We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, boutique, private appeal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Save Saved
You added Hotel Interlaken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Interlaken
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, boutique, private appeal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, close to train station, incredibly comfortable beds and great balconies for enjoying the views and cool mountain air. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Perfect for couples or solo tourists. Postcard perfect in the winter.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our facilities. We always aim to satisfy all our guests and having positive acknowledgement is the best motivation we can get and highly appreciated.

We wish you many nice travel experiences in the future and hope to welcome you back in Interlaken soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    109
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
65
123
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a pretty wet drive to Interlaken from Geneva though roads very good. Unfortunately a lot of Interlaken is dug up putting in new pipes. Easy to park right outside hotel and given comfortable room overlooking Japanese garden with pond containing huge carp-it must look spectacular in good weather. We arrived in rain and mist. Had good meal in restaurant that night and buffet breakfast in morning. Reception staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

10 mins walking from Interlaken Ost station. The hotel appearance bit old but interior still okay and quite comfortable. Room is small but most facilities available. Reception staff is helpful and nice.

Disappointed about restaurant service. We would like to try Swiss cheese fondue and thus made reservation in their Taverne Restaurant. They showed us only a fondue buffet menu when we arriving. We saw its a fondue and take this buffet set. However when the food arrived, we realized that's a meat fondue instead of cheese one, so we asked to staff and would like to change. Disappointingly, the waiter replied that we have to pay anyway since we ordered even we ate nothing!!

Finally, we just ate a few pieces and left.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Hotel Interlaken. We are glad that you liked our hotel.
I have spoken with our restaurant manager concerning your evening meal and your very unfortunate experience mainly adds up to some misunderstandings. As you made the reservation with the reception they only reserved a table for you and not the specific dish that you wanted. As you then ordered the Fondue Chinoise in the restaurant, the staff could not know that what you actually wanted was a Cheese Fondue. Furthermore, there might also have been some misunderstandings caused by language problems from the side of our staff. Please do accept our apologies for the mistake and any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will do our utmost to avoid any similar episodes in the future.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Interlaken was last destination in my family Europe vacation. After stayed in many hotels and apartment in number of cities in Europe, we're through lots of up and down, and many of them were downs! And this hotel was a sweet ending for my family.

Reception staf was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful (finally a four star hotel that really decorated as 4 star in Europe!), spacious even with my toddler running around. Bathroom was very clean, even the taps had no scratch! Bed is very comfy, even for a double bed they put together two singles. There was also complimentary wired internet connection, which unfortunately i couldn't use since I didn't bring my usb cable for my tablet PC at that time.
View from our room is amazingly beautiful. it was snow when we stayed but still gave us exceptional scenery.

Their continental breakfast was delicious although not many varieties. They even served rice which is great for Asian like me that had been weeks away from home.

Location is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from Interlaken Ost station, and around hotel there are lots of casual restaurant.

Overall i found my stay was pleasant, and this hotel definitely value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Renovated hotel, stylish, great room very cosy, comfortable bed, quite nice bathroom. Nice looking restaurant with poor service, very very slow, quality and quantity of food is not convincing and if you should be hungry don't eat there!
Reception was very helpful and friendly. So over all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased that you, over all enjoyed your stay.

As to the Restaurant Taverne we are very sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectations. We always strive to be efficient and quality conscious in everything we do, however, we understand that this was not the case on your visit. We would very much appreciate learning the exact date of your stay so we can take action in order to improve the services of our F&B department.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As a Brit, who's lived in Switzerland for the five years (and earns a Swiss salary), even I have this certain problem. Every single time that I pay for, and walk into a Swiss hotel room, there's always a little voice inside me moaning "Oooww. is that it ? This is costing so much, is that the best they can do ?" Usually, I then find a little pricelist card in my room, describing the additional costs for an hour's Wi-fi, the price of that bottle of water they've left on your table, and that moaning voice gets even more depressed.

Which is why it is a relief to have found The Hotel Interlaken. Interlaken has become a horribly expensive place to stay, full of expensive jewellery shops and Japanese tourists.

Yet this is a hotel that just does things right.

When I arrived, the receptionist, Catherine, was away from her desk, walking around the small lobby, showing some guests where to find things. Soon, she was serving me, and dealt with me the same way. Honestly, when was the last time your receptionist WALKED YOU around where to find things, and took you 5 metres around the corner, to show you exactly where the lift was. Genius. Simple, but brilliant and friendly customer service at it's best.

My single room was not the biggest I've stayed in, but I hope the iPhone photos of it demonstrate how beautifully laid out it is. The bathroom, in particular, is tiny, but everything was brand new and without a single splash-mark anywhere.

And on the hotel room's desk is a network cable which provides - I hope other hotels companies are listening - free internet. Yes, free. At last, someone has listened to what customers want and expect.

This is a hotel which has just got it right. Internet is complimentary, the really nice breakfast is complimentary, and they give you a book of vouchers for local businesses. There are a few bars and restaurants nearby, the river is across the road, and the Interlaken Ost train station is a 5-minute walk away. The hotel also has a nice restaurant, with reasonable Swiss prices, a small bar, and some parking spaces.

This is, simply, one of the best hotels I've stayed at. And that opinion is based on me having one of their bottom-of-the-range single rooms, which I paid £77 for, on Expedia.

Great location, great breakfast, great staff, and really excellent value (particularly for this region).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Interlaken. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and motivates the entire team to carry on the good work.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Short 5 min walk to the Interlaken OST station, very convenient when you're using Interlaken as a base to explore the region. Room is of reasonable size and nicely decorated. We had a corner room on the 4th floor which had very nice views of the mountains and a cathedral. With Interlaken surrounded by beautiful mountain views, I believe most rooms will offer good views. Nice selection of breakfast. Only compliant will probably be the extremely soft pillows which we don't generally like. Other than that, good place to stay in Interlaken!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar will be closed from January 19th until Feruar 27th 2014.Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel to a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interlaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.