We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Save Saved
You added Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here only 1 of 3 nights that I was in Interlaken but was tempted to extend the trip another night. From the reception to breakfast, laundry and atmosphere the Backpacker's Villa had it together. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the front lobby was constantly teeming with friendly travelers of all ages. We stayed in one of the Eco-Rooms and it was very comfortable with a great balcony and view. The location was excellent walking distance to town. Highly suggested!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    110
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
107
101
77
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a female only 6-bed dorm with ensuite for four nights at the end of May. Having stayed in many, many hostels in my time, I particularly liked the additional touches at this hostel. The shower, toilet and hand basin were all separate, which meant you could still get ready in the morning if one or the other were occupied. A towel was included with the bed. Each bed had a good reading light, and the bunk beds are wooden and very solidly made so you aren't disturbed by every move of the person in the other bunk. There were also lots of power sockets in the room, and the hostel offered use of things such as chargers and hair dryers. Staff were very helpful in giving advice on walks and also booked adventure activities if you were that way inclined. Interlaken is super pretty, and a great place to finally try out something you've been too chicken to do in your regular existence (in my case paragliding, which I highly recommend!). On top of all this, the hostel gives two tokens per night to all guests, which you can use for hot drinks and also to do your laundry! Sure it was nearly the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed in, but you have to expect that for Switzerland. I'd also recommend doing the free walking tour advertised and run by Victor (it's tip-based), as it was fun and a great way of meeting people. I wish I'd done it on my first night of stay. Would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

first of all, everything was really clean and quiet. and the staffs were very kind. so I think this hostel would be nice for those who are traveling with family. and I was satisfied with that free coffee! However the price was bit expensive than I thought. but the rest of them I really loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Having stayed in hotels all our life, we were extremely apprehensive of the quality that we would get at Backpackers Villa. However, all our doubts were blown away the moment we reached the hostel. Ms. J (cannot recollect the full name) was most helpful apart from being cheerful and lively. Mr. Rafael was great too. Amenities and facilities at the hostel are superb.

We would definitely recommend this hostel to all our friend intending to visit Interlaken.

Keep it up......and hope to be visiting again in future.

Room Tip: Choose the lawn facing rooms - lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived late in the evening, near the closing time for the reception, but the staff at the reception explained everything we need to know about the place clearly nonetheless. There's a small elevator for transporting of luggage (which is a good thing for lazy people like us!)

We stayed in a 4-bed room with Jungfrau view & toilet in the room for 4 nights. On the 4th night, you get a 50% discount which was a big plus for us. View from the room was fantastic, we had no regrets paying some premium for the view. Only bad point about the rooms is that they're not really sound proof. There were 1 particular night where we couldn't really enjoy our beauty sleep because the people next door were getting rowdy, and the room above us had very heavy footsteps for some reasons.

Beds are comfortable, with 2 sockets and a bed-lamp per bed, the only bad point was that we had to put on the linens ourselves and take them out and leave them at the recept when we leave. There are lockers for each person in the room, clearly labelled with respect to each of our keys. There is also a heater in the room.

Each person gets a free Interlaken transport pass (which also allows you to visit the public swimming pool and mini golf!), and also 2 tokens/day. You can use these tokens for hot drinks in the canteen/cafe (1 hot drink/token), internet kiosk or laundry (2 tokens/wash). If you run out of tokens, you can use coins instead (1 token has a value of CHF3).

There's a laundry in the basement of the building (although I classify it as "laundrette" because there're only 4 washing machines and dryers, and most of the time, at least 1 is not working), washing powder will be automatically dispensed into the washing machine. Dryers are free to use.

Breakfast was normal - 2 kinds of cereals, yoghurt, bread, jams (orange & strawberry), nutella, cream cheese, butter and margarine. The sad thing was there was no toaster at all. Not sure if Sunday was special or not, but there was another kind of bread and honey during our Sunday breakfast.

There's wifi throughout in the building, but it's a bit unstable. We had to try to connect many times on busier days. On days with lesser people in the building, wifi was alright.

Staffs are very friendly when you ask them questions about Interlaken and Jungfrau area. During 1 of the days of our stay, there were very heavy fog in the mountains (which you can see very clearly from the hostel). The staffs are very knowledgeable and gave us a few suggestions, and remained very friendly even though we were choosy and had to spend time contemplating.

On the day of departure, we could deposit our luggages in their lockers in the basement for a refundable CHF2. If you have your own lock, there's no need for the CHF2.

It was definitely a pleasant stay in the hostel. Will recommend it to my friends and also go back to this place again if I'm visiting Interlaken again.

Room Tip: Go for rooms with view, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here twice in last 6 months, once travelling solo during peak winter and then with my wife in warm summer. Switzerland offered 2 different beautiful sights to watch in the respective season but this place offered me the same high quality spot on service each time. Quite sceptical about staying in a hostel/dorm first time when i travelled but the ratings and feedback made it easy and the experience made it cherishing.
The hostel is 10 mins walk from Interlaken ost and West station with beautiful mountain views all across, it is even closer from the Hader Bahn. Check-in process is fast and smooth and the staff is polite and helpful with your umpteen queries, free travel card in Interlaken is a boon and saved quite a few bucks. Bathrooms are cleaned often and are spotless, kitchen gets a bit messier when people cook food but is cleaned nicely once a day. Breakfast is decent, hot chocolate is a must try.
One thing which we disliked was shampoo/soap pouches stacked in reception and never mentioned about during check-in. It would be good if the staff provides soap pouches along with linen and towels during check-in

Room Tip: Take the room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hostel is great - I travelled with another lady and we booked 2 seperate rooms so we could have a bit of space. The rooms were basic but really good - clean and fesh and we each had our own bathroom. Its within walking distance of Interlaken and both train stations.
Would thoroughly recommend this backpackers (although we are not usually backpackers!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Address: Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hostel in a villa with park. Our prices include: breakfast, lockers, self-catering kitchen, free w-lan, free use of public swimming pools, free use of local busses, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof Hotel Interlaken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.