We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing was leaving” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best thing was leaving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotels all around the world and I can honestly say that this is one of the worst hotels that I have stayed in.
I have left a number of reviews on Trip Advisor and they have always been 3-5 ( this is a generous 1 ).
Other than the location on the river and near the platz there is absolutely nothing good about this hotel.
The rooms are small, they are noisy and have no air conditioning. The beds are very hard and I felt like I was sleeping on the floor. On a positive side the bathrooms were quite reasonable and fresh as long as you do not flood the floor!
When you walk in to the room you are greeted with a box of ear plugs and a fan - says something.
Breakfast was terrible, food was dry and non appetizing.
I trust my car received better accomodation in the car park ( which I paid for ) than I.
Paid nearly 350 CHF a night and only worth what you pay in a youth hostel ( in fact the local youth hostel was better some 40 years ago ).
Hopefully others will read this review and stay away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timo108, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at our Hotel Bellevue Interlaken. I regret very much that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

It is always disapointing for us if our efforts are not apreciatet by our guests. But when we equip the beds with new matrasses and some guests say they are too soft and other mention they are too hard we are completly blocked.
Very surprising for us is the fact, that the quality of the breakfast was not in order and I will supervise the buffet personaly. The buffet gets prepared daily and all items must be fresh.


Best regards
Jürg Walther
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    85
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
88
99
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Firstly, yes we would stay again! We really enjoyed our visit. The building is an old historic structure, and yes the floors creak, but it has lots of character. The rooms are large, as are the bathrooms. The staff was very helpful and offered many tips and discount coupons on sight seeing. We choose to go up to Schilthorn and highly recommend it. As for the hotel, we recommend it too! We stayed in the family suite - 2 adjoining rooms with a bathroom in one, and a wash basin in the other. It was very comfortable, but the trains do rumble nearby until about midnight. Breakfast was the best we have had in Europe! Note, there is no air conditioning, but it does cool off nicely at night. They do provide fans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in 5 hotels during our recent trip and this was definately the best. Its good not just because the others did not measure up, but because this one has all the elements needed to be a great hotel in a place like Interlaken :

Clean Rooms with Great view : Rooms are of decent size. Bathrooms are neat. Rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river and mountains - Fabulous. Housekeeping is perfect and our lady (Noella) was particulary efficient and left a nice note for us seeking feedback.

Location : Hotel is a 5-6min walk from Interlaken West station. You can easily walk even with luggage. Good choice of food (4 Indian within 5min walking radius, also Chinese, Italian, Swiss) in the vicinity.

Breakfast - Good spread. No crowds like few other hotels. Celina (staff) is very efficient and will serve hot coffee/tea. The ambience is good and the staff keeps the tables from getting too messy.

Service : Last but not the least are the extremely pleasant and helpful front desk duo of Viola and Rosa. Ever smiling they speak good English, helpful with directions, getting around the place, storing luggage etc. Viola is probalby an intern and was visibly nervous while explaining the basic guidelines when we checked in. But by Day 3 she was a cheerful and confident pro ! Big asset for this hotel.

The hotel will give you a travel card valid for local transport (bus, train) which can be very useful for guests without a swiss pass.

The only reason for not giving top rating is lack of aircon, which can be a bit of a bother in summer.

Room Tip: River facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after reading previous reviews and taking some with a pinch of salt! We were absolutely thrilled with it. Our room had original Art Deco features ( one of my weaknesses!) , a spacious bathroom and a wonderful view of mountains and the river from our small balcony. It rained in Interlaken at some point every day of our 4 days there but we were still able to have an early evening drink on the covered terrace. The staff were fabulous, and helped us with restaurants and travel passes with brilliant English. Despite the cost of Switzerland overall I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel. A bonus was the spacious car park just across the road from the hotel-a real gem!

Room Tip: I think we were in room 108 which we loved because of the view. The floorboards creaked but that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was traveling with my three teen age sons and we decided to move on from Bern sooner than expected. We picked this hotel based on the reviews and agree that they were accurate reviews. This is a very nice hotel with FANTASTIC with great people at the front desk. Every question from laundry to dining was answered happily and with patience. And when my sons wanted to paraglide, they help to arrange the whole thing!!! We stayed in a family suite which was large, comfortable, clean, and had a little balcony right on the river with a spectacular mountain view. LOVED it!!! Great location, cute town, free bikes to borrow. A block from the train station. It was a perfect stay!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were a family of 4 travelling to Interlaken. I found this hotel online and all I can say is that it was the highlight of our trip. It was a very homely hotel, with comfortable rooms and extremely extremely good staff.
The location is superb. It's about a 4-5 min walk away from the main street (where hotel Victoria is located) but on looks the river and you have an amazing view from your room which very few 4 star hotels have!

We stayed in the family room, not too sure if they gave us the family room though however they gave us rooms 103 and 104 which were adjoining as turned out to be really good for us 4. Quite spacious and comfortable! a note though, there was no air conditioning so we had to sleep with the windows open

The reception Viola was very sweet and even bandaged me up after I fell riding a cycle at interlaken! They help you with every little detail and this really made our stay in Interlaken memorable.

We stayed in many hotels right from Intercontinental in Rome to sorell in Zurich however none felt as nice. They gave free Wifi, breakfast, bikes that you could ride, and even city travel cards for public transport.

In short, unless you're looking at something like Hotel Victoria with the rich snooty crowd, Bellevue would be a fantastic decision!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wow, this was a great place! I understand the frustration of others with the small elevator and the last stairs to the top floor. But once there, we loved the room. Yes, it was very hot while we were there, but opening the windows/door to the balcony, by the time we slept, it was not bad at all. The folks at the desk were very welcoming, helpful with suggestions for food and recreation and the bus/train passes were great. The city is lovely, the surrounding area is so beautiful. One of my best pictures came from the room overlooking the river. I wish we had stayed longer than our one night/day as we enjoyed the area a lot. Yes, Switzerland is very expensive but the people were kind and helpful. We were impressed with how clean the area remains.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the river, the best view and very quiet. The river will help you slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ***hotel Bellevue is situated in the heart of Interlaken on a sunny and quiet place directly on the bank of river Aare and is only 5 minutes walking distance away from the train station Interlaken WEST. The hotel is the ideal starting point for business travelers and holiday guests: it is close to the city center yet well situated for excursions around Interlaken and to the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.