We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for the 3rd time in 3 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellness Hotel Caprice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wellness Hotel Caprice to your Saves list
Wellness Hotel Caprice
Kreuzweg 11, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Back for the 3rd time in 3 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I guess the biggest compliment we could pay Caprice Wellness is that it was our 3rd trip here in 3 years.

Going to Grindelwald and staying at Caprice is like going home for us. The hospitality you receive is fantastic. That's why decided to end our honeymoon here.

Alex and Regula are fantastic host/hostess. The 5 course dinners are delicious and at a great price for Grindelwald. Breakfast is always something to look forward to with the fresh and filling choices. The rooms are cozy. We always get a balcony that we can sit out on and stare up at the Eiger. The sauna/steam room a fantastic way to relax after a long drive.

They offer various activities as well which I suggest you take part in. We went for a "moon lit walk" up to Waldspitz and it was fantastic. I couldn't believe how much we could see of the mountains at night. Gorgeous. A highlight for sure.

We swore this would be our last trip but the day we checked we were already making plans to return next year during the Jungfrau Marathon. See you in September 2013!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    19
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights for our 30th wedding anniversary and had a really lovely time. We were welcomed by Alex and Regula who went out of their way to make us feel at home. We had a lovely room with a balcony with mountain views, very clean and beautifully furnished. This is a family run hotel with high standards and we would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience genuine Swiss hospitality. We had half board and enjoyed the breakfasts and the 5 course evening meals.
Alex and Regula were happy to give advice on excursions and local knowledge of what to do in different types of weather was very helpful - especially as we went through the whole range of glorious sunshine, rain, snow and back to sunshine! The views of the mountains are glorious and we had some glorious sunsets over the Eiger from the dining room.
The hotel was very handy for walking to the station and the cable car but though so close to the village centre was still quiet and peaceful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the extended part of the house which was only refurbished a year ago and was beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We recently stayed at the Caprice and I can echo the positive reviews given here. It was easy to find from the train station and we received a very pleasant welcome.
We had a garden room which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was spotless and pleasantly decorated. The bed was comfortable and the room had tons of storage.
We looked out directly at Eiger and it was a breathtaking sight. We had half board and enjoyed both breakfast and the 5 course dinners. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel, I really liked the hospitality we received from the owners who run this hotel, very cooperative and helpful (thanks Alexander & Regula). We had a warm welcoming at check-in and had a tour through hotel facilities. Room was clean and cosy with an amazing view and terrace, bathroom was clean. Breakfast was excellent and delicious, dinner was outstanding too! special thanks to the chef.

I hope that there were a kettle in the room (although hotel was giving us hot water for free whenever we asked for), also a small fridge/mini bar in the room will be nice too.

I would advise everyone to check the special offers at hotel website (for example stay 5 nights and pay for 4), unfortunately I only knew about this offer ater booking my next hotel :(

For Arabic readers:
الفندق رائع من جميع النواحي وأنصح الجميع به.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Staff extremely welcoming (it was almost unbelievable, they made us feel at home quite instantly!), family oriented and very relaxing.
The room we had (I'm assuming a standard double) was small but very cozy; we had an amazing view of the mountains thanks to a well oriented balcony where we could even sit and relax.
On the other hand, the bathroom was tiny and the shower curtain was not convenient; you could also think that the hotel could use use an update even if it's been very well kept over the years; do not expect anything trendy, even in the chalet type of style.
We would however most likely come back to this hotel because the comfort that you're getting weights more than the small inconveniences.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here in June for a short family vacation. Had plans of making hiking trips during the days, so thought the half board option would be nice and easy - kids wouldn't want to go anywhere after a long day anyways. Next time I would reconsider it... The food was not great. But breakfast was really nice, the views are breathtaking and the service is really great, tending to all the needs and considering each guest individually. Ww had great recommendations on where to go, and were able to purchase train and bus tickets at the reception (the buses and the train leave at 2 min walk from the hotel). The hotel was quite empty, so we had the spa to ourselves in the evenings - bliss for aching legs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Arriving by car, we were immediately impressed by the ample free parking (charge if undercover); equally impressive was the welcome from Alexander. When he showed us to our room (number 217), the view from the windows and balcony was absolutely breathtaking. In fact the Eiger almost seemed within touching distance. The room itself was large, light and airy, extremely comfortably furnished and a pleasure to stay in. The hotel is in a great location for the railway and bus stations and a short walk to the principal village amenities. However, due to its slightly elevated position there was no intrusive noise (the trains are electric). Levels of cleanliness were excellent. The fact that this is a family run hotel (third generation) was very apparent from the warmth and friendliness of the service. The owners and staff are multi-lingual, with an excellent local knowledge; nothing was too much trouble. One tip, try the Swiss wines with your meal, what a revelation - they are so good, it's no wonder they keep them for themselves!
Fell in love with Switzerland, fell in love with this hotel and will be going back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning views of the Eiger and surrounding mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellness Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellness Hotel Caprice

Address: Kreuzweg 11, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#15 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wellness Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellness Hotel Caprice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.