We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the area and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Weisses Kreuz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Weisses Kreuz to your Saves list
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jungfraustrasse 2, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Interlaken
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for the area and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was a centrally located hotel that had friendly and helpful staff. The rooms varied in look and size (we asked to see a couple before making a decision) but ours was really quite nice, with a newly renovated bathroom. A small view of the alps from the room but wireless internet is only available in the shared common area off check in area. Compared to other hotels in the area it was really good value and worth a stay.

Room Tip: You may want to see more than one room before choosing because they did vary in quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    40
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
14
46
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Although I spend an average of 50 nights in a hotel each year, I have never been compelled to write a review ... until Hotel Weisses Kreuz Interlaken. On this trip, I spent 9-days in Switzerland, staying in 3-4 star hotels in Zurich, Zermatt and Geneva, and Hotel Weisses Kreuz at CHF135 is the worst value for money. I can't say much about the breakfast because the buffet spread looked unappetizing and I chose to skip it.

I had Room 341. I can handle the small size, but it was terribly old, with furniture, fixtures and carpeting from the 1960's. I decided the moment I stepped into my room that I had to leave. I asked to check out early but they said it was after their cancellation deadline and I would have to pay for the second night. I understand that I will have to pay for the first night but the room they gave me was not 3-star by any measure and I should not have to pay for a second night under these circumstances. The front desk manager did say that she can give me another room the next day but provided no assurances that it would be a better room so I decided to risk the second night and let Hotels.com and my credit card company deal with them directly. Upon check-out, the hotel manager did waive the second night.

One of the front desk clerk said that they have to go through an annual review to retain their 3-star status and that every room is checked. I let you decide from the pictures.

In case you're curious, I moved to the Best Western across from the train station. The room was small but at least it was well maintained and was renovated in the last decade. I paid CHF140 for each of the 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

A old looking hotel but warm.

The furniture are old but usable and clean. The toilet within the room is strange, it is very modern and nicely furnished besides the rest of the room. Very odd.

You will get a retro TV (think 10inch) but its a satellite TV with many channels.

The room door needs to be key-locked inside which is something interesting too.

We believe that it is run by a family as they all look similar with a middle age gentlemen having the loudest voice when he guided us how to go to JungFrauJoch.

Definitely the place I will go for in Interlaken again. =)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The staff were fine, the welcome efficient and the key system a clever one.

Our room (at the back, on the third floor) was spacious, comfortable, modern, quiet and clean.

The breakfast was OK, but would have been nicer if the hot food was kept hotter.

The shared lounge was a bit depressing, although I'm sure the visitors from the far East appreciated the free kettle and microwave. The computer in the corner was useful (and free). There is a (perfectly good) pizza restaurant on the ground floor, the smells from which pervade the whole building.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is by far one of the most dilapidated hotels that I have stayed in in Europe. It appears that it attracts large tour groups from the sub continent and Asia. Location was convenient.The reception area "no frills"-- very basic. Staff not very helpful or caring. Children allowed to run uncontrollably through the common areas creating untold noise.My single room was a disgrace-- undersized++.bed very small single, furniture very basic.Bathroom left a lot to be desired- old and dirty appearance. Creaking timber floor.Malodorous conditions prevailed through out the establishment. Soiled and stained carpets in common areas. Dining room more like a soulless cafeteria with such high noise levels. Breakfast was poor standard

Room Tip: suggest that choose another hotel unless you are content with backpacker condition at inflated price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

pro :
1. good location
2. spacious room

cons :
1. the room is very old.
2. creepy floor. it's always make some sound.
3. dirty bathroom
4. horrible breakfast
5. smelly. not only in the room but whole hotel.
6. creepy elevator. it seems so old and small.
7. most of all is the rude and unhelpful receptionist. We are asian. and the reception gave us some sarcastic comment about the Asian people. Like they are very dirty, noisy, didn't know how to use shower, etc... we were very offended by her.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Nice Cozy Hotel. Rooms were clean and Average in Size. The Food was good and good spread for breakfast.
Staff were friendly and Nice. Free WiFi in the Lounge, however Lounge closes at 10 pm. (you could still sit at the lobby and browse)
There are many other restaurants close by (swiss, italian, thai, indian, Mcdonalds and 5 mts walk to the train station)
Its Easy to get to Jungfraujoch.
Nice to walk around the park in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Weisses Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisses Kreuz

Address: Jungfraustrasse 2, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weisses Kreuz 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel with modern amenities, restaurant and bar is located near the West Train Station; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Weisses Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weisses Kreuz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Weisses Kreuz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.