We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the small print” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Save Saved
You added Hotel Interlaken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Interlaken
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Check the small print”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked a Junior Suite on the basis of the picture on the website; small print apparently says rooms can vary from those shown in pictures which is why it's apparently ok that our Junior Suite bears zero resemblance to that on the website but a striking resemblance to the picture they show of a Triple Room. There is nothing remotely similar about them; hotel staff told me I should have specified in my booking that I wanted the room pictured.

The room we had was large and ok - very clean and great bathroom. Downsides: TV wall bracket on show despite TV standing on a cupboard, temperature way to high with no way to reduce other than cheap looking fan standing in corner of room or opening windows. Opening windows is not recommended as there are two churches right outside, both with bad bell-ringing habits which make sleep impossible - every 15 minutes!!!

Parking isn't great either - far fewer spaces than rooms so hope that all the other guests came by train.

Overall, decent hotel in a good location but far overpriced considering I was given a modern mass-produced feeling, ski-lodge type room rather than the beautiful antique, boutique room that is advertised.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate all the feed-back we are given.

First let me say that I can understand your disappointment with your junior suite. You expected to stay in one of our two antique junior suites but you were accommodated in a more modern one. Unfortunately it was not possible to change the junior suite as we were fully booked.
We have three different designs in our five junior suites and they can all be seen with a picture on our booking engine. As all our rooms have been renovated over the past few years and there are different designs and fittings it is impossible to have pictures of every room published.
As to the TV we are aware of the problem. Our technical department will have it solved as soon as possible.
All our rooms have individually adjustable heating and it should therefore be possible to turn it off if the room is too warm. We will have the heating checked and fixed if necessary. The ringing of the church bells is unfortunately out of our hands.
The Hotel Interlaken offers 23 parking spaces – all free of charge which is quite unique for the area. We have a total of 61 rooms and there is no way that we could possibly also provide 61 parking spaces. There is simply not enough space.

We hope that you despite the above mentioned issues enjoyed your stay in Interlaken and that the New Year got off to a good start.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    109
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
65
124
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is beautiful from the outside as well as from the inside. Room not so big but OK. Breakfast was OK too, no more than that Good location in Interlaken, The town itself is small and dull but the scenery around is like a painting, amazingly beautiful. Comparing to the outrages prices in Switzerland, you get a good value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed across the road the "Royal Hotel" however due to our jet lag we decided to just go across the road for dinner. The service was slow however they were all very courteous and helpful and we found it funny that a waiter apologised for not knowing "cucumber" in English yet we couldn't speak a word of Swiss/German. The meals were excellent, not traditional Swiss but good nonetheless. Meals ranged from 15-45 CHF. Overall, a good restaurant choice if you're close and not feeling adventurous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Restaurant Taverne. We are always very pleased also to serve guests who are not staying in our hotel.

I do apologise that you found the service to be slow. We try our best to serve our guests as fast as possible, however, we also aim to make the experience tranquil and easy.
We are very content with our staff and we know that they always do their very best to make our guests happy. Most of them speak English on quite a high level but of course sometimes there are words which are unknown. As of now “cucumber” will no longer be one of them.
Our Restaurant Taverne serve both traditional Swiss cuisine (different kinds of roesti, fondues and more) but also a large variety of international dishes. We hope to be able to please as well our international guests as also locals with our selection.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

the old age of the hotel kind of put us off, but when we arrived there, we were amazed. the room was very modern and looked better than in the pictures on their website.we stayed in the family room which fit 5 of us comfortably. service was superb, and so was breakfast. it was the best breakfast buffet throughtout our 15 day switzerland trip. the hotel was slightly far off from the main train station, but the scenery made the walk to the train station a very pleasant one. we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay in Interlaken. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the services of both hotel and restaurant. Our family rooms (four-bed rooms with bunk beds) are most appreciated as they really do offer enough space and comfort for families.

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back and next time you travel to Interlaken by train and stay over at the Hotel Interlaken you should get off at the Interlaken Ost station (not West) which is merely a five minute walk from the hotel.

We wish you a fantastic 2013 with a lot of pleasant travel experiences.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, close to train station, incredibly comfortable beds and great balconies for enjoying the views and cool mountain air. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Perfect for couples or solo tourists. Postcard perfect in the winter.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our facilities. We always aim to satisfy all our guests and having positive acknowledgement is the best motivation we can get and highly appreciated.

We wish you many nice travel experiences in the future and hope to welcome you back in Interlaken soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a pretty wet drive to Interlaken from Geneva though roads very good. Unfortunately a lot of Interlaken is dug up putting in new pipes. Easy to park right outside hotel and given comfortable room overlooking Japanese garden with pond containing huge carp-it must look spectacular in good weather. We arrived in rain and mist. Had good meal in restaurant that night and buffet breakfast in morning. Reception staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

10 mins walking from Interlaken Ost station. The hotel appearance bit old but interior still okay and quite comfortable. Room is small but most facilities available. Reception staff is helpful and nice.

Disappointed about restaurant service. We would like to try Swiss cheese fondue and thus made reservation in their Taverne Restaurant. They showed us only a fondue buffet menu when we arriving. We saw its a fondue and take this buffet set. However when the food arrived, we realized that's a meat fondue instead of cheese one, so we asked to staff and would like to change. Disappointingly, the waiter replied that we have to pay anyway since we ordered even we ate nothing!!

Finally, we just ate a few pieces and left.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Hotel Interlaken. We are glad that you liked our hotel.
I have spoken with our restaurant manager concerning your evening meal and your very unfortunate experience mainly adds up to some misunderstandings. As you made the reservation with the reception they only reserved a table for you and not the specific dish that you wanted. As you then ordered the Fondue Chinoise in the restaurant, the staff could not know that what you actually wanted was a Cheese Fondue. Furthermore, there might also have been some misunderstandings caused by language problems from the side of our staff. Please do accept our apologies for the mistake and any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will do our utmost to avoid any similar episodes in the future.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar will be closed from January 19th until Feruar 27th 2014.Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel to a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interlaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.