We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid for your own health” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ox Restaurant & Grill

Ox Restaurant & Grill
Am Marktplatz, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
+41(0)33 828 12 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 121 Restaurants in Interlaken
Price range: $0 - $76
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid for your own health”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate hear and my wife was violently sick later on in the evening. She ate the prawns. It spoiled her birthday.
Also very pricy considering I had to then pay for an emergency doctor to come out at night.
Defiantly won't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, Geschäftsführer at Ox Restaurant & Grill, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all, we would like to apologize for the bad experience you had in the OX.
We were surprised, when we read the comment, as in our kitchen everything is homemade and freshly produced. We never had one complaint from the food inspectors. In our restaurant, the hygienic standards are not only existing, but also implemented.

Therefore, we deeply apologize for the incident and kindly ask you to send us the bill for the emergency doctor.

Kind regards,
Christine Scheuch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    38
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant. I ordered the grilled fish special with two sides and my boyfriend ordered the grilled sirloin and we both thought our meals were delicious. The prices were reasonable for Switzerland and our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great cooking and lovely service, friendly, helpful and polite. Large portions making good value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would not go here in the future.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Turkey breast special was extremely disappointing ... very dry. Mentioned to the staff when asked "how was your meal", but nothing came of it ... not even an apology.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, priced the Swiss way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stumbled on this place, so entered wondering what to expect. The Iceberg Lettuce salad was fantastic, innovative, delicious. The waiter and the service very good. We had the special which roast pork. but what a fabulous and innovate way to grill. We both loved it. There are several great wines by the glass around 5 to 6.5 SF per glass, and you pay the same by the glass or by the caraf. The place is modern, classy and youthful. Loved it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ox Restaurant & Grill also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Unterseen, Interlaken
 
Unterseen, Interlaken
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Ox Restaurant & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ox Restaurant & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.