We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Hirschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gasthof Hirschen to your Saves list
Gasthof Hirschen
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 11, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Redland bay brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it, the breakfast is great, beds are comfy and the location is perfect.
The only down side is the paper thin walls, you can EVERYTHING in the adjoining rooms, I wish I could speak Japanese to know what the room next to ours were talking about at 1am!!
It is an old building, its over 300 years old so this is to be expected.
Other than that, we loved our stay here and would certainly stay again.
Just a tip, ask for a room away from the stairs, there is only one way in and out and it is noisy near the stairs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    41
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
37
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

When can you stay in a 400 year old building? This created memories of an era gone. Loved the charm and the staff. Not ultra modern due the age, but we wanted charm and Rooms were updated and spacious and it felt more like a B&B. Breakfast was perfect!!! Because of the era built, ceilings are low so tall folks beware. I hit my head twice. Still, I would come back!!!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Hirschen was charming, clean and had a lovely buffet breakfast. My 3 friends and I stayed in a nice and pretty spacious room. The rooms were clean and the hotel wasn't very loud, although it was social in the restaurant-- a great balance! Not to mention the atmosphere was lovely and homey. Staff were pretty helpful, too. Definitely would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hirschen is a beautiful Swiss Inn located in Matten. We spent a week here during March and loved every moment of it. The building itself is gorgeous with the mountains surrounding the area.

The room itself is beautiful and comfortable. The bed is comfortable and the Tv has a varied selection of channels (though you spend most the time outdoors!) Breakfast every morning is fantastic. We actually weren't aware breakfast was included but it was a nice surprise. The property is in easy walking distance to everything and has a bus that stops just around the corner. There is also a kitchenette where you can cook your own food if you do not wish to eat out every night.

The only negative for us was being tall the low roof could cause a sore head occasionally. As we were told a 300 year old place was obviously built for shorter people!

We would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina Franca, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We actually stayed around the corner in an apartment. The woman who owned the apartment also worked at this hotel. We had breakfast here every morning and it was wonderful. Fresh loaves of bread, different spreads, eggs, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee made to order. The women were wonderful about answering questions about the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The moment we stepped in the hotel, we were so impressed by the set-up and the ornaments on the wall. It has a relatively low ceiling which makes it very special. We stayed in a family unit - 2 rooms with one Queen bed and 2 singles. The toilet and bath were a bit dated and the bathroom was lack of ventilation which caused a mouldy smell. The shower head was fixed too low and made showering difficult.

The beds were comfortable. The room was warm and cozy. It was fantastic to have 2 televisions - one in each room. The breakfast was of wide variety and for the price we paid, it's definitely good value for money.

There is a bus servicing the hotel and Lauterbrunnen (ski resort). We drove to Stechelberg, where we parked our car and caught a gondola to Murren, and it was about 30 minutes from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to those who plan a trip for skiing in Interlaken Ski Resort.

A walk down the street leads you to the more touristy area of Interlaken.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A nice wooden building and pretty comfortable. It was one of the cheapest I found in Interlaken. The location is good, its less than 10 mins by bus from the major train stations. The hotel has a restaurant. I have not tried that, but within short walking distance there are other restaurants. So I would rate it as a nice locality also. Breakfast served was very good. Its an excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gasthof Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirschen

Address: Hauptstrasse 11, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gasthof Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel Interlaken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.