We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alp Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alp Lodge to your Saves list
Alp Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Marktgasse 59 | 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You will get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is most likely one of the most inexpensive places in Interlaken. I had a family room with a private bathroom. This place was clean but it is very old, so the wood and paint is chipping; even though we had a balcony we did not sit outside as the balcony was falling apart. Since Interlaken is so expensive I suggest staying away from Interlaken and just take a train to Interlaken when you want to visit it. Interlaken is very crowded and expensive in the summer, it is overflowing with tourists. I do not recommend staying in Interlaken in the summer as it is extremely crowded and expensive.

This place would be OK for a student on a very small budget. Very close to the railway station and the view of the river is nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Strengths:
- friendly staff (when available), helped secure bookings for activities and provide information as requested
- quick check in process
- great courtyard / on roof area (beautiful sunset)
- small bar downstairs (didn't personally use it, didn't see many people in there)

Weaknesses:
- wifi connection hardly ever connects (unless u sit downstairs)
- dusty smell throughout the rooms / building (partner didn't smell it as much as I did)
- next to train railways / constant loud noise
- sink in bedroom rather than inside the ensuit (private double room)
- tiny shared fridge (clearly not enough space for a full hostel)
- no real interactive guest spots

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We didn't have reservations when we got to Interlaken and the local tourist information found the last room in town for a family of four at the Alps Lodge. It was a great price for that city (very expensive) and close to the train station. Very clean and the beds are soooo comfortable...best night sleep we got on our 18 day vacation in Europe! We stayed two nights and will most certainly stay there again, when we go back.
Friendly and very helpful staff and great location!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Charming hostel, nice and bright and quite spacious.

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm (shared bathrooms), on the first floor. Unfortunately there were no lockers so it felt a bit unsecure.

Staff were friendly enough - there was an incident one night where a guest threw up all over the room at 1.30am, and the lady at reception immediately moved the remaining 5 of us to another room on the third floor.

Good location, supermarket right opposite.

One negative was that bathrooms were insufficient for demand. On about 4 occasions they were full when I needed to go to the bathroom. There were three of us wandering to each floor looking for a free bathroom - perhaps would be better if showers were separate from toilets.

Equipped kitchen available for use, plus fridge.

Wifi offered for free, and worked in both our rooms.

No curfew.

Room Tip: Room 15 was good. Room 37 was a bit cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was probably my favourite hostel that we stayed in on our whole trip. The hostel it self was just a regular hostel but the atmosphere when we went there was amung the best. We met the best friends there that we ended up travelling with and the staff was very friendly and helpful. While in interlaken we went canyonning and hiking and there were many other activities to do there. The bar scene there is not very happening but if you meet the right people you can surely have a lot of fun. It was one of the most beautiful places ever and the view from the hostel is amazing. I loved that alp lodge had a kitchen because then you could go to the store and make your own meals instead of paying for meals everyday as it is expensive there. overall I would suggest this hostel to anyone who is young and has an outgoing personality to meet new people and do adventurous things. I would definatelty go back here in a second the staff was very friendly and helpful as well in helping plan your activities. There is also a bar in the hostel which they let you drink your own booze at as long as you bought a couple drinks which I thought was unreal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Alp lodge is a very beautiful,neat,tidy and a very good location in switzerland.
A very good and nice place to stay with family. I loved it and my family loved it and we will very very surely come back.
Location close to every necessity stores , good scenic view
Very a lot reasonable prices, and very very really worth the money
And a very amazingly beautiful garden with pretty much a lot of varieties of flowers

Superb hotel

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Alp lodge Interlaken,

Had a lovely view from the room.
People were friendly and helpful
Very Clean,
Very close to Interlaken West, just 5 mins

You will not find any such place at this rate in Interlaken, its complete value for money.

We would definitely recommend this place, you have a well equipped shared kitchen as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alp Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Lodge

Address: Marktgasse 59 | 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alp Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Alp Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alp Hotel Interlaken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alp Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.