We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, polished, excellent location, but a few short comings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Hoheweg 41, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Elegant, polished, excellent location, but a few short comings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our three day stay here was very enjoyable. The staff* is very cordial and helpful; the rooms are very nice*, the location across from the park is great for people and parasailing watching. Considering the age of the hotel, it is very very well maintained. Views of the mountains, on a clear day, are wonderful. The breakfast, included with our room, was also excellent.

That said, having a tower fan in the room for 'air conditioning' was a bit disappointed. The spa, as excellent as it is, was winding down at 9:30, even though the hours are until 10 pm. I think 10 pm means the steam room is still HOT at 9:59pm. Last but not least, there is one concierge who acts like he cant wait until he's done with you; and in a facility like this, that is one concierge too many.

Room Tip: Ask for (or pay for) a room on the front of the hotel, facing the park and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    137
    53
    18
    11
See reviews for
152
337
25
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Victoria Jungfrau is an icon in Switzerland, an old palace which has been kept up to date very well. It retains the old palace feel but is well living in the XXI century. All public areas are gorgeous, very well maintained (no "worn" feeling at all anywhere, not sure what some other reviewers were expecting, yes there is no plexiglass or glass everywhere, if it is what you were expecting), you are stepping into history without the old feel other swiss historic hotels unfortunately have. The spa/pool area is simply gorgeous, the rooms quite large for swiss standard and furniture tasteful. There are indeed many Asian tourists, but this is true for the entire Interlaken area, and we should be grateful there are here, as many historic hotels would otherwise not survive.

We only tried one restaurant, the Terrasse, highly rated on Gault-et-Millau, and it was as expected delicious. I thought the price tags on some dishes slightly too high (the one lone scampi with its lone scallop at CHF 42 was a bit of a shocker), despite the high guide ratings, but we had a great dinner.

I found the breakfast disappointing. As five stars, I am expecting something better than a single buffet, albeit well stocked, for example with eggs on demand by a chef, I think there is vast room for improvement there.

Overall, a memorable experience of walking and sleeping into an historic alpine icon, breathing history, but well up to the XXI century. Excellent food and awesome views and location. Lower your expectations with regards to breakfast and do not miss to spend time in the spa/pool area, it is outstanding.

It is not a palace anymore (you would not find a junior suite at $700 in a swiss palace !!!!!) but it is an awesome grande dame and worth every penny. I actually found it quite well priced for what is on offer.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room facing south and avoid a room facing west like plague as another hotel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel faces the mountains; however, we had to stay in a room on the opposite side. The room was rather small and the floor seems to be slightly slant. The best thing of this hotel was a spa. I had a very relaxing time there. Also, breakfast was good and a hotel staff member was very friendly and I had a nice chat with her. For dinner, I asked a concierge to recommend a restaurant for us to have traditional Swiss dishes. Unfortunately the food of the restaurant he recommended was not good. I think the concierge should have shown us a list of restaurants to choose from and should have given some explanation about each restaurant. Do I demand too much?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Victoria Jungfrau used to be a flagship for Switzerlands hotel industry. There are some positive changes, one of the restaurants have improved, but still Pasta which can be eaten everywhere. The "new type" of guests is arriving in coaches and I do hardly believe that those people are spending additional money in the hotel, they are entering the rooms with food bags from local discounters. The rooms definitely need reconstruction, in addition the cleaning was terrible this time, parts of flowers were blocking the lavatory, small pieces from nuts were on the floor as well as on the chairs, even after telling to the reception. Bath tube was full of black hairs, water in the shower was not rinsing properly, most probably hair too... I will try Lindner Beau Rivage for my next visit to Interlaken.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel has a nice entrance and nice, but worn, common areas. My junior suite, at just under $700 per night, was an ok size, and made to seem bigger than it actually was due to sparse, old furnishings. The room was hot, but the hotel does not have air conditioning, which probably had not been invented the last time the room was renovated. The staff was pleasant, but overall, I would definitely not recommend this hotel. An average hotel at way above average prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The perfect gateway to the wonderful Jungfrau glacier. The hotel is prime quality, rooms are spacious and nicely refurbished, service is excellent as we can expect from a hotel of this category. You will enter a real palace, and will enjoy the service you deserve. I particularly appreciated the cigar lounge, the swimming-pool, and obviously the incredible view from the room to the Jungfrau. I didn't try the restaurants, but I went to the buffet at the breakfast. Eggs were really good (which is difficult to find in such buffets usually), and there is a nice attention to the kids with a special corner for them.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the rooms with a view on the Jungfrau
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Victoria Jungfrau sits like a queen in the middle of Interlaken. It's sited strategically to take advantage of the distant views of the Jungfrau. Our room looked directly on to that view, and it was a pleasure to sit on the small balcony to enjoy it. We could also watch the paragliders landing, a dozen at a time, on the green directly in front of the hotel.

The hotel originally consisted of two separate establishments, the Victoria and the Jungfrau, which were subsequently joined by a corridor. It's a huge hotel with impressive amounts of public space, including several restaurants, an enormous spa, meeting rooms, a billiard room, and sitting rooms. Therein lies the dilemma. Do you want to pay for all that space? Your bill will certainly reflect it. We swam in the pool and . . . that's it. We didn't really hang out in the hotel at all, not even to have a drink in the attractive outside bar on a hot summer day. We had planned to, but over the three days we were there, we just never got around to it.

Our room was large, and as I've mentioned, we had a lovely view of the Jungfrau. I found the decor of our room attractive but dated. There's no air conditioning at all in the hotel because -- as the front desk attendant made sure to tell us -- the historic fabric of the building won't allow air conditioning to be installed. Really?? I've stayed in many historic hotels, including some in Switzerland, and they seem to have managed to install modern ventilation. An extended heat wave descended on the country during our visit, but fortunately, our room stayed cool enough so that we didn't notice too much.

The hotel caters to tour groups. It was filled with Chinese tourists, all buying expensive Swiss watches along Interlaken's main boulevard. To get away from the crowds we wandered across the river to the Unterseen neighborhood, about a 10-15 stroll from the hotel. There's a lovely square there (I wish I could remember the name!) with three good restaurants: Citta Vecchia for Italian food, the Stadthaus for good Swiss dishes, and a very upmarket one called Benacus that we didn't have time to try. We ate outside while the church bells rang -- magical! I'm so glad we found that area of town, away from the very touristy part of Interlaken and much cheaper than the hotel's restaurants.

Our check out was a bit of a disaster. The front desk clerk put my partner's credit card into the machine and couldn't get it out. She panicked and called her colleague (not the manager, just another colleague) who then called a maintenance guy to try to take the machine apart! In the meantime, the front desk clerk offered to send it to our next destination, once they got it out of the machine. Well, we certainly weren't going to leave our credit card behind. Finally, after about a half hour of watching them struggle, my partner suggested they call the credit card company, whose number was very visibly attached to the machine. They did, the credit card company gave them a code, and when they punched it in, the card popped right out. But by that time we had concluded that 1) the desk staff were incompetent 2) They had never been trained to deal with such matters. Offering to send our credit card to our next destination was insane; you don't keep a client's credit card, ever! 3) The credit card machine was clearly very old and needed to be replaced and 4) A guest's experience at check out matters very, very much because it's their last impression of an establishment. Our last(ing) impression of the Victoria Jungfrau is now less than stellar.

I'm glad we were able to experience Interlaken; it's a pleasant town. But next time, I think we'll skip it and go straight to Wengen or Grindelwald, where the real mountain hikes begin.

As for the Victoria Jungfrau -- we stayed in four hotels during our trip to Switzerland, and in my opinion it gave us the least value for money. Oh, we enjoyed it -- it's an impressive hotel, and the breakfasts and spa area were particularly good. But it was the most expensive because, I suspect, it's got the highest upkeep. So many large public rooms and facilities, most of which we never used!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Hoheweg 41, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Interlaken
#1 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
#2 Business Hotel in Interlaken
#7 Family Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken's Leading Hotel, housed in palatial building with fine views of the Jungfrau Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel Interlaken
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel And Spa
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.