. Best budget hotel at Interlaken.

Room Tip: No lift in the hotel, so choose the lower floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I've never stayed in a place where the hotelier was more personally invested in my experience, or took such pride in his work. One gets the impression that this man does the 100% the work normally done by a full hotel staff, and that he does it all meticulously well. He keeps the whole place immaculately clean and cozy. He gets up at 6am to make everyone a delicious breakfast, and when you get down there he is delighted to make you some hot chocolate and serve it to you on a beautiful tray with a loving array of toppings. He even spent half an hour helping me use his oven to make a frozen pizza so we could spare ourselves another insanely expensive meal at an Interlaken restaurant.

Now, if you're gonna be hiking/skiing in the alps, your smartest move might be to find a place to stay higher up in the alps to avoid spending so much time and money commuting to and from Interlaken every day. We made this mistake, and we kinda regretted it. But if you DO stay in interlaken, I highly recommend Hotel Blume.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Pros: inexpensive, close to train station (Interlaken west), shower was hit and strong pressure water, GREAT Mexican restaurant (exlensive) with live music Friday and Saturday

Cons: small small rooms, no elevator

Basically a bare bones place to stay and save money with a fun cute Mexican restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Blume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blume

Address: Jungfraustrasse 30, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Blume 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Blume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.