We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great room, restaurant disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Interlaken to your Saves list
Hotel Interlaken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Daily Rates
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice place, great room, restaurant disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Renovated hotel, stylish, great room very cosy, comfortable bed, quite nice bathroom. Nice looking restaurant with poor service, very very slow, quality and quantity of food is not convincing and if you should be hungry don't eat there!
Reception was very helpful and friendly. So over all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased that you, over all enjoyed your stay.

As to the Restaurant Taverne we are very sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectations. We always strive to be efficient and quality conscious in everything we do, however, we understand that this was not the case on your visit. We would very much appreciate learning the exact date of your stay so we can take action in order to improve the services of our F&B department.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    113
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
67
131
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As a Brit, who's lived in Switzerland for the five years (and earns a Swiss salary), even I have this certain problem. Every single time that I pay for, and walk into a Swiss hotel room, there's always a little voice inside me moaning "Oooww. is that it ? This is costing so much, is that the best they can do ?" Usually, I then find a little pricelist card in my room, describing the additional costs for an hour's Wi-fi, the price of that bottle of water they've left on your table, and that moaning voice gets even more depressed.

Which is why it is a relief to have found The Hotel Interlaken. Interlaken has become a horribly expensive place to stay, full of expensive jewellery shops and Japanese tourists.

Yet this is a hotel that just does things right.

When I arrived, the receptionist, Catherine, was away from her desk, walking around the small lobby, showing some guests where to find things. Soon, she was serving me, and dealt with me the same way. Honestly, when was the last time your receptionist WALKED YOU around where to find things, and took you 5 metres around the corner, to show you exactly where the lift was. Genius. Simple, but brilliant and friendly customer service at it's best.

My single room was not the biggest I've stayed in, but I hope the iPhone photos of it demonstrate how beautifully laid out it is. The bathroom, in particular, is tiny, but everything was brand new and without a single splash-mark anywhere.

And on the hotel room's desk is a network cable which provides - I hope other hotels companies are listening - free internet. Yes, free. At last, someone has listened to what customers want and expect.

This is a hotel which has just got it right. Internet is complimentary, the really nice breakfast is complimentary, and they give you a book of vouchers for local businesses. There are a few bars and restaurants nearby, the river is across the road, and the Interlaken Ost train station is a 5-minute walk away. The hotel also has a nice restaurant, with reasonable Swiss prices, a small bar, and some parking spaces.

This is, simply, one of the best hotels I've stayed at. And that opinion is based on me having one of their bottom-of-the-range single rooms, which I paid £77 for, on Expedia.

Great location, great breakfast, great staff, and really excellent value (particularly for this region).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Interlaken. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and motivates the entire team to carry on the good work.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Short 5 min walk to the Interlaken OST station, very convenient when you're using Interlaken as a base to explore the region. Room is of reasonable size and nicely decorated. We had a corner room on the 4th floor which had very nice views of the mountains and a cathedral. With Interlaken surrounded by beautiful mountain views, I believe most rooms will offer good views. Nice selection of breakfast. Only compliant will probably be the extremely soft pillows which we don't generally like. Other than that, good place to stay in Interlaken!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here three nights in September and found it a delightful hotel. The staff was helpful, especially Bettina at the front desk. The room was nicely appointed, and even though we just had a standard room we had a wonderful view from the balcony. It was only a few minutes to the train station. And we thought it was very reasonably priced. Also had a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake forest, il
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A short walk to the train to the Jungfrau, this hotel is well situated for the trip to the "Top of Europe Experience", a 2 1/2 hr train trip. The hotel is nice. The rooms a little tight but neat. The lobby gets very busy and a little difficult to get help but the staff is very knowledgeable once you get one. The breakfasts were included in the room price and had a nice selection of foods. You are off the main drag of hotels so it is a little quieter but a nice walk to lots of restaurants and stores. There is no a.c. in the rooms and the hall gets extremely hot. Luckily you can use the free standing fan and open the window. DON'T MISS THE Trummelbach Falls for a really fun experience. A short drive away and well worth it if you don't mind a little climbing. Bring a rain jacket for cold and wet inside the mountain.

Room Tip: There are two churches behind the hotel, one with bells that gong on the hour and I think quarter ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a reasonable hotel in a very touristy town. The good points are its location - being 5 min walk from Interlaken Ost station as well as the furnicular to Harder Kulm. There's a large supermarket nearby and being on the main road is convenient to get to local restaurants.

The staff was also helpful with travel advice and helped us purchase tickets to Jungfrau. There's limited (free) parking at the back of the hotel.

We had arranged business rooms so we can get internet access. When we arrived we were told that wifi was not free but wired internet was. Unfortunately the wired internet in both our rooms refused to work with our macs and were were given wifi cards to use instead. By the 2nd night these had run out and we had to ration our usage to last the stay.

Although our rooms were reasonable in size there was no fridge (there was a shared one at the end of the business floor). One of our rooms facing the back had a lovely view of a church with the mountains as a backdrop. While this was great during the day, the church bells tolled 15 minutely through the night with a climax on the hour each hour. This can be really annoying, to say the least, especially if you're a light sleeper.

Overall this is a reasonable hotel on the tourist trail despite the problems with the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Interlaken the second week of September. It is a great location as it is only a ten minute walking distance from the train station. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. We enjoyed the dining room but the breakfast was just fair. One morning we noticed that there were several flies landing on the deli meat, cheese and fruit. Needless to say we skipped eating those items. Our room was very nice and had a small patio to sit outside. We unfortunately had a problem with the staff at the front desk who were not helpful and seemed to be inconvenienced by us. The morning we left it was pouring down rain and the staff told us that there were no taxi's to take us to the train station. I had asked the night before as it was raining and I was told to wait until the morning, it would not be a problem. Luckily my husband noticed that the hotel had a shuttle parked in the back of the hotel. He asked if the shuttle could take us to the train station since it was raining so hard. He even offered to pay for the shuttle...... The young man at the desk said he would have to call and see if anyone had a driver's license..... Fortunately an employee said he would take us. We made sure we tipped him well as we really appreciated the ride. The feeling was that the staff did not want to be bothered by it's guests. I am not sure I would stay here again. There are plently of other hotels and getting a ride from the train station should not be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from noise and on the higher floors. Dont go in the summer as there is no air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar will be closed from January 19th until Feruar 27th 2014.Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel to a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interlaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.