We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Marysville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was traveling with my three teen age sons and we decided to move on from Bern sooner than expected. We picked this hotel based on the reviews and agree that they were accurate reviews. This is a very nice hotel with FANTASTIC with great people at the front desk. Every question from laundry to dining was answered happily and with patience. And when my sons wanted to paraglide, they help to arrange the whole thing!!! We stayed in a family suite which was large, comfortable, clean, and had a little balcony right on the river with a spectacular mountain view. LOVED it!!! Great location, cute town, free bikes to borrow. A block from the train station. It was a perfect stay!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    87
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
90
100
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were a family of 4 travelling to Interlaken. I found this hotel online and all I can say is that it was the highlight of our trip. It was a very homely hotel, with comfortable rooms and extremely extremely good staff.
The location is superb. It's about a 4-5 min walk away from the main street (where hotel Victoria is located) but on looks the river and you have an amazing view from your room which very few 4 star hotels have!

We stayed in the family room, not too sure if they gave us the family room though however they gave us rooms 103 and 104 which were adjoining as turned out to be really good for us 4. Quite spacious and comfortable! a note though, there was no air conditioning so we had to sleep with the windows open

The reception Viola was very sweet and even bandaged me up after I fell riding a cycle at interlaken! They help you with every little detail and this really made our stay in Interlaken memorable.

We stayed in many hotels right from Intercontinental in Rome to sorell in Zurich however none felt as nice. They gave free Wifi, breakfast, bikes that you could ride, and even city travel cards for public transport.

In short, unless you're looking at something like Hotel Victoria with the rich snooty crowd, Bellevue would be a fantastic decision!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wow, this was a great place! I understand the frustration of others with the small elevator and the last stairs to the top floor. But once there, we loved the room. Yes, it was very hot while we were there, but opening the windows/door to the balcony, by the time we slept, it was not bad at all. The folks at the desk were very welcoming, helpful with suggestions for food and recreation and the bus/train passes were great. The city is lovely, the surrounding area is so beautiful. One of my best pictures came from the room overlooking the river. I wish we had stayed longer than our one night/day as we enjoyed the area a lot. Yes, Switzerland is very expensive but the people were kind and helpful. We were impressed with how clean the area remains.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the river, the best view and very quiet. The river will help you slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night. This is in walking distance to everything. It is also next to the water. Room is very basic, but bathroom is quite large. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Unlike in other hotels in Switzerland, there is water bottle for which I did not have to pay 9 Franks (that was at Inter Continental in Geneva). I did not have any expectations, and this place beat my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the Interlaken West train station (the main station for long trains from out of the area), and I was travelling with a family who does not know how to travel light and uses tons of rolling luggage. The hotel staff is friendly and, like most places in Interlaken, their English is quite good. They have an elevator that helps tremendously with the luggage.
The hotel has a nice location right along the main river running through town, though our room views were obstructed.
By far the greatest aspect of this hotel is their free breakfast: it is quite nice, and, given the very high cost of even mediocre dining in Interlaken, we were quite happy to have it.
Another little perk: they give you a rail card making rail, bus, and boat trips in the immediate area free. This is about a $50 per person value, depending on your length of stay. (Of course, no one every checked for our ticket on the rail between Interlaken West and Interlaken OST (East) anyway, but we were happy to have the passes).
We had a "quad room" (essentially adjoining double rooms sharing a bathroom) and a standard double. The bathroom's were large by European standards. I didn't feel the Quad was a great value, though, given it was just a little less-costly then two double rooms and we all shared the bathroom.
My biggest problem with the hotel is likely not going to be a problem for most. Interlaken had quite a heat wave when we were there and the rooms lack air-conditioning. Sleeping with the deck doors open eventually cooled the room off, but it was hard for us all to fall asleep in the heat. Again, we were in an unexpected heat wave there.
Other problems were minor: our deck was small, and we were intimate with the people of the next room: their decks being less than an arm-reach away at an angle so that they were essentially looking right into our room (couldn't have privacy as we needed to keep the deck door and screens open to cool the room). The beds were quite hard, but we found that with every hotel we stayed at in Europe this go-round.
Overall, the location of this hotel, it's nice staff, and it's free breakfast make it a good value, especially when you consider Interlaken's prices.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a full, unobstructed view of the river: those are the most private and, of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We came to interlaken from Bern and we were very upset with bern hotel but comparing bern hotel and interlaken we were very happy with room , service , cleaniness and location

Happy with hotel

We recommend to go hotel for stay specially with family

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We made a reservation at this hotel for three nights! We specifically requested a room on the third floor and got a written confirmation from the hotel. 8 hours flight and 2 hour journey later from zurich, we came to a room which didn't seem superior in any way, we were moved to the second floor with a small balcony which can accommodate only one person, as comparepd to our request for a third floor wherein balconies are bigger, as a couple its disappointing for an amount they charge which is not cheap, you are paying for bad customer service because the receptionists don't give a damn. People don't even knock when they enter your room, we got a shock when one lady just opened our room and said she was here for a quality check!!! The lock of the room does not work.- more disappointment. Not worth the money choose another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timo108, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for your review, though it is hard to understand for us that you rate us with 1 point only.
It is true that we promised you a room on the third floor, but as another guest extended his stay we were not able to reserve you the promised room anymore. Our Hotel has only 2 double rooms plus on the third floor and both were occupied on the day you arrived and it was impossible for our staff to change the rooms, this does not mean at all that our staff would not care. Reading other reviews we know that our guests really appreciate our staff members. In the futur we will always do our upmost to fulfill requests of our valuable guests, but we will no longer give promises during peak season as there might always something unforeseen may happen.
That the room maid entered your room was caused by a misunderstanding between receptionist and the maid, we are very sorry for this inconvenience but can assure you that our door locks are safe.


We really regret that you did not like your stay and would much appreciate if you give us a second chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ***hotel Bellevue is situated in the heart of Interlaken on a sunny and quiet place directly on the bank of river Aare and is only 5 minutes walking distance away from the train station Interlaken WEST. The hotel is the ideal starting point for business travelers and holiday guests: it is close to the city center yet well situated for excursions around Interlaken and to the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.