We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and affordable price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lauberhorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lauberhorn to your Saves list
Hotel Lauberhorn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Gletscherstrasse 41 | info@hotel-lauberhorn.ch, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place and affordable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I 100% recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Grindelwald. The owners are friendly and helpful. My wife and I loved this place and really appreciated the neatness and cleanliness of the rooms. Summary: Great breakfast, great staff and great hotel! P.S. Beni (one of the owners) is a paragliding pilot. if you are looking for a great way to see the Alps in a unique perspective, talk to him.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    39
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
57
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I absolutely recommend Hotel Lauberhorn to anyone who is looking to stay in Grindelwald and not spend a fortune on some of the higher-end hotels. It's the little extras that they do that really make you smile: the free sunscreen in the lobby, the games in the hangout rooms, the book exchange and the tiny bar that you can get a drink at. They also don't cheap out on the breakfast at all (which, amazingly, is included) - fresh espresso with hot milk, fresh muesli, local cheeses and fresh bread from the bakery etc. etc. The view from our hotel room was breath-taking as well. I was more than pleased - this hotel is worth every penny and then some.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place is totally set up for mountainbikers, the owners are very knowledgeable about the area and will help you choose the best route for you and provide a map. Bernie in particular helped us by planning a ride for our second day. They have electrolyte drink powder available for your water bottles at breakfast which is a decent spread, and even wash your bike gear overnight so it's ready for the next morning. We particularly liked the balcony with a great view of the Eiger north face. One con is that the ceilings are quite thin and we could here the people above us: their alarm going off and walking around but we slept pretty soundly due to all the exercise we got during the day. Yes, the shower stepped staright into the room but it wasn't a problem for us at all and the balcony and views more than made up for any small inconvenience. The prices were reasonable for Grindelwald too. Note that their wiring doesn't allow for an electric water jug to be used in the room but they were happy to provide me with hot water when I asked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was such an amazing place to stay as the view from the room was great and had a deck. Very very nice/remodeled room. I would call it contemporary with a cozy feel. Front desk staff were so nice and helpful. I felt right at home. Free bus pass given on check in. Bus stop right out front. 10 minute walk from town. The only down side was the buses stop running early ( 7 or 8) so if you don't make it you have to walk. Not a huge deal but it is a hilly town. Such a beautiful location that it didn't matter. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place for couples and families. Free wifi. Very nice free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had the pleasure to stay in this Hotel early July. We had a great view of the value and the mountains from our Room. I think pretty much all the rooms have a great view on this Hotel. Breakfast was good, i loved the cheeses and bread served (all fresh). The Hosts provided us with a great deal of information and attended all of our needs. The Hotel is a family run operation so they make you feel at home and everything is cozy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I just completed an eight night stay at the Hotel Lauberhorn and loved every minute of it. We were returning to Grindelwald after a 35 year absence. Our extended stay reinforced to us what a magnificent place Grindelwald is and how lucky we were to stay for this amount of time.

Conny and Beni, owners of the Hotel Lauberhorn, and their wonderfully friendly and knowledgable staff (especially Anita, Susana and Ursi) made us feel welcome and wanted. They have an extensive knowledge of the area and encouraged our questions about what to see and how best to see it. Every day at breakfast we were asked what we had planned for the day and were given expert guidance on how to best accomplish our plans. Our room was comfortable, spacious, airy and clean. Our second floor balcony faced the Eiger and the view was indescribably beautiful. The Hotel Lauberhorn's breakfast buffet was one of the most extensive, fresh and healthy ones we've experienced. We started each day with this healthy meal and were ready to tackle full days of hiking and exploring. We particularly enjoyed the weekly barbeque put on by the hotel with Beni as chef. This all-you-can-eat meal was as good as the daily breakfasts with freshly grilled meats, vegetables and an array of salads and sides.

A Gridelwald bus stop is located in front of the hotel. We got a free bus pass when we checked into the hotel. The walk to town is about fifteen minutes. The free wifi was solid in the room and throughout the hotel (a critical item for us).

We were sad to leave Gridelwald and would like to thank Conny and Beni and their staff for adding to the excellent time we had in this wonderful area. We hope to return and stay again at Hotel Lauberhorn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The room had a balcony looking directly at the Eiger, and even with a few clouds around it was a fantastic sight in the morning.
We popped up to Grindelwald for a couple of days with only a vauge idea of what to do, but the staff were approachable, friendly and informative - with lots of advice about what to do depending on the conditions. On the rainy day this led us to the Lauterbrunnen Valley where the waterfalls were flowing beautifully.
The free wifi worked (and there's free internet acess on pc), and though we had a car the free bus pass would have been very handy if needed. You can walk into the centre of town (where you can find a Co-op) in about 10 minutes, with the lift up to First even closer.
We asked for an en-suite double room with a mountain view. The room was a good size, with comfy beds (two singles together, which is the norm). It was initially a bit odd having the shower in an alcove of the actual room but it really made no difference to us.
The breakfast did the job and consisted of cereal, yoghurt, locally produced bread and cheeses. There was also coffe and - very importanlty for some people - lots of different loose leaf teas.
All together a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauberhorn

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 41 | info@hotel-lauberhorn.ch, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lauberhorn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The philosophy...carpe diem - seize the day. Our biker and paraglider friendly hotel is located on the sunny side of the Grindelwald valley. All rooms have a shower/toilet and a balcony with a beautiful view of the impressive mountain scenery. Pets are welcome. Visitor tax and VAT included in the price. Our guest cardgives you various reductions in Grindelwald and allows you to travel for free on the public buses to and around the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauberhorn Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lauberhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.