We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute pearler!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avocado Bar

Avocado Bar
Dorfstrasse 158, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
+41 79 955 27 04
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 61 restaurants in Grindelwald
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Avocado Bar is a chilled out bar located in the beautiful mountain village Grindelwald. We take pride in creating a relaxed positive environment for all. The kind of place people walk into without knowing anyone, and leave with a handful of good freinds.Atmosphere!!!!!!!!!!!!
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolute pearler!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What an amazing bar! We spent quite a few hours there one cold rainy night at the start of September and had the best time! Alex is awesome and has a typical Aussie sense of humour (just like us!) Whatever the shots were that he made us...well...warmed us up for sure. Great sources of entertainment e.g/ life size Jenga, dart board etc. Met some fellow Aussies which was really nice and made us feel at home when on the opposite side of the world yet still able to mingle with the locals and have a great time. We would highly recommend this bar and looking forward to returning someday. Thanks Alex and keep up the good work mate!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Owner at Avocado Bar, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I think you guys planned to have one drink and go home, then you meet the local. All down hill after that happened.

Stoked you hasd a good time and it was really nice to meet you guy's.

Thanks heaps for the review. Please contact me if you ever come back here

Take it easy,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    49
    17
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“unexpected pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

been to grindelwald before, few years back and there was onely 1 bar (not much of a choise)
now with this new bar, more like a 2nd living room, light was good and atmospheric,
interior was comfy, and the staff wa really nice !
crazy ozzie can entertain everybody, and iff you stay a little later, tou could catch an unexpected jam session or start one !
there's a separate smokers room/lounge, but before 22.00 (very strickt) just stay outside in front, nice streetview and hangout.
this bar is where everybody meets from the locals to all travellers round the world and all ages,
he got more then enough choise of drinks (very nice selection of whiskeys)
and check out the wednesdays street fest in june and august !
thank you guys for making me feel at home away from home

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Owner at Avocado Bar, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Wow,

I think we should hire you as our head of marketing. Thank alot for the great review.

Whenever someone says its like a home away from home, it makes me feel that we really are doing something right here.

Thank you very much.

All the best from your 2nd home,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just ripe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great dartboard (with a surprisingly great "scroreboard"!), good abiance, good selection of guitars to try... and look out for the "classical" Fender!  Good place to go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Owner at Avocado Bar, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi guys,

Thank for the review.

You guys were the first to notice that guitar. Quite a surprise actually.
Nice that u like our score board for Darts.

All the best, i look forward to seeing you back here.

Take it easy
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Cool Place Mate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a great time hanging at the Avocado Bar while on a hiking holiday in Grindelwald. The owner (he is Australian) and staff were very friendly and welcoming. They had a varied beer selection including options other than the traditional lager. The lighting was good with comfortable seating and great atmoshere. Would highly recommend a stop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Owner at Avocado Bar, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks a lot,

I'm happy to hear you had a good time here.

Thank for the recomendation.

All the best,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Super chill.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Great place to chill. And Alex the bartender is a very nice Aussie bloke. I'd been Dieing for a skate in grinderwald and he was nice enough to give a go !.
Amazing and fun atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Owner at Avocado Bar, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank for the review,

It was really nice to meet you and your family.
Keep up the music with your brother. I think your both really talented so next time we see us i gonna need your autograph.

Keep rockin.

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avocado Bar also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Avocado Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avocado Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.