We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Interlaken
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after reading previous reviews and taking some with a pinch of salt! We were absolutely thrilled with it. Our room had original Art Deco features ( one of my weaknesses!) , a spacious bathroom and a wonderful view of mountains and the river from our small balcony. It rained in Interlaken at some point every day of our 4 days there but we were still able to have an early evening drink on the covered terrace. The staff were fabulous, and helped us with restaurants and travel passes with brilliant English. Despite the cost of Switzerland overall I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel. A bonus was the spacious car park just across the road from the hotel-a real gem!

Room Tip: I think we were in room 108 which we loved because of the view. The floorboards creaked but that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    76
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
79
85
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was traveling with my three teen age sons and we decided to move on from Bern sooner than expected. We picked this hotel based on the reviews and agree that they were accurate reviews. This is a very nice hotel with FANTASTIC with great people at the front desk. Every question from laundry to dining was answered happily and with patience. And when my sons wanted to paraglide, they help to arrange the whole thing!!! We stayed in a family suite which was large, comfortable, clean, and had a little balcony right on the river with a spectacular mountain view. LOVED it!!! Great location, cute town, free bikes to borrow. A block from the train station. It was a perfect stay!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were a family of 4 travelling to Interlaken. I found this hotel online and all I can say is that it was the highlight of our trip. It was a very homely hotel, with comfortable rooms and extremely extremely good staff.
The location is superb. It's about a 4-5 min walk away from the main street (where hotel Victoria is located) but on looks the river and you have an amazing view from your room which very few 4 star hotels have!

We stayed in the family room, not too sure if they gave us the family room though however they gave us rooms 103 and 104 which were adjoining as turned out to be really good for us 4. Quite spacious and comfortable! a note though, there was no air conditioning so we had to sleep with the windows open

The reception Viola was very sweet and even bandaged me up after I fell riding a cycle at interlaken! They help you with every little detail and this really made our stay in Interlaken memorable.

We stayed in many hotels right from Intercontinental in Rome to sorell in Zurich however none felt as nice. They gave free Wifi, breakfast, bikes that you could ride, and even city travel cards for public transport.

In short, unless you're looking at something like Hotel Victoria with the rich snooty crowd, Bellevue would be a fantastic decision!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wow, this was a great place! I understand the frustration of others with the small elevator and the last stairs to the top floor. But once there, we loved the room. Yes, it was very hot while we were there, but opening the windows/door to the balcony, by the time we slept, it was not bad at all. The folks at the desk were very welcoming, helpful with suggestions for food and recreation and the bus/train passes were great. The city is lovely, the surrounding area is so beautiful. One of my best pictures came from the room overlooking the river. I wish we had stayed longer than our one night/day as we enjoyed the area a lot. Yes, Switzerland is very expensive but the people were kind and helpful. We were impressed with how clean the area remains.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the river, the best view and very quiet. The river will help you slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night. This is in walking distance to everything. It is also next to the water. Room is very basic, but bathroom is quite large. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Unlike in other hotels in Switzerland, there is water bottle for which I did not have to pay 9 Franks (that was at Inter Continental in Geneva). I did not have any expectations, and this place beat my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the Interlaken West train station (the main station for long trains from out of the area), and I was travelling with a family who does not know how to travel light and uses tons of rolling luggage. The hotel staff is friendly and, like most places in Interlaken, their English is quite good. They have an elevator that helps tremendously with the luggage.
The hotel has a nice location right along the main river running through town, though our room views were obstructed.
By far the greatest aspect of this hotel is their free breakfast: it is quite nice, and, given the very high cost of even mediocre dining in Interlaken, we were quite happy to have it.
Another little perk: they give you a rail card making rail, bus, and boat trips in the immediate area free. This is about a $50 per person value, depending on your length of stay. (Of course, no one every checked for our ticket on the rail between Interlaken West and Interlaken OST (East) anyway, but we were happy to have the passes).
We had a "quad room" (essentially adjoining double rooms sharing a bathroom) and a standard double. The bathroom's were large by European standards. I didn't feel the Quad was a great value, though, given it was just a little less-costly then two double rooms and we all shared the bathroom.
My biggest problem with the hotel is likely not going to be a problem for most. Interlaken had quite a heat wave when we were there and the rooms lack air-conditioning. Sleeping with the deck doors open eventually cooled the room off, but it was hard for us all to fall asleep in the heat. Again, we were in an unexpected heat wave there.
Other problems were minor: our deck was small, and we were intimate with the people of the next room: their decks being less than an arm-reach away at an angle so that they were essentially looking right into our room (couldn't have privacy as we needed to keep the deck door and screens open to cool the room). The beds were quite hard, but we found that with every hotel we stayed at in Europe this go-round.
Overall, the location of this hotel, it's nice staff, and it's free breakfast make it a good value, especially when you consider Interlaken's prices.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a full, unobstructed view of the river: those are the most private and, of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We came to interlaken from Bern and we were very upset with bern hotel but comparing bern hotel and interlaken we were very happy with room , service , cleaniness and location

Happy with hotel

We recommend to go hotel for stay specially with family

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bellevue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ***hotel Bellevue is situated in the heart of Interlaken on a sunny and quiet place directly on the bank of river Aare and is only 5 minutes walking distance away from the train station Interlaken WEST. The hotel is the ideal starting point for business travelers and holiday guests: it is close to the city center yet well situated for excursions around Interlaken and to the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.