We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof to your Saves list
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We traveled Europe staying in hostels for 3 weeks and Backpackers was the best hostel. The staff is friendly and informative, the location great, and breakfast convenient. It has numerous "little things" that make the hostel great. For example, a pool table and ping pong table outside, clean laundry room, and each day you get 2 cups of free coffee.

My only complaint was the computers which you pay for by the minute have a slow internet connection.

While in Interlaken go canyoning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    120
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
117
107
85
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in July. Booked room for 4 with private bathroom. Spartan but very roomy and clean. Good basic breakfast. Great staff. Excellent location. Easy walk to train station and easy walk to business district with shops and eateries. Saved over $250 a night by staying here compared to staying in a mid-range hotel. Will gladly go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Trust me! This is the best hostel I've ever ever stayed during my travelling around the world! I really want to stay there for longer only because of the hostel but I had no time. You will definitely have a wonderful stay there! Cheers! ( :

Room Tip: I think from all the rooms there you could have a perfect view of the peak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very clean and up-market. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Unfortunately some tourists didn't clean up after using the kitchen. The rooms are roomy and the mattresses are of a high quality.
Breakfast is simple but of high standard

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent Facilities, friendly and helpful Staff and awesome Breakfast. Best Hostel we found in Switzerland. Rooms, Showers and Kitchen very clean. Loved the Location with a beautiful View.
We would like to stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the shower are noisy, top Floor have stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Friendly staff makes one feel at home. Being a backpacker hostel, it has all the facilities like a kitchen, dinning area, games area, computers etc.. The room is spacious and clean. Nice breakfast and drink-making machine.. Family-friendly facilities as well, playroom for kids.. good area and nice scenery, free use of swimming pools, tennis courts and bus services.. highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just like the title says! I just finished my 3 week tour of Europe, and Backpackers Villa was by far the best hostel I stayed at during my trip. Easy to get to. Within walking distance to everything. Clean, quiet. Easy to meet people. I would recommend this hostel and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Address: Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hostel in a villa with park. Our prices include: breakfast, lockers, self-catering kitchen, free w-lan, free use of public swimming pools, free use of local busses, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof Hotel Interlaken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.