We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tschuggen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tschuggen to your Saves list
Hotel Tschuggen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in a unit on the second level, going up a flight of exterior steps. For a group of 4, this was an ideal apartment. There was a master bedroom plus a smaller one with a couple of bunk beds. Outside the front door was a dedicated balcony (no other apartments). A small table and 4 chairs plus longer hours in July meant a lot of time spent outside on this table over meals and drinks. Sitting here, great views of Eiger can be enjoyed. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were thoroughly clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    48
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
84
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manakin Sabot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great place in Grindelwald. Stayed for 4 nights in July in third floor 2 room apt
The Good:
-great balconies overlooking Eiger, and quiet side of street (Note our room also had windows in 2nd room on street side)
-very friendly and helpful owners (can't say enough)
-reasonable breakfast included and prepared every day
-simple rooms, but clean and comfortable
-good price for area (great price realy especially when compared against upscale area hotels)
-located dead city of main street in town (easy walking to everything)
The Bad:
-can't really think anything. Maybe not the place for you if you prefer traditional hotel types (with hallway ice makers and large fancy lobbys).
This is a great small boutique place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we stayed for a week in june, our hosts extremely helpful, the view from our room facing the valley with the eiger towering above fantastic, go there throw open your balcony door and give yourself a treat

Room Tip: the view tof the eiger is worth going for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
around Stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent two nights in this small hotel in Grindelwald. The location was near perfect, shops and restaurants next door and the station for the (in-town free) bus just a minute away.
Although it was raining most of the time we enjoyed the cosy environment. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts were so positive and friendly... This was home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed 7 nights at Hotel Tschuggen and I love it. The rooms are clean, bright and cosy and I wake up to a fantastic view of the mountains. Breakfast is excellent and I have lots of choices. In the evening, after a long day of hiking, I just sit at the balcony with a drink and enjoy the view and quietness.

Room Tip: Get the south facing room with the balcony. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hosts couldn't have done more and were friendly at all times always enquiring if we needed anything else. Our room (11) had lovely view of the mountains, so much so we never turned on the tv preferring just to watch the clouds drift across the mountain side. Comfy beds, smart bathroom and ample storage space. Excellent breakfast. Had lovely meals at restaurants across and up the road (C&M, Memory and Central Hotel). Took the Pfingstegg gondola up the valley (discount with your guest card) and watched the snow drift across the gondolas on the First side while enjoying the sun and a cold beer on our side (on 26th May!!) We came by car from Geneva but if returning would do so by train as really didn't need the car once we arrived plans for trips put on hold due to the cold, wet weather. Thankfully we were there for a sport competition at the local centre so didn't mind too much.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the mountain views. I spent the early evening wrapped in blankets on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days at the end of the ski season. The town itself was pretty quiet by then so don't expect any apres ski.We didn't come for that though, and really enjoyed our stay in this very cute and "all we needed"-place.
The room we stayed was clean, beds very comfortable and had a beautiful view at the Eiger, incl. a balcony.
The breakfast is perfect, with healthy choices of bread, cheese, eggs, fruit etc so that you are ready for a day on the slopes.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: When travelling late in the (ski) season, check before if pool/leisure center is still open in case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tschuggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tschuggen

Address: Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tschuggen 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cozy chalet-hotel with personal service. Central location, 350 meters from the railway station and the first car. Quiet south-facing rooms with balcony and panoramic view to the Eiger North Wall and on the mountain. Apartments and family rooms. All rooms are non smoking rooms. Free Wifi, parking at the house. Free entrance swimming pool and ice rink (sports centre, 200 m away). Important information: Please note that construction works are taking/ will take place at the neighbouring property during summer and fall 2014 and spring to fall 2015. The view from the rooms with balcony is NOT affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tschuggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tschuggen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.