We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MyHotel Merkur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MyHotel Merkur to your Saves list
MyHotel Merkur
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 35, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland (Formerly Merkur Hotel and Restaurant Interlaken)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 51 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Good things first - The hotel is located right on the main road with great views of the alps. Rooms are clean, decent in size but need a makeover, pretty old hotel. Though they claim to have Wi-Fi on the reception area, it never worked for us during the 3 days stay. Do not miss the views from the huge balcony near the breakfast hall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just opposite the interlaken west station and the bus station overlooking the snow covered mountains. We get a good view of the mountains. Enjoyed the stay there for 2 nights. The rooms are small but neat. The lady at the breakfast Ms. Elizabeth was very kind and helpful. Any info reg interlaken like places nearby or train and bus timings can be got from the reception. Only problem is the reception closes at 11pm and in any case u arrive late for check in , then you have to make a call and wait outside till someones comes to open the door for you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Merkur Hotel was one of the best hotels which we stayed for 2 days, the staff at the receptio Madam MARY and at the breakfast MADAM ELIZABETH were so kind, cooperative and helpful and their way of guest recieving and treat was excellent. The location is again excellent hardly 10 meters from the INTERLAKEN (WEST) stn

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Was expected to be very disappointed on this particular hotel before my trip to Switzerland as there was so many bad reviews on this hotel.

The hotel location is just across Interlaken West Station. A short walk away, you can get to coop supermarket to get cheaper stuffs as food in Switzerland are expensive. Beside the hotel, there are quite a number of shops for you to shop.

Bus station is just infront of the Train station and you could board the bus for free and travel to other places in Interlaken using a card issued to you upon check in. The pass entitle you free travel throughout Interlaken.

Overall, the hotel isn't that bad. The beds are okay, the rooms are not that small. However the pillows are too soft for soft for comfort, but we are too tired and still slept on. The bathroom are quite small. The hotel does not comes with soap/shampoo/ kettle.

As for WIFI, there is connection throughout the whole hotel but connection are quite weak and always get disconnected easily. But it is okay for me as we are not here for the WIFI. The WIFI password is at the reception. For general usage, the wifi would be usable.

The views of the alps says it all, throughout my stay in Switzerland, this is probably the best hotel with best view, best connections, and near to everything. Saw snow on the second day morning during our breakfast on the hotel 5th floor. After breakfast, you can go to their balcony to enjoy the views of the alps. It's really stunning. The views from the hotel says it all

Room Tip: Get WIFI password from the reception if you want WIFI. Bring your own soap/shampoo for bathing for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed from 27.12.13 to 30.12.13 taking two triple bed rooms in Merkur which has a brilliant location just opposite the rail station and bus station.I am very sorry to say it odes not provide wifi in rooms which is so common in swiss hotels free.Infact wifi was not available in the lobby also.I wish they could improve their breakfast as well.
Also they are advised to change bed sheets on alternate days if not on daily basis.
The bathroom is ver small and the shower area too small for comfort.
water bottles free should be provided everyday.
I hope the management of Merkur takes genuine interest in improving customer satisfaction.
Dr Ashir Husain,India

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stay at this hotel was very bad experience in our trip to Switzerland. I would mention few positive points first - Very good location... situated right near Interlaken West railway and bus station, has Indian restaurants near by, room services are good except they don't change bedsheets (we stayed for 3 nights - today is our last) and breakfast is very good (u can have vegetarian food as well and its included in the cost of room!)

Negative points - They treat customers very lightly, only one container of soap in washroom that has to be used for taking bath or washing hands and shampooing, Internet can be accessed ONLY in the lobby, receptionists do not sit round the clock, if one wishes to pay in Euros, they would charge at the rate of €1 = CHF 1...!!


When questioned about the services, receptionist is very blunt. Could not have ever imagined that I would ever pay so much to stay in such a third grade hotel ending up hearing that I should have gone for 4 or 5 star hotels for better services. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless one has no choice. There are manu hotels in the vicinity, better look for their reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was the biggest disappointment of our trip to Switzerland. How did it ever get a 3 star rating? The sheets were stained upon arrival and we asked that they change them the next day and they were never changed. The hotel was prepaid so we couldn't move. The beds are low (hard for older people), the bathroom very small, there was no furniture only a wood shelf to put articles on, and the curtains were dirty and torn. Had to sleep with the windows open which made the noise from the street and station difficult. The evening clerk tried to be helpful, but in the morning no one was at the desk. They advertise wifi, but you have to be in the lobby to use it. Can't recommend this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and be comfortable and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MyHotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyHotel Merkur

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 35, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland (Formerly Merkur Hotel and Restaurant Interlaken)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — MyHotel Merkur 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MyHotel Merkur is situated directly opposite Interlaken-West railway station and ship terminus. We welcome you to our friendly atmosphere. As a 3 star hotel we can offer you every comfort. All rooms have bath or shower, toilet, radio, telephone and color, cable TV. Additional information: Children under the age of 2 stay free in the room with parents and in existing bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your MyHotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MyHotel Merkur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.