We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Interlaken to your Saves list
Hotel Interlaken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
nagpur
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

In this picturesque town where you stroll around in horse carriages and eat chocolate fondues, this hotel is a legend on its own. Perhaps # 2 by standards but worth your money. A stroll away from the OST train station, staffed by friendly people, the rooms are spacious, clean and sleep worthy. Ours had a bunk bed made out of pine which my kids thoroughly enjoyed. Next door is the sleepy town hall where the bell chimes every hour. We only tasted the morning breakfast which was wanting for lack of more options and variety. The place is value for money and worth a second stint. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    151
    48
    10
    10
See reviews for
92
179
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and of a good size. The food was first class we take our hats of to the chef here, really good. Lots of history.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

An excellent choice of hotel for our first visit to Switzerland. Dinner exceeded our expectations on every level. Quite simply, it was superb and a credit to the hotel chef. (Although we could perhaps have done without being asked "was that good?" after every course at every sitting.) The buffet breakfast, was both plentiful and appetising and the breakfast room never felt crowded. Although there were a couple of minor housekeeping issues, these would not affect how we felt about the hotel generally. All levels of staff from laundry room to hotel owner would willingly engage in conversation and exchange pleasantries, always with a smile. We had upgraded to a Premium room and it was well worth the additional expense. Just couldn't take our eyes away from the panoramic view and spent a lot of time on the balcony!

Location of the hotel is perfect for those wishing to explore the area from Interlaken Ost station being 5-10 minutes walk away. The large Coop supermarket is also in the vicinity of the station and this is a bonus.

All in all an excellent experience and one which we would have absolutely no hesitation in repeating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel with a balcony. You will not be disappointed with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a great hotel: the exterior may not be lavish, but the interior is lovely. It was a joy to wake up in our large corner room to the glorious views from the windows. The service was always given with a smile: the dining room staff were particularly delightful. The food was wonderful and always presented with style. Do look at the back room connected to the main dining room which is particularly beautifully decorated and is, obviously, part of the original old hotel. (My only criticism is that the wifi did not seem to stretch to our corner room. I could only get it on the ground floor). Thank you to all the staff for making our stay such a great one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Excellent location. Elegant design with very beautiful view of a church. But if wifi is a must for you, I am afraid it is not your choice. I was not able to us any wifi during my whole 4-night stay. Although I had roaming, the data connectivity was very bad too. I could only receive my smartphone once I have left the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel is nicely built with view of Eiger mountain range can be seen from all rooms with Balconies.
I was told this hotel is century old but when we stepped in to the hotel, one can see it is with all the amenities that modern five star hotel equipped with. Children love the cave type sleeping arrangement and the breakfast is great too. Good selection of Swiss and French wines available to recharge batteries after trip to jungfraou or ski resorts.

Room Tip: Always request a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The walk from Interlaken East train stationto Hotel Interlaken is an easy walk, even with small luggage. The desk staff, particularly Ronny, were fantastic. Ronny, thank you for making our stay at your hotel very special. While many people may believe that kindness, charm and courtesy are out-dated values, I can assure you that the time you took to explain the sights/excursions and train scheduling was so, so much appreciated by us. Your professionalism combined with your sense of humour added greatly to our hotel experience.

Our hotel room was a corner room over-looking mountains and the Japanese garden- lovely! Our room was smallish but modern and cosy. Breakfast was a well-organized buffet with a good selection of food. Excellent chef and great dinner menu, which we enjoyed one night.

We would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Interlaken in the future!

Maguscanook-a Canadian abroad

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,064 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#9 of 31 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#13 of 31 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 31 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar will be closed from January 19th until Feruar 27th 2014.Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel to a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interlaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.