We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service in the land of mountains and lakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rugenpark B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rugenpark B&B to your Saves list
Hotel Rugenpark B&B
Rugenparkstrasse 19, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous service in the land of mountains and lakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I just finished a 3 day stay here with Ursala at Rugenpark. It was my first time in Switzerland and I stayed at 3 different hostels. This one had the most character! There is a small kitchen where you can make dinner, shop at the nearby Migros to save money. I bought ready made meals and heated it up in the microwave oven. I stayed in a twin room with a friend, although the room was small it was cozy, there were lots of windows and a lovely balcony that overlooked the garden and a sink in the room. Ursala greeted us every morning and breakfast with a warm drink and helped us sort our day plans. On what was a dreary overcast day, she recommended us to go see Mt Niederhorn. It was glorious hiking above the fog and clouds along the sunny mountain ridge and certainly a highlight. I'd recommend staying here again for sure. Thanks for a great stay Ursala!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    127
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
125
247
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I arrived at Rugenpark during the summer without a reservation and managed to get a single room with shared bathroom for one night. The room was fine and the shared bathroom while a little dark and small, was spotless. I got great recommendations on hiking and restaurants which made the rest of my stay in Interlaken tremendous. The breakfast was the best spread I saw in my one month traveling in Switzerland. I was able to hang my laundry on the line and Ursula even folded it all up and gave it back to me. Amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my husband Vikash stayed there for 3 nights. Ursula was kind enough to give us all the maps and necessary information for the stay. Our room was with shared bathroom. the room was clean and decent sized. The bath room was ok and even though it was shared we never had any issues with it being occupied when needed or dirty. The breakfast was good and Ursula always serves the drink herself which adds a nice personal touch. We bought our ticket to jungfrau from the hotel itself which was convenient. The kitchen is small and utilitarian with a microwave and all necessary utensils needed. Since eating out in Interlaken is generally expensive there is a mirgos right outside the station on your way to the hotel which is open till 7pm (or 7:30) and a coop on the other side of the station.The days we were there it was raining and they lent us umbrellas. On the day we were supposed to leave it was pouring and Ursula was kind enough to drive us down to the station. This unexpected help from her will always make us remember her and this is what makes a stay at Rugenpark so special. Thank you Ursula!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in 2011 while travelling through Switzerland, it was definitely one of the best B&B we stayed at throughout our trip. The owners are very friendly and excellent guides. They have all the relevant info for tourists, maps, train schedules etc. We took the ensuite room, size of the bedroom and bathroom were alright, but most of people who stay there get the room with a sharing bath, which is a bit cheaper.
The train station and the city centre is 5 mins walk. B&B is on a main road so even if you come late its very safe and the owners give you a spare key if you need it. The breakfast served is very good and fresh, the only thing that I didn't like about the place was the owners dog which a bit too friendly and would walk in the bedroom if the door was left open.
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The staff was amazing, even gave us a ride to the apartment the Hotel rents out. The apartment was great as it allowed us to cook our own meals while there. It had 2 bikes and a kyak which we used while there.

The only thing I would recommend making yourself aware of the 70 franc cleaning fee that comes associated with renting the apartment. The website states this but we weren't expecting such a hefty cleaning fee.

Great overall!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Firstly, we received a nice card & a box of chocolate from Ursula & Chris (owners of Hotel Rugenpark) for our honeymoon stay. Such a sweet & unexpected gesture from them!

Secondly, fantastic location ~ just a couple min walking distance from the station. Room was big & clean with a balcony. The breakfast spread was not plentiful but good enough to start the day. Loved the hot chocolate!

Thirdly, Ursula took such good care of us. She helped us to book the train tickets to the mountains and recommended us places to eat. I also borrowed a winter jacket from her to go up to Jungfra - no additional charges!

View photos of the B&B here
http://fun-hideout.blogspot.sg/2012/09/interlaken-switzerland-accomodation-food.html

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at this place for 4 nights (16-20 Sept 2012) and it was a very comfortable and nice stay with just 5 min walk from Interlaken West (which is well connected to all places in Swiss)...specially with the help of Chris and Ursula things got much easier to move around the place...It has all the basic facilities which a travellor requires, don't expect anything lavish as also mentioned on their website....No complains at all...just a small suggestion for Chris and Ursula (if they read this) though the breakfast was pretty okay but they can give some variety to their breakfast spread on a daily, just by changing or adding one or two things on a daily basis that would be gr8...

Room Tip: there is no lift in this B&B but since it is only a 3 floor place that is ok..so only if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rugenpark B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rugenpark B&B

Address: Rugenparkstrasse 19, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and cozy low budget B&B accommodation in Interlaken. Our clean and comfortable non-smoking rooms have mountain views, cable TV, and come with a hearty Swiss breakfast buffet. Facilities include free internet, free wireless LAN, guest kitchen, guest laundry, booking center for excursions and adventure activities, English book exchange, and free parking. Friendliest service in the Alps! Only 4 minutes walking distance from Interlaken West Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rugenpark B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugenpark Hotel / Bed And Breakfast Interlaken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rugenpark B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.