We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Interlaken to your Saves list
Hotel Interlaken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Situated near Interlaken OST (abt ten mins away, if you're dragging along your luggage), it's at a pretty central location. Walk out of the hotel, turn left and you're on your way to the central part of the town and Interlaken West. My husband and I arrived from Zurich after a long flight and a train ride and the hotel was a much-needed refresher. We took a mountain view business room (the views of the snow-capped mountains are great, and the extra space in the room was much welcomed). We had a little balcony in the room, but it was too cold to go out and sit. The room was adequately furnished - enough heating which could be turned up if you're chilly. They included a stand fan as well. Basic necessities such as electric kettle, tea/coffee making facilities, mini-bar/fridge were included in the price. The bathroom amenities were pretty good - not one of those squeezy showers and cramped spaces but a large en-suite. The staff were accommodating and entertained our requests such as that of extra pillows. The buffet breakfast provided was generous, with a wide variety, allowing us to have a good filling meal and skipping lunch. The hotel is quaint in an old-school way and is very homely. We felt it was worth the price we paid. Even if we do not go back to Interlaken, we would recommend the hotel for its service, location and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Choose the mountain facing ones, but be aware that the rooms face the churches and the pealing of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    135
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
81
158
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in May 2013. The hotel is located within walking distance from Interlaken Ost Railway Station. The staff was very polite and friendly. The traditional decor is quite pleasant and adds to the aura.

The hotel upgraded us to the corner room at no extra cost. The room were decent in size but the balcony view from the balcony/window was amazing. All in all staying at the hotel was a good decision.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the left backside gives you a view of the mountains from one window and a cute water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Have always relied on trip advisor reviews but never written one. Signed up to leave my first about this hotel.

Nice looking hotel in decent area, parking easy and checkin efficient. Nice room.
From here a potential good review turns south.

I generally choose a hotel based on its website pictures of room bar and restaurant then read some reviews.
I like to have a drink in the bar then either eat in their restaurant or take a walk and find somewhere nearby, always followed by a return to the bar for a few drinks before bed.

This hotels bar and restaurant are currently closed for refurb until March.

I booked a month ago and was not informed of this.
I emailed them a week ago to confirm my booking.
On neither occasion was i informed of this obviously planned work.
Had I known about this I would definitely not booked here or would have cancelled my booking.

An expensive stay in a hotel with limited facilities who in my opinion should have been honest and were not.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Simon C
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that, on the whole, you liked our hotel.
The refurbishment of our kitchen has been planned since end October 2013 and has therefore also been published on our website as well as on internet booking platforms since the beginning of November 2013. I am really sorry if this information has not been clear enough and you therefore ended up staying at a hotel which did not at all meet you expectations.
I do hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion.
The Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar are still expected to be re-opening by the end of February/beginning of March 2014.
Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. I was so relieved that a misalignment of the tiles in our bathroom meant that ir was not excessively perfect, as is most of Switzerrland.
Excellent restaurant, but best to book.

Room Tip: They all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is well located between the Ost railway station and town. Hence, it is a short pleasant walk either way. The hotel is well organised as the check in/check out were hassle free. The hotel has an old charm, with a balanced decoration. The room was very clean and modern furnished. The bed was comfortable and we slept really well. The breakfast was good and great job by the staff in replenishing the food promptly. Overall, this is a great hotel and definitely worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Location just 10 minute walk from Interlaken Ost Station. Beside the hotel is Japanese Garden. Nice view when you had great breakfast. The hotel staff is very helpfull. Reasonable price for Good service, room and delicious breakfast. Just take free bus to Interlaken west or you could walk for about 20 minute.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.

The hotel is located about 5-10 mins walk from the main train station. And there were many brochures available at the hotel's reception that could help you to plan your stay at Interlaken.

The rooms were very clean, and of a decent size. There's no air-conditioning or thermostat, but there was a fan in the room. That's not a problem for us as it was winter. We had to switch on the fan so that the silence in the room wouldn't be too deafening (we are too used to noises in the city). Hence at some point in time, it could turn too hot or too cold in the room. But still, there's no complain on the sleep.

Breakfast was very sumptuous. They had a good variety of hot food such as scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, hash brown etc. And not to mention, the coffee from the hotel is very satisfying too. We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Interlaken.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar will be closed from January 19th until Feruar 27th 2014.Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel to a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interlaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.