We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bar in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avocado Bar

Avocado Bar
Dorfstrasse 158, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
+41 79 955 27 04
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Grindelwald
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Avocado Bar is a chilled out bar located in the beautiful mountain village Grindelwald. We take pride in creating a relaxed positive environment for all. The kind of place people walk into without knowing anyone, and leave with a handful of good freinds.Atmosphere!!!!!!!!!!!!
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best bar in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a great time hanging out in this bar every night we were in town. Good drinks, comfortable atmosphere, and most of all a friendly owner. It was nice to come here each night after a long day of travelling in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“young crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

felt a bit ancient amongst the younger crowd of route setters and coaches that were there for the climbing competition, but it is in an excellent spot and very relaxed. we grabbed the sofa in the corner then noticed everyone came in and sat at the bar. I can imagine it buzzing with snow boarders in the winter.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Decent place for drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The bartenders were friendly, the drinks were good, and the band wasn't bad either. The place gets packed (there aren't really many choices in town).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We found Alex outside his bar before it opened. He took 20 minutes giving us recommendations about the town... We promised to come back when he was open. This bar is so great, it's charming and grungy at the same time. You can sit over an old fashion sleigh with small candles for a cosy drink or belly up to the bar with the local skiers and hang out with Alex. We spent hours talking with other patrons, playing games they had laying around and just watching the snow fall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Our little basecamp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great staff, busy but not too busy.

We had a great time and ended up there most days, we got a seat most visits. Even a little outdoor event during their old school night which was entertaining :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avocado Bar also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Avocado Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avocado Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.