We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience from bad to good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An average experience from bad to good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

hotel is in close vicinity of Interlaken west Railway station. Hotel building is old but renvated. hotel is situated on the canal so the view is very good. But, You have to walk 10-15 min to reach to the main market. The rooms are very small. We had a bad experience when we reached. The water was coming back from the drainage and the bathroom was very dirty. we called the staff they cleaned it. when we came back to room after 2-3 hours few noises were coming out of bathroom. My wife was literally scared. it was like a haunted place. when i checked in bathroom the dirty water was coming out of drainage. we called the hotel staff and demanded room change. they changed it to a spacious room. Staff is good. But i felt you can find a better hotel at same price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timo108, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Firstly, I want to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our Hotel Bellevue Interlaken. I regret very much that you were not completly satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

The problem we had on the evening you stayed at our Hotel was a blocked drainage-pipe in the room below and so the water was not able to flow off. When the guest above you toke a shower the water was dammed and flew in your shower.
After a first inspection and cleaning we expected the problem to be solved, but we were wrong and therefore offered you to change to a larger room.

In every hotel problems may occur, but you can measure the quality in the way they react.


I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Bellevue in the near futur and offering you a perfect stay.

Best regards
Jürg Walther
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    84
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
87
98
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff here is very helpful, and nice. The rooms are decent sized and I had a great view of the river from my balcony. It is in a great location, very close walking distance to the shopping and things like harder klum. The breakfast buffet was good every morning. Dont be scared by the elevator it is weird but very functional ;) They have free wifi which is much appreciated when you are away from home!!! The only bummer was you had to pay for parking but it wasnt too expensive! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is very over priced for what you get. The rooms are small and noisy. The beds were very hard a bit like sleeping on the floor. There is no air conditioning , the hotel provide a small fan - whoopee. The breakfast buffet was terrible with very few options. we paid a lot of money to stay here and felt it was a complete rip off. They give you ear plugs in the room due to the noise from other rooms because there is no sound proofing here. Stay here at your own peril...........
Location was the only good thing I could say about this hotel as it is near the river.

Room Tip: Stay in a good room somewhere else.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timo108, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Firstly, I want to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our Hotel Bellevue Interlaken. I regret very much that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

Regarding the quality of the bed we like to point out that we have new matresses to provide a perfect sleep. So far we never had any complaint that our beds were too hard, 2 guests with back problems even asked for a harder matress and we were able to make the bed harder with wooden boards put under the matresses. All rooms have the same new matresses and if you are used to very soft ones from home there is unfortunately nothing we can do to solve this Problem.

Our large breakfast buffet offers a great start in the day. If something is missing, please tell us exactly what and we will try to organize the requested items.
The hotel has no air-condition, but in Interlaken we have just 4-5 really hot days (and nights) and each room has a fan. If you ask for a second one at the reception we are able to provide it.
As all the rooms have a balcony facing the river you may also leave the windows open during the night, there is always a gentle breeze along the river.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Bellevue thus having the chance to display that we can live up to your expectations.

Best regards
Jürg Walther
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely helpful staff. Good location for Interlaken West. Good breakfasts except for consistently cold fried eggs, sausages and awful bacon. Our room had great light and views. Alas, we felt we were camping: no drawers, no shelves, no fridge, so nowhere to put our stuff. The shower needs glass doors or heavier curtains as we deluged the small bathroom with every shower. A decent three-star hotel, maybe!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Bellevue for three nights in mid-September. It is 6-8 minute walk from the Interlaken West train station, and significant farther from the Interlaken Ost train station (there are buses between two train stations). It is closer to Unterseen, a small neighboring town with its own small and sufficient town center. Town center of Interlaken is about 12 minute walk away. We were assigned a room on the third floor, and the balcony has a great view of the River Aar and mountains around lake Thun. The hotel is old, but well maintained. The elevator worked better than it looks. The wooden floor squeaked here and there, but it didn't affect the quality of our stay. The bathroom has shower only and no bathtub. The shower curtain was old and moldy, which the staff replaced with a new one immediately upon notice. The breakfast was more than adequate, and the dining area is very spacious. The staff was responsive and provided appropriate advice when asked. Our overall experience was good, although the price was a bit high. I asked and was told that low season (a significantly cheaper room rate) starts from October through April (except two weeks of Christmas and New Year). Interlaken is a base to explore the Bernese Oberland. Trains going up to the mountains give great views of the Alps (Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau) and take you to many mountainous hiking trails. Lauterbrunnen is a beautiful town to visit, while Beatenberg is less treaded but equally interesting. I think if you can avoid the peak summer tourist season, Hotel Bellevue is a good place to stay at in Interlaken.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The views were fantastic from our rooms. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and we particularly like the extra fleece blankets they put next to the bed-they seemed cleaner than what you expect in a hotel. The breakfast was ok, the bar was large, inviting, and the bartender was super friendly and fun to have drinks with. The most important thing: they are dog friendly, and our dog had a minor health issue which required veterinarian attention. The wonderful girls at the front desk found a vet, made an appointment, gave us a map, and then arranged for a taxi! The service is tops here, and we will stay there the next time we visit. You have my permission to stay and enjoy this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed 1 night in this hotel (we originally booked for 3) to find it horrible.
When I saw the Lino on the floor I knew this place was going to be a dump. We were in a room on the second floor near the end when we first walked into the room it was small and cramped the small camp bed I was supposed to sleep on was tiny and looked like it was going to fall apart as soon as I lay down on it the beds were hard,no air conditioning (only a tiny little fan),a kettle but no coffee or cups,be careful if you overflow the bathroom cause the shower is faulty they will charge you for it,the room was very hot and stuffy and if you opened a window it was still unpleasant to stay in there,there were no drawers or tall boys to put clothes In and the whole place was noisy.
We had breakfast here and it was horrible and everything was dry and in edible I had the Bircher musili it tasted fishy that means it was off and they are serving rotten food to people on a plus side the staff were friendly and that's it beware of this hotel you will be disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timo108, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Firstly, I want to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our Hotel Bellevue Interlaken. I regret very much that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

The hotel has no air-condition, but in Interlaken we have just 4-5 really hot days (and nights) and each room has a fan. If you ask for a second one at the reception we are able to provide it.
As all the rooms have a balcony facing the river you may also leave the windows open during the night, there is always a gentle breeze along the river.

It is correct that we do not have the coffee and cups in the room, but upon request we would be happy to provide it (at no cost). This way we can guarantee the perfect quality of the coffee and milk. Please note that it makes it much easier for you (and us) when you mention your complaints directly at the reception and not 10 days later on Tripadvisor as we now have only the option to show you our good service when you visit us next time.

Our large breakfast buffet offers a great start in the day. Our Birchermuesli is made fresh every day and it is very surprising that the quality seemed to be not ok.

As our hotel has wooden floors we ask our guests to pay attention when taking a shower and not to flood the room as this can cause big damages. In the past 10 years it happened just once that a guest flooded the room and destroied a wooden floor and his insurance had to pay part of the new floor. In the same time we had thousends of guests who were able to take care.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Bellevue thus having the chance to display that we can live up to your expectations.

Best regards
Jürg Walther
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ***hotel Bellevue is situated in the heart of Interlaken on a sunny and quiet place directly on the bank of river Aare and is only 5 minutes walking distance away from the train station Interlaken WEST. The hotel is the ideal starting point for business travelers and holiday guests: it is close to the city center yet well situated for excursions around Interlaken and to the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.