We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpenblick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpenblick to your Saves list
Hotel Alpenblick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Gletscherstrasse 16, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Sackville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had spectacular views from our room! We stayed here in mid-June and the hotel was very quiet (I don't think there were many guests). The staff were very pleasant and helpful and our room was neat and tidy. We had a sink in our room, but had to go down the hall to the toilets and showers (which were very clean). FREE WIFI! Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open, so I cannot comment on it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our room provided spectactular views of the surrounding mountains. Room were in excellent condition and staff were friendly and helpful. I would be pleased to return here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Although i never actually stayed here, i used to walk down to the Bar and Resturant from my place. The bar has amazing views and it very quickly became my local, as the bar staff were so very friendly, talking with me even when they were busy (thanks Birte and Lucas) . The drinks are a good price, and the atmosphere is relaxed and fun. Also there is a pool table and darts board, as well as a pin ball machine. The food there is also very good buy the end of my stay i was eating there almost every night as it was just as cheap to do that and i also hate cooking for one. Miss you all and my second living room!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We only stopped for one night but had a double room with shower and the most amazing view of the eiger. The room was clean and bright and timber paneled as you would expect in Switzerland. It has a lively local bar at the back again with great views. It's located slightly out of the centre which we liked as we were away from the large hotels and coaches. I've been visiting grindlewald for years and think the bar is one of the best in town as its a locals one as well. Reasonably priced considering your in switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed here with a group of 15 friends - mixture of double rooms with/without bathroom and a quad with mezzanine. The owners were flexible and helpful with the booking and the rooms were all great - bright and modern, quiet and very clean with awesome views. Theres a good on-site bar and the atmosphere was lovely.
The food (dinner and breakfast) was just average but filling with reasonable choice - but as the hotel is a little bit out of town and we were tired, this wasn't that important

Room Tip: No-one had any complaints about their room - there's a lovely big terrace on the 2nd floor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

First the good, no, the great part. The location and view are stunning. You wake up to the sound of cowbells. Breakfast is really good, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Bedding was clean as was the entire facility including shared bathrooms. Short walk to the nearest local bus stop, local buses are free with accommodations and you also get a discount card which is very handy, given the prices of the lifts and trains in the area. Decent bar/restaurant downstairs if you want a beer after your hike, although in the swing season it's closed Monday and Thursday. And the price was great, about $100 per night

However, the carpet is old and dingy, the walls are the Swiss equivalent of thin wood paneling, and the walls and doors are very thin so you can hear everything. We had a room near the road so it was very noisy from traffic (it's not a major highway by any means, but it's on a hill so the vehicles that do go by are at their noisiest). The pillows, which were real feather, caused both of us to have allergic reactions, so either they have been damp or they were not hypo-allergenic washed feathers (I suspect the latter). The pillows are also rather thin, I doubled mine over and it was still pretty flat.

If you are on a really tight budget and/or are using the room as a sleeping spot only, it's fine like any other clean, modest motel might be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The best part of this hotel was the view from our window. It was the best for my entire trip in switzerland. The room was comfortable, could have been a bit bigger. Shared bathroom and toilets. Clean facilities. There is a restaurant downstairs, so if you get late getting there you always have the option of eating at the restaurant or in your room. The breakfast was great - everything was good quality! Quite a bit of walk from teh station if you are travelling with luggage, but very convinient if you are driving. The lady at reception spoke nicely, and helped us with all teh information we needed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenblick

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 16, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpenblick 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alpenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpenblick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.