We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not really cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minotel Toscana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Minotel Toscana to your Saves list
Minotel Toscana
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jungfraustrasse 19, Interlaken CH - 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cheap but not really cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here for our hiking weekend in Interlaken. Didnt need anything fancy as we just needed a place for a hot shower and a spot to rest our heads at night.

The hotel is family run and very basic. The lady owner was really friendly - doesnt speak much English. When we arrived around 12pm, we were told that our rooms werent ready. Not a problem as we were early and it was done by the time we were done by our hike in the evening. Furnishing is really dated and old. Really tired looking room in desperate need of a make-over. Again - fine, I just needed a place to shower and sleep at night.

I didnt even get that!!!!

The pillows (we were only given ONE each) were awful. Flat and I had to fold it a couple of times to be comfortable. We were also given a room facing the Indian Restaurant and a pub which had a live band. Lots of people walking around and talking that made it really impossible to sleep even though we were tired after a long hike. We tried closing the windows - but it was a cold night and the room was boiling and stuffy when we tried closing it despite turning down the heating.

So the fact that the hotel stated on its website that its located on a quiet street, isnt accurate. Had an awful night sleep and woke up with the worst backache due to the pillow in lieu of our second day hike. Ugh.

Shower curtain was mouldy at the bottom - you would think being stickler for cleanliness, the Swiss would take pride in removing the mould.

Room rate includes breakfast which was the basic Swiss breakfast - cheese, cold meats, cereal, bread and gipfeli (croissants). The coffee is FANTASTIC though.

A few parking lots that belong to the hotel are located behind it. For those of you travelling by train, its about a 10 minute walk from the Interlaken Ost train station.

Hotel welcomes small, well behaved dogs.

All in all, for 135 CHF for a room with a balcony and breakfast is very reasonable for Switzerland - especially a touristy place like Interlaken. Just bring your own pillows and ear plugs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The room I stayed in had a chemical smell, although it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Having stayed in a number of similiarly priced hotels over the previous week, I found the breakfast here very disappointing. Extortionate internet charges were annoying - CHF15 an hour!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This is a nice hotel in Interlaken which includes breakfast. It is close to transportation, very clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttonwillow, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Traveling with my brother, we spent three nights in Interlaken at the hotel. I asked for a room with two beds, non smoking. We stayed in room 304, which faced the pedestrain alley. This is nice as many of the hotels face the main street, that emits a fair amount of noise.
Nice size room and bathroom. The rooms are nothing fancy, but clean, well maintained, nice closet space and decent room to put our suitcases, with adequate room to share the bathroom.
The location is in the center of town. It is perfect for walking about for shopping or going to restaurants. Incidentally, the restaurant at the hotel has nice meals at a reasonable cost (for Switzerland, where nothing is cheap!).
If you are coming in to town on the train, get off at Interlaken west, as it is closer.
Unfortunately, all of the trips to the Jungfrau, and Shilthorn, leave from the east station only. The hotel has fixed this by including a free bus pass which gets you all around town.
The hotel is run by the Michael Del Grasso and his mother. Michael is a wiz at all of the mountain tours and can not only book them, but has the capacity to print the tickets, thus eliminating confusion and lines. He was just finishing his shift, late at night, when we starting asking questions about the tours. He stayed with us for 45 minutes until we finally figured out where we wanted to go. We felt he went above and beyond in his service.
This is my second stay here, and with location, value and service, I feel it is the best bet in Interlaken, especially with the included breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed in Interlacken Toscana for two days. Our train from Geneva was delayed by 3 hrs and hence we had to delay our Check in close to 11:30 PM. The hotel front desk person was kind enough to wait for us till late in the night. Also the breakfast was good and they hotel staff were kind and very cooperative. The restaurant attached to the hotel is also very good. Very convenient location to Interlacken station and bus stop as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Had booked a double room for 4 nights but checked out after the 1st night.very small rooms & horrible service.There was no lock for the bathroom door. Pathetic breakfast.....hardly anything to eat in the spread.The main entrance door to the hotel would shut by 10 - 10:30pm & the room keys had to be used to get in which meant people sharing a room had to get back together.The only good thing was the loation.but would strongly recommend never to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We booked this hotel because it was a reasonably priced 3 star hotel with reasonable reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from Interlaken West train station. We printed out a map and had no problem finding it. Its located on a fairly quiet pedestrian / restaurant street, and looks fairly modest. However the owners really care about the hotel. The place is decked out with plants, antique style furnishings, paintings etc which really sets this place apart from the average hotel.In the rooms the bathroom is a little dated but its very clean and well maintained. We had dinner at the Italian restaurant downstairs and I can say that the food was excellent and reasonably priced. The included breakfast was a fairly generous continental breakfast. The owners of the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minotel Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minotel Toscana

Address: Jungfraustrasse 19, Interlaken CH - 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Minotel Toscana 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Minotel Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Toscana Hotel Interlaken
Minotel Interlaken
Interlaken Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minotel Toscana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.