We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond my expectation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Interlaken to your Saves list
Hotel Interlaken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Bekasi, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beyond my expectation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Interlaken was last destination in my family Europe vacation. After stayed in many hotels and apartment in number of cities in Europe, we're through lots of up and down, and many of them were downs! And this hotel was a sweet ending for my family.

Reception staf was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful (finally a four star hotel that really decorated as 4 star in Europe!), spacious even with my toddler running around. Bathroom was very clean, even the taps had no scratch! Bed is very comfy, even for a double bed they put together two singles. There was also complimentary wired internet connection, which unfortunately i couldn't use since I didn't bring my usb cable for my tablet PC at that time.
View from our room is amazingly beautiful. it was snow when we stayed but still gave us exceptional scenery.

Their continental breakfast was delicious although not many varieties. They even served rice which is great for Asian like me that had been weeks away from home.

Location is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from Interlaken Ost station, and around hotel there are lots of casual restaurant.

Overall i found my stay was pleasant, and this hotel definitely value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    138
    44
    9
    8
See reviews for
82
162
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Renovated hotel, stylish, great room very cosy, comfortable bed, quite nice bathroom. Nice looking restaurant with poor service, very very slow, quality and quantity of food is not convincing and if you should be hungry don't eat there!
Reception was very helpful and friendly. So over all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased that you, over all enjoyed your stay.

As to the Restaurant Taverne we are very sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectations. We always strive to be efficient and quality conscious in everything we do, however, we understand that this was not the case on your visit. We would very much appreciate learning the exact date of your stay so we can take action in order to improve the services of our F&B department.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As a Brit, who's lived in Switzerland for the five years (and earns a Swiss salary), even I have this certain problem. Every single time that I pay for, and walk into a Swiss hotel room, there's always a little voice inside me moaning "Oooww. is that it ? This is costing so much, is that the best they can do ?" Usually, I then find a little pricelist card in my room, describing the additional costs for an hour's Wi-fi, the price of that bottle of water they've left on your table, and that moaning voice gets even more depressed.

Which is why it is a relief to have found The Hotel Interlaken. Interlaken has become a horribly expensive place to stay, full of expensive jewellery shops and Japanese tourists.

Yet this is a hotel that just does things right.

When I arrived, the receptionist, Catherine, was away from her desk, walking around the small lobby, showing some guests where to find things. Soon, she was serving me, and dealt with me the same way. Honestly, when was the last time your receptionist WALKED YOU around where to find things, and took you 5 metres around the corner, to show you exactly where the lift was. Genius. Simple, but brilliant and friendly customer service at it's best.

My single room was not the biggest I've stayed in, but I hope the iPhone photos of it demonstrate how beautifully laid out it is. The bathroom, in particular, is tiny, but everything was brand new and without a single splash-mark anywhere.

And on the hotel room's desk is a network cable which provides - I hope other hotels companies are listening - free internet. Yes, free. At last, someone has listened to what customers want and expect.

This is a hotel which has just got it right. Internet is complimentary, the really nice breakfast is complimentary, and they give you a book of vouchers for local businesses. There are a few bars and restaurants nearby, the river is across the road, and the Interlaken Ost train station is a 5-minute walk away. The hotel also has a nice restaurant, with reasonable Swiss prices, a small bar, and some parking spaces.

This is, simply, one of the best hotels I've stayed at. And that opinion is based on me having one of their bottom-of-the-range single rooms, which I paid £77 for, on Expedia.

Great location, great breakfast, great staff, and really excellent value (particularly for this region).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Interlaken. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and motivates the entire team to carry on the good work.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Short 5 min walk to the Interlaken OST station, very convenient when you're using Interlaken as a base to explore the region. Room is of reasonable size and nicely decorated. We had a corner room on the 4th floor which had very nice views of the mountains and a cathedral. With Interlaken surrounded by beautiful mountain views, I believe most rooms will offer good views. Nice selection of breakfast. Only compliant will probably be the extremely soft pillows which we don't generally like. Other than that, good place to stay in Interlaken!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here three nights in September and found it a delightful hotel. The staff was helpful, especially Bettina at the front desk. The room was nicely appointed, and even though we just had a standard room we had a wonderful view from the balcony. It was only a few minutes to the train station. And we thought it was very reasonably priced. Also had a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake forest, il
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A short walk to the train to the Jungfrau, this hotel is well situated for the trip to the "Top of Europe Experience", a 2 1/2 hr train trip. The hotel is nice. The rooms a little tight but neat. The lobby gets very busy and a little difficult to get help but the staff is very knowledgeable once you get one. The breakfasts were included in the room price and had a nice selection of foods. You are off the main drag of hotels so it is a little quieter but a nice walk to lots of restaurants and stores. There is no a.c. in the rooms and the hall gets extremely hot. Luckily you can use the free standing fan and open the window. DON'T MISS THE Trummelbach Falls for a really fun experience. A short drive away and well worth it if you don't mind a little climbing. Bring a rain jacket for cold and wet inside the mountain.

Room Tip: There are two churches behind the hotel, one with bells that gong on the hour and I think quarter ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a reasonable hotel in a very touristy town. The good points are its location - being 5 min walk from Interlaken Ost station as well as the furnicular to Harder Kulm. There's a large supermarket nearby and being on the main road is convenient to get to local restaurants.

The staff was also helpful with travel advice and helped us purchase tickets to Jungfrau. There's limited (free) parking at the back of the hotel.

We had arranged business rooms so we can get internet access. When we arrived we were told that wifi was not free but wired internet was. Unfortunately the wired internet in both our rooms refused to work with our macs and were were given wifi cards to use instead. By the 2nd night these had run out and we had to ration our usage to last the stay.

Although our rooms were reasonable in size there was no fridge (there was a shared one at the end of the business floor). One of our rooms facing the back had a lovely view of a church with the mountains as a backdrop. While this was great during the day, the church bells tolled 15 minutely through the night with a climax on the hour each hour. This can be really annoying, to say the least, especially if you're a light sleeper.

Overall this is a reasonable hotel on the tourist trail despite the problems with the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar will be closed from January 19th until Feruar 27th 2014.Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel to a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interlaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.