We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tschuggen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tschuggen to your Saves list
Hotel Tschuggen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was a lovely place. Not fancy but just as needed. The thing that sets it apart are the owners, friendly, helpful and nice. I would come back here again in a flash. The room was absolutly spotless, bed and bedding comfortable, breakfast was nicely done and the view from the balcony worth twice the cost of the room!

If you need a base for exploring the area, by ski, hiking etc this is it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: As everyone has noted the rooms facing the mountains are they way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    49
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
88
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Tschuggen for 3 nights in September 2012. We found the hotel to be in an excellent location, a short walk from the train station, in the heart of the main street with many restaurants and a bar next door. The staff were very warm and accommodating upon our arrival and offered us a choice between 2 rooms, we took the one on the top floor for the slightly more elevated view. The room was very Swiss in style (yess!) lots of wood, including a wood panelled wall, and was very clean and spacious. We loved the balcony with the magnificent view of the Eiger mountains. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was amazing. The local Eiger cheese is so delicious. :) Though there was no fridge in the hotel room this was not an issue for us as we were eating breakfast at the hotel and other meals while out and about. Hotel Tschuggen was one of our more expensive stays on our trip (as Switzerland is just more expensive than other countries) but it was well worth it for the amazing view, warm, comfortable and clean room and friendly approachable staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Tschuggen Hotel is a very nice plan, great value for money. Great location in Grindenwald, short walk from the train station, "first" ski lift, and a lot of restaurants.
The stuff is great and helpful, and the rooms are clean and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Location of hotel is farther away than expected, it is better to take bus from train station to there if you got heavy luggage (though just 2 stops required). The entrance is one floor lower than the road. Since it was wet with melting snow, it was a bit risky to walk down. As we arrived before lunch, room was not ready and they allowed us to store the luggage there. Bad thing was, I got sick and couldn't stay long outside. But at least they helped to book a doctor for me nearby. However, the instruction on how to find the doctor was not given clearly even asking for more information twice...
Room is cozy and clean, and the price is not too expensive (comparing with others there). So still ok to stay.

Room Tip: It is better not to choose one facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a great basic property with an excellent location, mid-way between the train station and the First gondola. The rooms are clean, and although amenities are few (notably a nice continental breakfast and convenient ski storage, but no phone/safe/refrigerator in room, and be sure to bring your own skin lotion, shampoo and mouthwash) the helpful staff and location make this a great choice for your stay in Grindelwald.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our sixth visit to this charming hotel. It's only a 2-star because it lacks a lift and a restaurant but the rooms are 4-star standard. Superb views of the Eiger if you have a south-facing room. Nothing is too much trouble for the owning family who are amongst the friendliest hoteliers we have ever come across. Smashing continental breakfast. Great location - easy walk from the railway station and surrounded by good restaurants. If you want half-board, you can have a package which provides dinner at the Hotel Eiger immediately opposite but Grindelwald is full of good Swiss restaurants plus Italian, Chinese etc. We recommend this hotel for winter as well - the ski-bus stops nearby with good connections to all 3 ski-ing areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was such a relaxing and wonderful hotel, staffed by friendly owners with a very fresh and wholesome breakfast. We opted to have an in-room bathroom which I recommend just for convenience and privacy, but they do offer shared bathrooms for cheaper. We got the mountain view (as opposed to the town) which I highly recommend - gorgeous views of the Eiger and the Swiss style homes. Room was quite spacious and has all the basic ammenities - apparently few hotels on our trip use top sheets, which is something we are used to in the US, so that was a bit annoying, but not particular to this hotel. Same with the pushing of two twins together instead of a true king as well as separate twin blankets - makes it less romantic but also not particular to this hotel. Hotel felt totally worth the price - oh, and English spoken well by the owners in case that's a question.

Got lots of tidbits and tips on outings an hikes which were wonderful and right on the mark. Only one we found poor was their recommendation of the restuarant next door - we judged it expensive, with poor service and mediocre food. But the place across the street, at the Hotel Selfishness, I think, was amazing! Great service, delicious food, and reasonably priced - we ate there twice!

We definitely recommend Hotel Tschuggen - it was the only hotel we stayed at in Grindelwald but felt no need to wonder about the other places and was definitely one of the top hotels of our trip.

Room Tip: Pick the mountain/Eiger facing rooms with the private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tschuggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tschuggen

Address: Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tschuggen 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cozy chalet-hotel with personal service. Central location, 350 meters from the railway station and the first car. Quiet south-facing rooms with balcony and panoramic view to the Eiger North Wall and on the mountain. Apartments and family rooms. All rooms are non smoking rooms. Free Wifi, parking at the house. Free entrance swimming pool and ice rink (sports centre, 200 m away). Important information: Please note that construction works are taking/ will take place at the neighbouring property during summer and fall 2014 and spring to fall 2015. The view from the rooms with balcony is NOT affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Tschuggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tschuggen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.