We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Save Saved
You added Hotel Interlaken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Daily Rates
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Canberra
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is just what you would expect in stylish and picturesque Interlaken; great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. It is in an ideal location not far from anywhere including the town centre and railway station; all in walking distance (and what scenic walks they are…).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    112
    35
    8
    8
See reviews for
66
130
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed for two nights in a single room in this hotel, accompanied by my dog for a meeting. The room was nice, very clean, free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities (electric kettle, cups etc.). The double bed was very comfy, big, simply great, I slept very well. Bathroom is basic but sufficiently stacked and the shower did work - so, no complaints. Parking is easy, free parking is available.
The breakfast and the evening meals were taken in the Rokoko-Saal, a very beautiful room, high ceiling - great atmosphere. In the evening we had a gala there with dance, the dancefloor being installed on the carpet (and maintained, when it started to slip, -very well, we danced a LOT).
The food was so-and-so. First evening a catastrophe, nearly non-edible an somehow without any ambition. Breakfast however was very good with everything you could ask for.
Second evening meal and a lunch with the ambassador was ok, not very good, but over all no disappointment.
Staff was very nice throughout. Everybody and all the time. Helpful, personal, engaged, - really just as you would want it.
So: It's a nice hotel, situated very very well. Breakfast is very good, other - perhaps opt for a restaurant in town. I'd recommend it, because staff was so nice and obliging.

Room Tip: I'm not sensitive to church bells, as I'm used to that... so I think all rooms are situated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is an old building but is nicely decorated and maintained. The staff, all of them, were wonderful. They were courteous, professional and extended themselves to help me through a non-hotel related problem. I would definitely go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagpur
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

In this picturesque town where you stroll around in horse carriages and eat chocolate fondues, this hotel is a legend on its own. Perhaps # 2 by standards but worth your money. A stroll away from the OST train station, staffed by friendly people, the rooms are spacious, clean and sleep worthy. Ours had a bunk bed made out of pine which my kids thoroughly enjoyed. Next door is the sleepy town hall where the bell chimes every hour. We only tasted the morning breakfast which was wanting for lack of more options and variety. The place is value for money and worth a second stint. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and of a good size. The food was first class we take our hats of to the chef here, really good. Lots of history.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

An excellent choice of hotel for our first visit to Switzerland. Dinner exceeded our expectations on every level. Quite simply, it was superb and a credit to the hotel chef. (Although we could perhaps have done without being asked "was that good?" after every course at every sitting.) The buffet breakfast, was both plentiful and appetising and the breakfast room never felt crowded. Although there were a couple of minor housekeeping issues, these would not affect how we felt about the hotel generally. All levels of staff from laundry room to hotel owner would willingly engage in conversation and exchange pleasantries, always with a smile. We had upgraded to a Premium room and it was well worth the additional expense. Just couldn't take our eyes away from the panoramic view and spent a lot of time on the balcony!

Location of the hotel is perfect for those wishing to explore the area from Interlaken Ost station being 5-10 minutes walk away. The large Coop supermarket is also in the vicinity of the station and this is a bonus.

All in all an excellent experience and one which we would have absolutely no hesitation in repeating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel with a balcony. You will not be disappointed with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a great hotel: the exterior may not be lavish, but the interior is lovely. It was a joy to wake up in our large corner room to the glorious views from the windows. The service was always given with a smile: the dining room staff were particularly delightful. The food was wonderful and always presented with style. Do look at the back room connected to the main dining room which is particularly beautifully decorated and is, obviously, part of the original old hotel. (My only criticism is that the wifi did not seem to stretch to our corner room. I could only get it on the ground floor). Thank you to all the staff for making our stay such a great one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar will be closed from January 19th until Feruar 27th 2014.Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel to a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interlaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.