We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grindelwald Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Geissstutzstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Sofia Region, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wonderful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here with my girlfriend as part of a biking trip to Switzerland. This is the sort of place where from you can really easily hit the various mountain tracks, let your thing be biking, hiking, nordic walking, or anything of that sort. The staff was friendly, the rooms were ok, though a little bit chilly in August due to the cold summer this year. The breakfast is simple, yet really perfect to fuel up if you have a full day outside ahead of you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The beautiful old chalet which houses the Grindelwald youth hostel has original wooden floors, stairs and balconies, with stunning views to the Eiger and other mountains, but also has all the modern features you would hope for. Clean bathrooms with modern power showers, wifi in all the lounge areas, comfy mattreses, great buffet breakfast, super helpful staff, a fabulous slide in the garden for the kids. All in all a great place to stay at a very good price. And a super walk down into town too. Thanks, guys!

Room Tip: Ask for the old building, and for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the hostel for one night in a bunk bed room with dinner, bed and breakfast. The food was good and the whole place was spotless and very comfortable. I couldn't fault it. Parking cost 7CHF per day. I would recommend this place without hesitation. Grindelwald in the most beautiful spot with breath taking views. The walk into the main town takes about 15 mins (down a hill).

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hostel overlooking the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Fabulous 100 year old youth hostel up the hill in Grindelwald with spectacular views of the Eiger on a clear day. Had dinner and breakfast - fantastic food.

Staff really great - Cornelia on reception couldn't have been nicer - same goes for all the staff we encountered.

Well signposted from the station - about 20 mins up hill walk - very pleasant.

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Room 112. It's a 4 bed dorm - 2 bunks (but we are lucky enough to have it just for the 2 of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here as a group, in two dorms of 6, for 2 nights purely for the purposes of Skiing in the Grindelwald area. The room was basic as you might expect, a loft room, with 6 beds in a row. Not much space above the bed, so be careful if you will hit your head! It was tricky to make the bed due to this purpose. It was rather strange to sleeping so close to others, but a small divide by the head, meant at least you weren't turning around into another persons face. There were lights for each bed. There was only one female toilet per floor, and 2 showers, which posed a problem on occassions. The location of the hostel is not great, unless you have car. Buses aren't very frequent (every half hour), and are crowded, and its a bit far / too slippery to walk down the steep hill into the village. The breakfast was good with meat and cheese, cereal and toast. For the Price its good value for Switzerland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

since the rooms dont have big windows the environment is perfect for such insects. Unfortunately I got more than 50 bites from this "Bettwanzen" and I saw one of them in a bet...just i did not know what it was...so hygine in this hostel is doubtful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Ok, so this is a youth hostel so I can' expect standards to be too high. I went in with low expectations but overall I was pleasantly surprised.

Location was pretty good, 5 or 10 min walk to the town (a shortcut down through the hills) or a bus stop 2 minute walk up the hill.

Our rooms were clean, you have to make your own bed and bring your own towels though.

Views from our balcony were incredible.

Table tennis and table football was pretty cool after a few beers.

We had access to the TV to watch our videos from the day which was pretty cool.

The manager was quite friendly.

Unfortunately there were a few issues that let the place down a little...

Firstly, we arrived late at night in heavy snow and just managed to get there. We struggled to work out where to park and left the car in what we considered a safe place until morning. The next morning we were given a 50CHF fine with no negotiation. Yes we parked in the wrong place but it's a shame they didn't see our side. (It's 7CHF/day for their regular parking)

The second issue was the 50CHF cancellation insurance that was added to our bill. Not quite sure why as we had already paid a 300CHF deposit. Once all the extras were added the place didn't seem quite so cheap.

The doors are paper thin, so even a chat in the evening can be enough to disturb your neighbours.

There aren't enough showers/toilets. When it gets busy you can be in for quite a wait.

Some of the bunk beds are a health hazard. No guard on the side to stop you falling out! One of our group fell and hurt themselves, I would be really worried with kids.

Apart from that, it was OK and we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 111. We stayed in 117 we had access to a huge shared balcony with views of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grindelwald Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Address: Geissstutzstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best of the Alps - have fun in the Grindelwald youth hostel! It is undoubtedly one of the most comfortable hostels in the Alps. The welcoming cosiness has remained, but modern bedrooms and practical facilities for groups and families have now been added. More than ever before, the youth hostel is a rendezvous for sport fans and young guests from all over the world who want to experience the impressive world of the mountains around Grindelwald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Grindelwald Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Grindelwald Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grindelwald Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.