We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel for a quieter stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof to your Saves list
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great hostel for a quieter stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was the only place we stayed in Interlaken (we came back 3 times). It is a great hostel, modern with clean rooms (we stayed in a private shared-bathroom room), good facilities, friendly staff and free wifi. Free/included breakfast (cereals/yoghurt/toast) was really good. It is a short (10min) walk into town (or either train station). We choose this hostel as it was a bit quieter than other hostels - other hostels might be better if you are looking for a party atmosphere, but we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    120
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
117
107
85
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

feel like being home. big kitchen for cooking. cozy and relaxing: can wear pajama come down to eat breakfast. staff is very helpful. beautiful view of jungfrau from bedroom.
only one drawback is though bus stop is right in front of villa, but bus comes every hour.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Eventhough I just stayed in hostel for one day, I found the staff is very helpful and the place is very comfortable. They provide good breadfast and free internet. When I arrived, they gave me two token in free of charge. We can use the token to buy hot drink and for washing our clothes. Their chocolate milk is so tasty that made me unforgettable. If I will visit Interlaken again, definitely I will go to Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

If you are planning to go to Interlaken and planning to stay in a hostel, then simply book this hostel. If you dont like this hostel, then I am not sure what else you are going to like. This is simply the best as far as my opinion goes.
1. Location: Interlaken is a pretty small town and everything in it is walkable :) (especially for guys like me who dont like buses and just like to walk). Nevertheless, this hostel is right in the middle of the town equal distance from both west and east stations at interlaken (both 15 mins by walk) and is very close to the hub of the town (the shopping and restaurants).
2. Staff: staff here is amazing; they are eager to help you have a very good trip and an even more wonderful stay at the hostel. First thing they tell you everything about the free facilities at the hostel. You get free internet (there is an internet parlour/cafe), two free hot drinks which you can have at anytime (they give two tokens as soon as u checkin - just use the token in the machine), very clean linen and rooms, clean beds, free locker (they give u the key on checkin), you can actually select your bed and reserve it :) (on your key and locker you will have a letter - and on the locker you get a letter which you can hang on the bed you select. So anyone coming to ur room next knows that that bed is taken. Awesome. Public phone on each floor (not free :) ). The key you get works for your room as well as to enter the hostel itself late at night :) and I could not use any of the other facilities (i have mentioned only a few) since i stayed only for the one night. Free bus pass for all buses in Interlaken, special offer for trip to Harderkulm (only 5 francs), and there some other things also like free gift in a shop in town, etc.
3. For tourist information you only need to ASK.
4. After thinking a lot, I could think of a couple of things which i didnt like (just a little) like a small pinch - 1. they take one of your ID cards on checkin (return on checkout) 2. variety in breakfast was a little less and thats it.

So as I said just book this one. And by the way this is one of the cheapest hostels I found in Interlaken. This is good for couples also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hostel has a beautiful location in the middle of the alps; one can have breakfast looking at the Jungfrau. The staff were courteous and helpful. The unlimited free internet was very useful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed in this hotel only one night....but after i discovered, i should have much more time in Interlaken at least 2 nights. The hotel location is fine, from Interlaken-west , you have to take bus No. 102 which departed at beginning of every hour only ! Mean if you miss 8.10 am, you have to wait for next round, 9.10 am. (There are bus from both Interlaken Ost / west).

Staff are nice, friendly and seems to take care of guest better than other hotel i stayed in Switzerland (i stayed in 4 hotels from different city). Room & accessories are clean, Wi-Fi is free and you can use from your room. There are kitchen sections and dining area, you can prepare food by yourself. But i suggest that you can bring "ready made food" and just microwave it, it's easier and will not take long time.

I got bed sheet and blanket sheet (you have to prepare bed / pillow / blanket in your room by yourself), but since everything is clean, so i use only 1 pc of bed sheet, which i have to return all when i check out. I return the "clean" Pcs to staff and i said "i don't use this", but she said "No problem , just throw it here." In my mind i totally disagree with this attitude of thinking. Why we don't try to save energy , power, everything !!!

One more thing, there is no bath foam, shampoo, soap in bath room, you should bring with you (but this is budget hotel style anyway).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This might be the best hostel that I stayed in so far. From the first moment, I was very impressed by the quality of the staff, the receptionist was very agreeable and well informed and helped me a lot with the booking of activities. The comfort room was nice, I appreciated the private lockers, the plenty of power sockets, the partitioned ensuite bathroom and the flawless cleanliness. The arrangement of the furniture in the room could be optimized though, to increase the comfort. There was free wi-fi available at decent speed in the entire hostel. The location of the hostel is excellent, at equal distance between the 2 train stations, near the green central area, very close to the city center, but not too close. I will come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Address: Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hostel in a villa with park. Our prices include: breakfast, lockers, self-catering kitchen, free w-lan, free use of public swimming pools, free use of local busses, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof Hotel Interlaken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.