We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded our expectations greatly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Save Saved
You added Hotel Interlaken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Interlaken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Interlaken
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“exceeded our expectations greatly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

the old age of the hotel kind of put us off, but when we arrived there, we were amazed. the room was very modern and looked better than in the pictures on their website.we stayed in the family room which fit 5 of us comfortably. service was superb, and so was breakfast. it was the best breakfast buffet throughtout our 15 day switzerland trip. the hotel was slightly far off from the main train station, but the scenery made the walk to the train station a very pleasant one. we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay in Interlaken. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the services of both hotel and restaurant. Our family rooms (four-bed rooms with bunk beds) are most appreciated as they really do offer enough space and comfort for families.

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back and next time you travel to Interlaken by train and stay over at the Hotel Interlaken you should get off at the Interlaken Ost station (not West) which is merely a five minute walk from the hotel.

We wish you a fantastic 2013 with a lot of pleasant travel experiences.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    90
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
51
104
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, close to train station, incredibly comfortable beds and great balconies for enjoying the views and cool mountain air. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Perfect for couples or solo tourists. Postcard perfect in the winter.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our facilities. We always aim to satisfy all our guests and having positive acknowledgement is the best motivation we can get and highly appreciated.

We wish you many nice travel experiences in the future and hope to welcome you back in Interlaken soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a pretty wet drive to Interlaken from Geneva though roads very good. Unfortunately a lot of Interlaken is dug up putting in new pipes. Easy to park right outside hotel and given comfortable room overlooking Japanese garden with pond containing huge carp-it must look spectacular in good weather. We arrived in rain and mist. Had good meal in restaurant that night and buffet breakfast in morning. Reception staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

10 mins walking from Interlaken Ost station. The hotel appearance bit old but interior still okay and quite comfortable. Room is small but most facilities available. Reception staff is helpful and nice.

Disappointed about restaurant service. We would like to try Swiss cheese fondue and thus made reservation in their Taverne Restaurant. They showed us only a fondue buffet menu when we arriving. We saw its a fondue and take this buffet set. However when the food arrived, we realized that's a meat fondue instead of cheese one, so we asked to staff and would like to change. Disappointingly, the waiter replied that we have to pay anyway since we ordered even we ate nothing!!

Finally, we just ate a few pieces and left.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Hotel Interlaken. We are glad that you liked our hotel.
I have spoken with our restaurant manager concerning your evening meal and your very unfortunate experience mainly adds up to some misunderstandings. As you made the reservation with the reception they only reserved a table for you and not the specific dish that you wanted. As you then ordered the Fondue Chinoise in the restaurant, the staff could not know that what you actually wanted was a Cheese Fondue. Furthermore, there might also have been some misunderstandings caused by language problems from the side of our staff. Please do accept our apologies for the mistake and any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will do our utmost to avoid any similar episodes in the future.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Interlaken was last destination in my family Europe vacation. After stayed in many hotels and apartment in number of cities in Europe, we're through lots of up and down, and many of them were downs! And this hotel was a sweet ending for my family.

Reception staf was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful (finally a four star hotel that really decorated as 4 star in Europe!), spacious even with my toddler running around. Bathroom was very clean, even the taps had no scratch! Bed is very comfy, even for a double bed they put together two singles. There was also complimentary wired internet connection, which unfortunately i couldn't use since I didn't bring my usb cable for my tablet PC at that time.
View from our room is amazingly beautiful. it was snow when we stayed but still gave us exceptional scenery.

Their continental breakfast was delicious although not many varieties. They even served rice which is great for Asian like me that had been weeks away from home.

Location is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from Interlaken Ost station, and around hotel there are lots of casual restaurant.

Overall i found my stay was pleasant, and this hotel definitely value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Renovated hotel, stylish, great room very cosy, comfortable bed, quite nice bathroom. Nice looking restaurant with poor service, very very slow, quality and quantity of food is not convincing and if you should be hungry don't eat there!
Reception was very helpful and friendly. So over all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased that you, over all enjoyed your stay.

As to the Restaurant Taverne we are very sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectations. We always strive to be efficient and quality conscious in everything we do, however, we understand that this was not the case on your visit. We would very much appreciate learning the exact date of your stay so we can take action in order to improve the services of our F&B department.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As a Brit, who's lived in Switzerland for the five years (and earns a Swiss salary), even I have this certain problem. Every single time that I pay for, and walk into a Swiss hotel room, there's always a little voice inside me moaning "Oooww. is that it ? This is costing so much, is that the best they can do ?" Usually, I then find a little pricelist card in my room, describing the additional costs for an hour's Wi-fi, the price of that bottle of water they've left on your table, and that moaning voice gets even more depressed.

Which is why it is a relief to have found The Hotel Interlaken. Interlaken has become a horribly expensive place to stay, full of expensive jewellery shops and Japanese tourists.

Yet this is a hotel that just does things right.

When I arrived, the receptionist, Catherine, was away from her desk, walking around the small lobby, showing some guests where to find things. Soon, she was serving me, and dealt with me the same way. Honestly, when was the last time your receptionist WALKED YOU around where to find things, and took you 5 metres around the corner, to show you exactly where the lift was. Genius. Simple, but brilliant and friendly customer service at it's best.

My single room was not the biggest I've stayed in, but I hope the iPhone photos of it demonstrate how beautifully laid out it is. The bathroom, in particular, is tiny, but everything was brand new and without a single splash-mark anywhere.

And on the hotel room's desk is a network cable which provides - I hope other hotels companies are listening - free internet. Yes, free. At last, someone has listened to what customers want and expect.

This is a hotel which has just got it right. Internet is complimentary, the really nice breakfast is complimentary, and they give you a book of vouchers for local businesses. There are a few bars and restaurants nearby, the river is across the road, and the Interlaken Ost train station is a 5-minute walk away. The hotel also has a nice restaurant, with reasonable Swiss prices, a small bar, and some parking spaces.

This is, simply, one of the best hotels I've stayed at. And that opinion is based on me having one of their bottom-of-the-range single rooms, which I paid £77 for, on Expedia.

Great location, great breakfast, great staff, and really excellent value (particularly for this region).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Interlaken. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and motivates the entire team to carry on the good work.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar will be closed from January 19th until Feruar 27th 2014.Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel to a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interlaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.