We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoheweg 139, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PAY 2 ENJOY 3 !
Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Interlaken
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    78
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
58
96
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel combines the edgy new, with the historic old. We had a room in the new wing. The room had large sliders with really cool protective awnings that looked out onto their garden. The staff was polite, but reserved, not overly friendly. The loaction is great, right in the center of the little town. The rooms were very clean and nice.

Room Tip: If you like historic victorian, ask for a room in the old part of the hotel. The new part is very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PB8983, Manager at Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to read that your've enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. We hope to see you soon again!
P.Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff was well informed and very accommodating. English skills were very good. I had a problem about going to the Jungfrau which I was not sure about and they helped me to solve it even before we checked in! I think it's says a lot about the excellent service.
We have been upgraded to a 2 rooms suite, with a lovely bathroom. The view of the alps from the two balconies was beautiful. The room was very clean and breakfast was good and tasting. The location is good, a walking distance to trains and downtown. We enjoy our stay very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PB8983, General Manager at Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback about your positive Hotel & Staff experience in our establishment. We hope to welcome you soon again in Interlaken & at the Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken-MGallery Collection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Friendly staff. Had a room with a balcony on the backyard park. Free internet and parking.

No luggage service. Steps in front of the elevator in the other building, make it complicated to move the luggage.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8983-GM, General Manager at Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your positiv feedback. We are sorry that that you couldn't get a luggage service and meet your expectation. Be assure that we did spoke this matter with our staff in order to improve our service in the futrue. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
P.Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went to interlaken and stayed at Hotel Royal-St.Georges for three days. We had booked a room in the new wing which was quite good. Although no AC meant it would be slightly hot, but bearable. My room rent included a honeymoon deco, However the hotel completely forgot about it! And only after reminder did they send somebody out in evening to do it! Breakfast had limited but good options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8983-GM, General Manager at Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your positiv feedback. Please note that we do provide a Honeymoon decoration in the room, but this service is subject to an extra charge. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
P.Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Location, cost, service are great! We had a beautiful view of the alps and two balconies. The room was very clean and breakfast was a wide variety of hot and cold options. Friendly staff and walking distance to trains and downtown. The staff was well informed and very accommodating. English skills were very good. The beds were firm which caused a great night sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony over the street. Good people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8983-GM, General Manager at Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to read that your've enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. We hope to see you soon again!
P.Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hotel Royal-St. Georges is a classically elegant structure built in the early 20th century & a member of the Swiss Historic Hotels Association, recently acquired by Accor Hotels and brought under the “MGallery” umbrella. The hotel is conveniently located equidistant from the Interlaken Ost train station and downtown Interlaken – about a five or six minute brisk walk. Ample free parking is provided behind the main building for those arriving by auto, as we did. A small driveway in front of the front steps allows temporary parking for one car for check-in purposes.

Our junior suite was located in the “west wing”, a smaller building directly adjacent, but connected via a 1st-floor walkway, to the main building. Besides a stairwell access to the rooms in the “west wing” is through one of two elevators – it is important to note which elevator services which rooms. If your room is not listed in the elevator at the front entrance, walk a bit further in to the building to find the second elevator. This was not clearly explained by the desk clerk at the time and led to a bit of confusion.

We were given one of the updated, modernized rooms with a spacious sitting area, desk, and king-sized bed. This allowed plenty of room for the two of us. The room was located on a back corner of the building, so opening the French doors on one wall and the windows on the other supplied us with some cross-breeze but we still needed to use the provided fan on our first night. As has been pointed out in previous reviews, the rooms are not air-conditioned but we didn’t find that to be much of an issue. I can see that in mid-summer during peak season there may be a bit more street noise with the windows open that could inhibit a good night's sleep; however, the rooms on the back seemed quiet enough other than the occasional train rumbling through.

The four-piece bath was very modern and spacious with updated fixtures and amenities including a towel warmer. Bathrobes and slippers (although they weren’t really needed in the heat) were provided.

Breakfast was very good, a large step above the average hot buffet breakfast provided by most equivalent hotels; in fact, the more upscale Accor properties all seem to have excellent breakfasts.

To summarize, we had no issues whatsoever with our two-night stay and would readily recommend the Royal-St. Georges to anyone looking for accommodation in the Interlaken area. My only critique is that, as with most Swiss hotels, it was slightly over-priced compared to its contemporaries around Europe.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the rear of the hotel for a quieter sleep if the windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8983-GM, Manager at Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Bowles_D

Thank you very much for taking your time to tell us about your experience at our Hotel.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Royal - St Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Patrick BONNAURE - General Manager
MGallery Interlaken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection

Address: Hoheweg 139, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Business Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken belongs to the Swiss Historic Hotels & the MGallery Collection. Set against the panoramic Alpine backdrop of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains (Top of Europe), nestled between Lake Thun and Lake Brienz, Interlaken is a popular destination for nature lovers and those looking for some rest and relaxation. Marvel at the historic facade dating from 1908, step into the elegant hotel lobby with its impressive staircase and savor the historical charm of the hotel. The large ballroom in Art Nouveau style, with its hazy light and scent of Alpine flowers, is the epitome of romance. A charming terrace awaits guests in the garden, offering a breathtaking panoramic view of the Harder Kulm mountain, as well as a relaxation area where guests can unwind.Free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free wellness & Sauna, restaurant The Verandah with 50 places, Bar-Lounge Royal, 4 banquet rooms for the organization of your events up to 150 persons, pets are welcome, hotel parking spaces available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal St Georges
Royal St Georges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.