We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Azteca

El Azteca
30 Jungfraustrasse, Interlaken, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 132 Restaurants in Interlaken
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Delicious Mexican food, great drinks, and a charming atmosphere. My girl friend and I stopped here for dinner and had a lovely time. Our waiter eddy as a great guy and offered interesting conversation and tasty drinks. Also the live music made the place feel like a little slice of Mexico half way around the world.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    36
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK Expat living in Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lived up to recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A friend suggested this restaurant and we had a great evening there. The atmosphere was very lively, and the service very good. The food was nice, but not extraordinary - but wow - the marghuerita's are amazing!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mexican in Interlaken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's the first and only mexican restaurant in Interlaken and one of the first in Switzerland. The owner ist Mexican, the kitchen is authentic, sometimes the owner is the cook. Live music often comes with food and drinks - it can become loud, the restaurant is quite small, but there's a nice terrasse to the street without traffic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern CT
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I hope I wasn't obnoxious.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

First of all, we made this place a destination based on other TripAdvisor reviews. My husband and I are musicians and have a professional act back in the USA, so the live music was also an attraction here for us. The place has a good Mexican feel to it. We sat at the bar and ordered food and margaritas. The 'ritas were rimmed with a salt/chili/lime concoction which we had never seen done anywhere else, and we do like our Mexican food. So, points for the creativity! Our food was very good; I got the stewed pork and my husband got mole. Both dishes were very good. I believe the reviewer who said "Best Mexican in all of Europe!" may have been correct! There was no live music going on at the time, so after a second 'rita (OK, we had been out for beers just prior to coming here, too....) I picked up the guitar in the corner and my husband and I did a song. It seemed like a good idea at the time. People clapped for us! Heehee! So we did a couple more!! But then I noticed a guy who may have been being paid to entertain came in and was looking nervous so I let him get on with his thing. I jammed with him on one song, though. I hope I wasn't obnoxious....!!!!! But hey, we had a very fun night, and I can also say that the food and the 'ritas were great, so if you are in Interlaken, and have had your fill of fondue, rosti, and raclette, you might want to come here for a very different experience during your stay in Switzerland.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Nice location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were craving Mexican food so we were thrilled to find this place. My husband, a Mexican-American was really looking forward to it. We arrived on a Saturday night and we were lucky to get in without a reservation. The food was good, though I found out the hard way that "Totopitos a la gringa" is just a plate of nachos. They had a guitarist there and overall it was very nice. My husband says his mole was wonderful. The prices were very high though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to El Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Azteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.