We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly youth hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grindelwald Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Geissstutzstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly youth hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Grindelwald youth hostel is a brisk uphill walk from the centre of town but once you get there it is a friendly place to stay with excellent value clean rooms in good condition.

If you want dinner you have to book in advance but there are plenty of places to eat in town if you haven't booked.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

When my husband and I planned a town-to-town hiking trip in the Alps, we thought it would be fun to stay at the hostel in Grindelwald and meet other hikers/travelers. My husband speaks German, so we reserved by phone, and our first warning should have been when the manager demanded a $90 deposit upfront -- even though we would have paid a $6 deposit if we'd reserved online at the Hostelling International site.
Ideally, hostels are friendly and welcoming, but that wasn't the case in Grindelwald. After hiking 23 km from Meiringen, we arrived dead-tired at 7 p.m. We found out the hostel serves dinner, and we would have liked to eat there, since the buses to town had stopped, but we were not allowed because we hadn't reserved in advance. We dropped our pack in our room in the newer, concrete building next to the chalet, which my husband dubbed "the army barracks,'' noticed there was no soap in the bathroom and returned to the office at 7:30, also hoping to buy a beer, but it was locked and the staff had disappeared, so we had to go without.
So we trudged down to town, which is a big tourist trap, but we did find a great place to eat, the C&M cafe. The taxi back in the rain cost $15.
Our room was bare-bones -- concrete walls, nothing on the walls, no view, no clock, thin and scratchy towels, dark corridors. I mean, it's a hostel -- but our total cost was $116 U.S.! The staff treated us like potential thieves -- I had to pay a $5 deposit to use a hair dryer, and at 9:25 a.m. (we had to strip our beds and be out of our rooms at 9:15 a.m.), while I was looking at a rack of postcards, the manager snatched it away and put it in the office so she could lock up for the day.
This hostel may be a good deal in ski season, but in mid-June, we could have stayed at a B&B in town for the same price and actually be welcomed and fed a nice breakfast (breakfast was bare-bones, too, for Europe). The chalet did seem pleasant, and beds there are 32-34 francs per person, so it may be all right for a single traveler, especially during a busier season when there are more people around. But the private rooms in the barracks are not a good deal at all -- the worst value on our entire trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I like this hotel. Eventhough it is not 5 stars hotel. But it is beautiful, peace and romantic. Also the service is good. The staffs are so kind, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

If you don't get a spot in the charming old part of the hostel, the new building with it's 4 bedded rooms works well for clean, quiet sleeping space. It's basic but unbeatable for the price. Locations ok but learn the bus routes and schedules to avoid late night walks up hill. Showers make one feel good about being green and saving the planet with low flow hot water but hey, it's a youth hostel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

For skiing on a budget you can't go wrong with staying at the Grindelwald official swiss youth hostel.Spectacular views abound from the balconies and quaint features inside make it feel homely and as good as any expensive swiss hotels. Preferably request to stay in old building which over the years has been renovated and is very clean and quaint. If going on your own or as a family there are various types of accomodation varying from dormitory type room to four bedded rooms for families. Buffet breakfast and evening meal is included in price which i have found to be excellent.The local ski bus stops some 100 yards from the hostel.My departure was at 5am and the staff happily prepared me a packed breakfast which I took with me. Only downside to the place is that it is situated 15 mins up a hill and if you miss the last ski bus which departs at 1830hrs it's either an expensive taxi SF24 or a hard slog up a winding road or even worse up along a steep and possibly icy path on the other hand it's good exercise

  • Liked — Location and ambience
  • Disliked — Walk up to property
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Excellent beds and facilities, despite the age of the chalet, interior is well maintained and some parts even looked brand new. Great balcony view from each room. Staff is extremely welcoming and friendly, and dinner was excellent. Too bad I missed the fondue on Christmas night. This is not your regular youth hostel as it packs in families with kids and the elderly. Expect to feel a little homesick if you are a single traveller, but it sure feels very wholesome. One thing that can be improved on is the location map available online, it was useless. Get the official one from the tourist office instead.

  • Liked — Everything except the hike up.
  • Disliked — Location not so easy to find.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

One of the best hostels I've ever styayed at. Very friendly and helpfull staff, excellent food, clean rooms, just about anything you could ask for and the veiws could not be beaten anywhere.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grindelwald Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Address: Geissstutzstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best of the Alps - have fun in the Grindelwald youth hostel! It is undoubtedly one of the most comfortable hostels in the Alps. The welcoming cosiness has remained, but modern bedrooms and practical facilities for groups and families have now been added. More than ever before, the youth hostel is a rendezvous for sport fans and young guests from all over the world who want to experience the impressive world of the mountains around Grindelwald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Grindelwald Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Grindelwald Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grindelwald Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.