We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a quick bite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercato

Mercato
Postgasse 1, Interlaken, Switzerland
+41 33 827 87 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 121 Restaurants in Interlaken
Price range: $9 - $42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fresh oven baked pizza, a large selection of pasta dishes, as well as many more Italian specialities bring the gusto italiano right to your table. Fine Italian wine completes your dining experience and makes it extra special. A piece of their homemade tiramisu and an espresso perfect your meal.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Needed a quick bite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were working our way through Switzerland on a long afternoon drive from Freiburg Germany and we needed a quick bite. This is a completely beautiful area with wonderful views. The town itself is a bit touristy or completely over the top depending on your sensibilities. So, I have come to expect in such places mediocre food. While this place surpassed the "mediocre threshold" it did so only by the slimmest of margins. To be fair, we arrived at 1630 and they were only serving pizzas and salads (dinner starts at 1800). We ordered a four cheese "white" pizza (i.e., no tomato sauce) and a plain cheese pizza. The "white" pizza was actually good - a touch of bleu cheese helped make it work. The regular cheese pizza was OK, at best. Both crusts were edible. Would I go back to Interlaken just to eat here. Umm no way. But if you find yourself there and need a bite at this time of day it will suffice and will be worth the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Italian Just Off The Main Street!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Dined here 2 nights on our stay in Interlaken. The food was delicious, the pizza was not at all stingy on toppings and was delicious and the Lasanga was also fantastic. The place is full of Italian staff and Italian diners so it has to be good! It is down a bit of a quiet narrow street and we came across it by chance. The staff were excellent too.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best lasagna I have ever had!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Dropped in for lunch and had the best lasagna I have ever had. My wife is a great cook and we are very very fussy dinners and both of us agreed that it was very special. They used spinach pasta sheets with a tomato cream style béchamel that was delicious. The meal cost 17 Chf which is good value in Switzerland.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very good food, very nice staff - the pizzas are much better than their counterpart in Grindelwald. Excellent pizzas, bread and salad. The pasta was average.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Pizza reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere friendly staff and the pizza is quite good. Prices are very reasonable which is seldom in Switzerland

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.