We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Very Nice Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hoeheweg 33, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Very Nice Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel was rather expensive but I think it was priced fairly when compared to others around Interlaken. The breakfast which was included was the best we had our entire stay in Europe. The staff was really nice and eager to try to satisfy our requests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    43
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
24
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was a bit worried about this place because of the iffy ratings. However, we really enjoyed it. The smoke in the lobby was terrible! However, we had rooms on the 3rd floor and they were smoke free. We had no problem with noise at all as we were in rooms that don't face the main street. We were a family of 3 and the room was very nice sized. Beds comfortable. Bathroom very small but clean. Great location and WONDERFUL breakfast. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Nice hotel bang in the middle of town with easy access to the railway station. Interlaken as such is a very small town so you could walk around the area and explore. Nearby are places to shop, eat and a casino as well. A grocery store is available across the road and so is the tourism office for any info and tickets to Jungfrau. Staff are ok, not impolite. The rooms are big with minimum frills. Breakfast buffet is simple and not much variety for a vegetarian. We had to make our own Omlettes if we wanted them - thought that was strange. Nice view of the mountains and a decent place to stay for a short duration

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Lovely family owned hotel in the centre of Interlaken. We had a large comfortable room and large bathroom (including bath) with views of the Jungfrau. Very helpful in reception. Breakfast good. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for room with Jungfrau views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Centrally located, exudes warmth,comfort and homely atmosphere, extremely clean & well maintained washrooms, fresh linen and towels provide everyday...breakfast good..courteous,helpful and charming staff...u get your money's worth...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Arrived in Interlake without a booking for a hotel That w.end their was a big festival and all hotel where booked out we notice this pub on the corner and had a bier started talking to one of the staff members and told that we had no room and where no sure what to do 5 minutes later she came back and told us to go to reception they had a cancellation we where a bit concerned about the price but when we ask the receptionist how much she give us what we consider a very fair price we had a great room and finessing up of staying 3 nights
Don & Maria Gold Coast Australia

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

family maintained - this property is a gem. i had pre-booked & asked for a family triple room & the best. & i believe i did get the best. on the corner - with turret window. relaxed & looking out on the central interlaken greens. one window gave a view towards the Jungrau over the roof tops. the fact that i was on the main street was not apparent .
a hearty breakfast prepared us for our day trips. no meals here but then we anyway dined in indian restaurants. the family photos in the stairwell highlighting the passing years in interlkaen -- were a good touch. the room was nice , clean & comfortable. a good base - worth its value - a 5min walk from interlaken west. i liked the way the station tourist info guided me to this hotel- " walk up the road to the tallest building in interlaken & ur hotel is the nice one next to it "
i could see a childrens area across the greens & we spent a couple of evenings with our daughter there.
by the way, remember to pack an international adapter -- in all european hotels - adapters are extra for the 2pin standardindian sockets are 3 pin - i was prepared fortunately .

Room Tip: ask for the street facing on the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Hoeheweg 33, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.