We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place ive ever booked....disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heidi's Hostel

Heidi's Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Heidi's Hostel to your Saves list
Heidi's Hostel
Bernastrasse 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 39 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worst place ive ever booked....disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

we travelled for about a month all over europe and it was the only place where we felt cheated and had to leave immediately and moved to hotel krebbs. it did not have basic amenities of a dishwasher, washing machine and wi-fi besides. we did not get what we were promised and apartment was very poorly decorated and very old odd furniture. even the towels and linen were horrible. the owners also were not at all cooperative and took the entire money before we could see the apartment. would never recommend this palce to anyone...it was the worst part of our holiday.

Room Tip: hotel krebbs was fine....would stay in grindelwald not interlaken
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    6
    6
    17
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

There were dog fleas in the entire room! on the bed, cushion, wall, floor, chair, cabinets and even the toilet!!!!
we only found this out in the during midnight realizing something was crawling on the blanket! Completely ruined my holiday and my trip to Jungfrau when we stayed up entire night at the train station since we cant stand being in the room...
it's the worst place i've ever stayed in and it's not cheap!!!!

Room Tip: Horrible, disgusting, will never go back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Booked weeks in advanced ad confirmed with a credit card. When we arrived, (2 female travellers) we were told there was no room but we were being moved elsewhere. They charged us full price...moved us to a horrible hostel o the outskirts of town meaning when we went out we had to get a taxi! We only saw the foyer of this hostel but it stank of something really unpleasant, and the elderly lady dealing with us was unable to speak English or use the card machine! Avoid this place if you can!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

the place had a distinct "wet dog" smell that was overwhelming...the bathroom was made out of a small closet....there was hardly any room to walk because the room was too small for all the beds in it...the sheets had dog hair on one of the beds.....Heidi was a very sweet old lady though...but not sweet enough to make us ever go back to that dump...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We couldn't find another hostel nearby the ski area so we had to sleep one night in Heidi's Hostel in Interlaken/SUI. We didn't expect very much for 20.- per person. However, we were surprised how terrible it was. The shower looked like a pissoir in a wardrobe, on the toilet there wasn't toilet paper or a washbasin. Oh, and there were some mouse running in the brickwork. It smelled like in a house which has no windows and hasn't been aerated for years. The beds were put together with tape and it was just disgusting to sleep with these bacteria in them.
The women were super-friendly because they like Swiss people very much. But the rest was just.... worse!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

My wife and i visited this hostel during Nov 2010. We had got our booking online and were quite thrilled for our stay. When we reached late night, we were comfortable greeted and escorted to our room. Being tired, it hardly took us time to settle down and dooze off. Only in the morning, when we got up, we realised, during our breakfast at the guest kitchen, that the entire hostel was uncleaned and stinky. The family run hostel had many dogs, which made the enitre place smell aweful. We approached the lady owner and demanded immediate refund as the premises werent upto our expectations.

The lady owner, releasing that this shall not only take business out of her hands but would also affect her hostel reputation immediately offered us an 4-star apartment nearby at a slightly higher price. We were by that time completely out of our senses and wanted to leave the hostel immediately. But that lady, gracefully offered her mercedes to drop to her nearby apartment, helping us sooth a little. Her son accompanied us to the apartment and the next 4 days went pretty fine as the apartment had all amenities in place.

In the end, only because she kept our comfort over her profits, did we came back with good experience. In my personal opinion, lady owner's self owned apartments are not only cheap but also very well taken care off.

Thanks
Ashish Narula, Delhi, India

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

It was cheap, and we couldn't find anything else for the night. The lady was super nice, but the place is completely run down and smells bad. Don't plan on showering. Just find somewhere else. It's not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heidi's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Hostel

Address: Bernastrasse 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Heidi's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Hotel Interlaken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidi's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.