We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Eden to your Saves list
Bel Air Eden
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 76, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Fine hotel close to the bahnhof / station. breakfast is fine. they offer parkingplaces for cars in the nearby garage, parkhaus. the owner works hard, and is very friendly, willing to answer all sorts of questions.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coogee, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Bel Air Eden (booked via Booking.com), and stayed in room 29, top floor, corner, south facing, with sensational open views of the Eiger and the Grindelwald countryside. Location is perfectly central, a very short walk from the railway station. The room was comfortable, roomy, quiet, light and airy, with really good beds and bedding (nice lemon duvets..makes a change from white!), with a large balcony with outdoor table and deck chairs. It was fabulous to wake up each morning to the views of the Eiger, and smell the fresh air! So thank you again Peter for giving us this wonderful room. If we had to point out the downsides we would say that the shower area was very compact (although the shower pressure was the best we have ever had in a hotel) and the furnishings etc aren't super modern. We were unable to get an internet signal in the room for the entire time we were there..however we used our computer downstairs in the bar area so it wasn't a problem for us for our stay. Breakfast is served in a large bright breakfast room peacefully overlooking the great views...and breakfast was very good...lovely breads, cheese, meats, eggs, etc. Overall, we had a great relaxed stay, and would recommend the hotel to others...as long as you don't expect glitzy modern facilities.

Room Tip: Request a room that has a view of the Eiger on an upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

No frills here, but the rooms are clean and some are spacious. The ones at the back have terrific Eiger views. The ones at the front can be a little noisy. Peter and his wife are so friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. The location is right by the station which turned out to be a real advantage. Great value for money in a very expensive town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and have Eiger views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Well the title says it all!! We booked a room here after reading other reviews and boy were we glad.The Eiger facing south room was worth the extra cost and the breathtaking view will forever remain in our minds.The hotel is extremely close to the train station and does not involve an uphill walk .Our baby was travelling with us and they had thoughtfully provided a cot,pillow and duvet for her.The biggest plus was a elevator.Not all budget hotels have it and believe me, its a great help if you have to lug a stroller daily or have a lot of luggage. The owner, Peter, was very helpful and kindly got us an electric kettle and adapter. The only con I can think of is the breakfast (which was actually quite good) but not much of variation...but guess that's a problem with most hotels, budget or otherwise.The room could do with a livelier color/wallpaper.

Another small pointer - would strongly recommend Grindelwald over Interlaken as a place to stay (just adding coz we took a long time to decide where to stay). Its just 35 min by train from Interlaken ost but much more scenic with fewer tourists and has sufficient eateries, hotels, shops (including a Coop and a Migros). Its very well connected by train and trains ply till midnight. This is also on the jungfrau route and you could easily get to other places of interest such as lauterbrunnen, wengen, kline scheidig and schilthorn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We loved our stay at Bel Air Eden. It wasn't new or glamorous and the decor is dated, but it was very comfortable, unpretentious and the owners are absolutely lovely. I would recommend the Eiger view room. It was breathtaking to wake up to that view. Our room also had a balcony. For travelers arriving by train, it is very close to the Grindelwald station. Restaurants, ski hire shops, free buses around Grindelwald etc. are all just a short walk away. The perfect location for us. It had free wifi and it never failed in our room. Brekky was yummy and included in the price. The owners spoke English and were happy to provide tips on what to do in the area.

Grindelwald and the surrounding area is truly stunning and I would strongly recommend it to those visiting Switzerland.

Overall, it is not the prettiest or grandest of motels, but it has a lovely welcoming feel to it and satisfied all our needs. It also was reasonably priced for the peak ski season.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Booked this place based on other reviews and we were not disappointed. It delivers very well on all the essentials - friendly welcome, clean and comfortable rooms, plenty of hot water and a good breakfast. Decor in rooms is dated, but all in good order so it doesn't matter. Definitely worth the extra Swiss francs for south facing room as views are superb. Easy walk to and from station to get trains up or down mountain. Managed and run by friendly and efficient hosts. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quieter and have superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here in October for three nights. We splurged on a south facing room and it was worth every cent. The weather was fantastic and there are not enough superlatives to describe the view of the Eiger and the Grindelwald valley from the balcony. We sat for hours with a glass of wine as the sun went down listening to the cow bells tinkle and the colors changing on the mountains and fields.

The hotel is less than 100 meters from the train station and is clean and efficient. The breakfast was one of the best continental breakfasts of our trip and included Bircher muesli (yum), fresh fruit and hot hard boiled eggs plus the normal breads, jams and cold-cuts.

We did the walk from Männlichen to Kleine Sheidegg. What a fantastic scenic mountain walk - not at all strenuous. We also did the trip up the Schilthorn which took most of the day but we spent a lot of time in Lauterbrunnen. Highly recommend both of these.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Eden

Address: Dorfstrasse 76, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bel Air Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bel Air Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Eden Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.