We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonne to your Saves list
Hotel Sonne
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 34, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 51 Interlaken B&B and Inns
orefield, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cute Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Good location, decent breakfast, clean, well decorated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    13
    10
    11
See reviews for
11
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
accra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Hotel Sonne was centrally located. We had dinner there and the food was really good. Bus was free coz of the hotel. Main street was a walking distance. Room was alright. Bed were squeeky. Bathroom small but clean. Kids liked the chocolate on their pillow they wished it was there the next night as well. They gave us good advice were to visit and the place was amazing up the mountain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

It is a nice cozy single owner hotel located in a nice scenic neighborhood in Matten, Interlaken. The owner Peter is not the bubbly smiling person you expect, but a typical german-swiss reserved personality who offers tips and information as needed. He was able to provide us a single 4 bed room instead of 2 twin rooms as we were a single family of 2 adults, 2 children. The room has a nice balcony overlooking the mountains and scenic landscape. He allowed cooking / reheating our food, but charged 2cf without telling us before.Breakfast was just bare minimum, no crosaints or salads. Bread, simple cereal and cheese. Dining experience in the restaurant was bad - food was fine, but service was pathetic. Maybe they take hotel guests for granted - did not give any menu card, did not ask for any drinks or desert and brought bread and water only after asking couple of times. Lastly, the shower cubicle is very small (2x2 ft) and has a crappy shower head. I only recommend this place, if you are able to look past the quirks mentioned.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Sonne for 3 nights and found it adequate. It is in walking distance to town. Interlaken is a fantastic town. We found the room to be spacious and basic but it had all we needed. We had a balcony overlooking the mountains which was nice. We were a little suprised that we were only given coffee and tea for the first night as a 'welcome pack' and had to pay .40 cents? per sachet after that. We found Peter welcoming and helpful. For the cost we found the accommodation adequate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We booked this hotel for honeymoon. We stayed there for 2 nights. Hotel is located 3 stops away from the railway station and has a halt for the buses. The room had all the basic amenities. It was simple and comfortable. The scenic view from the hotel corridor was adorable and enticing. Breakfast was good and fresh. The hotel also provides a free bus pass to roam around in Interlaken. The hotel staff was very ameable. I would surely recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

we went their for our honeymoon and and came to know abt this hotel through a reference.
the hotel is centrally located in interlaken and along with the interlaken card, which the hotel provides as complimentary, the whole of interlaken can be enjoyed without any hassles.
the hotel amenties and the services are impressive with good varities in breakfast.
we got what we were promised

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at this Hotel, as part of a two centre holiday provided by Inghams.
The Hotel is on a very busy main road, and the traffic starts at 6.00 a.m.! Ask for a room at the rear, but you have view of the local Ice Rink.
The food was poor. I have eaten better in a transport cafe. Sliced, deep-fried Spam, described as Pork, the same soup offered on 4 nights out of seven, dried potato croquettes straight out of a freezer bag.
Nobody ever on reception to give advice on the locality, and a miserable owner, add up to an unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Hauptstrasse 34, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.