We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple but good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tschuggen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tschuggen to your Saves list
Hotel Tschuggen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A simple but good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Pros: located in the centre of Grindewald, the rooms were simple but comfortable enough, clean. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was simple but good with enough choice. The room has an entrance corridor where wet clothes and shoes can be left. There is a separate little wood house where skis and slays can be left and locked in.

Cons: the parking definitly an issue. Only a few spaces available in front of the hotel and not practicle without chains when the town is snowed in. We had to use the public parking (10 swiss francs per day), which is about 10 to 15 minutes walking from the hotel...not great when you haev to carry heavy luggage and the pavement is icy.
No fridge in the room...No safe but a small built in wardrobe with a key.

For parents: you cna rent a cot, good quality. there are high chairs available for the breakfast. there are some toys and kids books available in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    48
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
84
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for 5 days over Christmas and we could not have been happier with our choice to stay here. The owners are helpful and knowledgeable. The B&B is conveniently located in the center of town, maximum 10 minutes walking (with luggage) from the train station. It is clean and welcoming with comfortable beds, good water pressure and amazing (free) wifi connection.

Directly across the street in the Hotel Eiger is a restaurant which we ate at every day that we were in Grindelwald. The bar staff were excellent and friendly. Nothing in this town is cheap but here we felt we got amazing value for our money. The food was fresh, hearty and the beers were Swiss.

Another restaurant (Restaurant Rendezvous) directly to the left of the hotel was another one of our favourites. We ate there for any meal we did not have at the Eiger.

What made this hotel even more fantastic was with an early morning departure on our last day (meaning we would miss breakfast) the staff prepared for us packed sandwiches, fruit, orange juice and chocolate to take on the train. Plus a kettle and coffee for us to make while we got ready to depart.

Overall, a fantastic stay in Grindelwald. When we come back we would not look for anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just spend 5 nights as a base for winter hiking. This is a simple hotel, but spotlessly clean with friendly owners, filling breakfasts and centrally located. The Eiger view from our room was one of the most spectacular I've ever seen. No bar and fireplace, but you can go next door or across the street to other hotels for that. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a north-facing view and look out on the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Good location with spectacular views of Eiger. Breakfast was good and owners were really friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if I head back to Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms which face the main road, they can be really noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We just stayed one night, and served well our purpose.
Has a big room, nothing fancy.
The breakfast is good!
It has it's on car park... for free! A very nice and useful thing in a country like Switzerland!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was excellent. Waking up to the views of Eiger is a great way to start the day. The hotel is centrally located in Grindelwald which itself is a really pretty town / village. The owners of the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitey stay here again when I next visit. Loved it!!

I would recommend staying in Grindewald instead of Interlaken as it provides a better base to visit all the must see places.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Booked Tschuggen based on previous reviews and was not dissappointed. For location, value for money and service this Hotel is hard to beat and fully deserves its excellent reputation. South facing rooms have stunning views of the Eiger. Breakfasts are substantial and tasty. They also go that extra mile to ensure you enjoy your visit - I had to leave very early in the morning and they even prepared coffee / orange juice / sandwiches etc in advance for me. I would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a balcony and the best views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tschuggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tschuggen

Address: Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tschuggen 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cozy chalet-hotel with personal service. Central location, 350 meters from the railway station and the first car. Quiet south-facing rooms with balcony and panoramic view to the Eiger North Wall and on the mountain. Apartments and family rooms. All rooms are non smoking rooms. Free Wifi, parking at the house. Free entrance swimming pool and ice rink (sports centre, 200 m away). Important information: Please note that construction works are taking/ will take place at the neighbouring property during summer and fall 2014 and spring to fall 2015. The view from the rooms with balcony is NOT affected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tschuggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tschuggen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.