We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to come back to after a long day hiking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Hotel Restaurant to your Saves list
Residence Hotel Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybigaessli 3, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice to come back to after a long day hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Friendly staff always willing to help and advise us on the nest days weather! The evening meals were very different, mostly things that we would have never ordered ourselves but almost without exception were very tasty! Got to try some proper swiss food that we would have missed out on otherwise. Nice rooms, with a top notch daily cleaning service.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Termoli, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

The hotel is a typical mountain building with balconies rich of flowers. It is located 10 mins walking from city center, but it has a large free parking in front of the entrance.
My girlfriend and I booked a double superior room, which only difference from standard room is the presence of a balcony that looks toward eiger....what a great view!
The room is really clean, adequately spacious -related to a mountain room- with a really confortable bed and shutters to get almost completely darkness if you like it.
Breakfast is satisfying, but it is moreover a continental one, with no cooked food.
The receptionist was really kind with us, especially for the first breakfast,which we cannot have, because it is served from 7,00 am. That day we planned an excursion and the cheapest start was at 6,55 am, so she prepared us a delicious packed lunch, with sandwiches, choccolate and fruit, and she left it on a table in the lobby with our name on!! Great.
The only problem with this accomodation is the price which is a bit high for a three star hotel, but i think is aligned with otheer Grindelwald accomodation.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

The biggest detraction from this hotel is it's location, it is on the far side of town from the train station, so if you are not driving then it is about a 15 minute walk to get there. Also, the staff was cordial but not particularly helpful in giving information on recreational opportunities in the town. The rooms were pretty average, and the breakfast was good. Overall, I think there are probably hotels in Grindelwald that are a better value.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed half board in this hotel as part of a Ski package holiday.
It is located at the other end of Grindlewald from the railway station. Grindelwald is not very large but when carrying skis to go up the mountain on the cog railway we took the ski bus to the station. Not a problem since the buses were frequent and the journey only took 5 minutes.

The hotel itself looked as if it had fairly recently been refurbished and our room was large and comfortable with private facilities.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent with a buffet breakfast and four course evening meal, always beautifully presented.

Although we didn't try it the hotel offered free admission to the pool at a nearby hotel.

  • Liked — Friendliness and food
  • Disliked — At other end of town than railway station
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

Switzerland was somewhere we had long wanted to visit but thought it would too expensive for us, we were wrong. We booked on line with Crystal Lakes and Mountains and when the tickets came there was clear travelling instructions along with tickets for the train. I was a bit apprehensive about travelling on our own on the trains, but I needn't have worried as it was straight forward and everything is well signposted.

We picked Grindelwald as it appeared to be a good centre for walking and it was. The Hotel Residence was very good and the food excellent a different menu every night (we went for two weeks) the staff were also very friendly.

In with the holiday was a Swiss Pass which enabled us to buy a Jungfrau pass half price about £60.00 each for six days but it was well worth it, we certainly got our money's worth and also saw some amazing places. All the trains were on time and clean, in general were very impressed with the cleanliness and the politeness of the Swiss.

We are a couple in our late 50's so night life is not so important, I not sure what the town centre was like at night as after a days walking in beautiful areas all we wanted was a hot bath, good food and a comfy bed all of which we got at the Residence. The view from our room was not too bad, we were at the side of the hotel and did get a decent view of the Wetterhorn.

We were so impressed with Switzerland that we are going back this year but to a different part; I would however have hesitation in recommending the Hotel Residence.

  • Liked — The excellent food
  • Disliked — pleased with everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Booked directly with hotel. Communicated with Mr. Herbert Rensch, who despite my offer , did not want my Visa as guarantee even tho I booked about 6 months prior to our trip and even at check-in they did not ask for for our Visa.

Check in was smooth, staff very friendly, warm and welcoming.After the coldness of hotel staff at the Du Lac in Bellagio it was so refreshing to be here.

Room: We booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with kitchen. Unit was great. Well stocked, full size fridge/freezer, oven, stovetop, dishwasher utensils. We stayed 3 nights, but could have comfortably spent a week here, provided we brought our own linens. Bedrooms comfy but basic. Pillows too soft even tho I tried using two. No topsheet only fitted sheets and then a duvet which creeps me out as I do not like using hotel comforters. Bathrooms well appointed.

Location: Excellent. Balcony overlooked the Eiger. Walking distance to Firstbahn and Grindelwaldbahn. Close to restaurants, walkable to Coop for groceries.

Rate: 360CHF = 360 Canadian, including breakfast for family of 4. Breakfast was good. Breads, cheeses, cold cuts, cereal, tea/coffee, but no hot component. Free parking.

Overall a great hotel, wonderful staff and view second to none.

  • Liked — Location and wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Bed linens need updating ie better pillows , mattresses and two sheets.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

My Wife and i have stayed here 4times and the service, quality of food and cleanliness are all excellent. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly,Clean and comfortable, good food
  • Tips/Secrets — just sit back. relax and enjoy
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel Restaurant

Address: Rybigaessli 3, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hotel Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.