We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Inn Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Inn Lodge to your Saves list
Happy Inn Lodge
Rosenstr. 17, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a hostel with a hostel like experience. Bathrooms were shared and Saturday night was noisy but the rooms were clean, beds were made up during the day, and the bathrooms were kept in very good shape given the number of people using them. Staff was a bit harried during the evening but otherwise very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
7
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanau, Hessen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here expecting a standard youth hostel atmosphere - fairly loud, fun, not very nice. But I wasn't prepared for exactly how loud, dumpy, and cramped this place would be. Of course, the price - 40Fr for a private single - pretty much tells the whole story.

I had the last room available, which was three floors above the bar. It was about big enough for a bed and not much more. Bathrooms and showers were down a flight of stairs and weren't kept clean in any normal sense of the word - though they were usable.

Even on the fourth floor, there was a significant amount of noise from the bar below, including enough smoke to require closing the windows. In a wooden building, this was somewhat disconcerting - especially since a smoke detector in a lower room started to go off in the middle of the night. It was quickly silenced, but it's not exactly a good sign.

The location is not ideal - about a 5-10 minute walk from the Interlaken West station. The West station is the one that practically no trains stop at, so it's a bus ride or a train ride over to East to get any of the regional trains up into the mountains. There are a handful of restaurants and a Migros near the West station but that's about it.

Service was poor to nonexistent - checkin was at the bar with the bartender. They charge an extra 2 francs for credit card payment, a fact which was not disclosed before my card was charged. Nice.

The restaurant looked decent, if a bit overpriced. I can't speak to the quality of the food.

Would I stay here again? Possibly. The prices are hard to beat, and the location - while leaving much to be desired - is relatively convenient to activities in the Interlaken region. If I came again, though, I'd bring a fire extinguisher, some earplugs, and the knowledge that I am getting exactly SFr. 40 of room in one of the more expensive regions in Switzerland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Let me start by saying that as two girls traveling, my standards weren't very high to begin with. I have a high tolerance for noise and understand that when staying in a hostel, it isn't exactly luxurious. However, this hostel is extremely noisy, even on week nights and is not very "diversified". The rooms are very small, and to squeeze 6 people in a room that could barely accommodate three is just insanity. Mind you, I am by no means expecting to have a spacious living area. Based on other reviews, I had expected it to be exactly what I paid for, but even for the bare minimums this is uncomfortable. By the second night I was seriously considering staying somewhere else and just losing my deposit on the rooms. I would suggest to other to seriously consider a different location, and if you are on a tight budget like us, stay here no more than one night and then spend the money elsewhere. It will be worth it in the long run.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

It is a typical hostel, many levels and rooms. We have a two person twin room with bunk beds and a sink in the room. It was clean and bed reasonable for the cheaper price. Bathrooms and facilities clean, not always soap though. You can book lots of activities at he downstairs restaurant desk like paragliding. Overall would do again for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were advised by Hotel Krebs about this modest and great value restaurant at this budget hotel. Run by a friendly chap from Bolton, It was off the main touristy road which had many pizzerias to offer. This place served a tasty variety of salads, pastas, ribs, steaks with a swiss twist! Interlaken is not cheap, but the chef produced good quality food for around £25 a head including drinks and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louny, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent four nights in 8-private room so we were lucky to be relatively far from the bar. It wasn´t noisy at all as we were afraid and beds were comfortable. The location near the Interlaken West train station was excellent (one street away) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The cleaness wasn´t perfect, as expected for a hostel with so many guests but it wasn´t fault of the staff but rude guests who weren´t able to clean the mess in showers. I can definitely recommend it but it probably depends on the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is basically a hostel that has a few private rooms,some with ensuite bathroom. We rented a private room with ensuite bathroom for 5 days ad paid about CHF 105 per day. The room (no. 100) was relatively small but reasonable and clean with well equipped bathroom, including one set of towels. Free parking is available and we received visitors cards that entitled us discounts at some attractions such as Shilthorn and Harder kulm and free bus service we didn't need. The staff was very nice and helpful. The lodge is centrally located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Inn Lodge

Address: Rosenstr. 17, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Hotel Interlaken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Inn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.