We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place to stay out of downtown Grindelwald, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naturfreundehaus (Nature's Friends)

Save Saved
You added Naturfreundehaus (Nature's Friends) to your Saves list
Naturfreundehaus (Nature's Friends)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naturfreundehaus (Nature's Friends)
Terrassenweg, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing place to stay out of downtown Grindelwald, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for just one night and really enjoyed how peaceful and quiet the location was out of downtown Grindelwald. Some say the downtown is too touristy, but this hostel is up on the hill of Terressenweg and quiet peaceful with quick access to a trail (a bit steep - this is the Swiss Alps) leading up the mountain for some beautiful nature hiking or down into the town. The husband and wife hosts were very helpful with orientation though the wife speaks a bit better English. The breakfast was really good, the most oats and yogurt I've ever seen in one place + bread, jam, coffee, milk and juices but no meat or eggs. I didn't have the dinner but it looked good also. I found the whole hotel to be quiet clean and well maintained.

The only downside I noticed was the creaky noise of the wooden building when walking around and thin walls, hearing others talking in the next room or hallway. If you're a light sleeper this might be an issue, and you'll also want to bring your own pillow if you have a preference. The 2 bed room we had was compact and narrow, but quiet sufficient with plenty of shelves and space under the bed for storing our stuff. There are bathrooms on the main floor but showers are downstairs along with the dirty shoes/skis room, and those showers had some great water pressure - such a delight after a long hike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view if available, it is quite a site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. We were in the mountains. The hotel looks very good and has alpen atmosphere. Rooms, toilets and showers were clean. You can use the kitchen and all stuff in there. Staff is very kind, helpfull and friendly. There is beautiful view when you rest on a deck chair. Thank you for nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We, my husband and I (57 and 53) spent our vacation in the Naturfreundehaus Grindelwald from July 7 to July 17 and had a very nice stay there. The house is a hostel. Knowing that this means simpel rooms and not hotel like facilities we were very positively surprised. The house is very clean. Everything is kept very well in order. The breakfast was a great surprise: A large variety of cereals, joghurths, juice, milk, excelent bread, jam, cheese etc. and of course coffee and tee. Delicious! Breath taking was the view from our window, streight into the mountains. Beautiful! The house is an old Swiss Chalet, very charming, built of wood. Although the walls are thin we slept very good in our comfortabel beds. The dining room is lovely decorated and has a very good atmosphere. There is lots of space to spent time with a book, or writing cards, playing games - on rainy days. But the beautiful nature all around the place calls for walks and activity. An ideal "house for friends of nature" - what Naturfreundehaus actually means.... . One remarkable point is the friendlyness and patience of the owners who helped in every situation (in English, French, German), with advice, good hints, explanations, a telephone call etc. Returning from a long hiking tour it was very pleasant to relax in the hostels garden, watching the play of changing lights on the mountain tops during sundown. Conclusion: If you are looking for a bit of luxury this is not your place. But if you are looking for an affordabel good base with a warm atmosphere for your activities in nature, clean rooms and bathrooms, good food and a friendly and helpful host, this hostel is definitely to recommend. We really enjoyed our stay there and will certainly stay there again in further years.
We will give 4 points because our experience was "very good", our expectations were more than met. The description on the hostels pages is definitely close to the facts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

not so easy to reach without private car. there is a bus but not too often. nice view from rooms with mountain-view, we've not had it. big space in front of the house for breakfast. very helpful staff, prevented us go hiking into snowfields. its a simple house with simple rooms, but price is moderate for grindelwald.

Room Tip: take room with mountain-view if you like to stay longer than just sleep there. its simply breath-tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We just stayed here with a group of seven for six days. The Naturfreundehaus is well situated on the Terassenweg and has views of the breathtaking surrounding mountains including the Eiger. A bus runs directly from the train station to the house. The rooms are basic - simple beds, thin walls, no closets, hooks on the wall to hang your belongings. The Naturfreundehaus is run privately in the style of a 'Berghuette'. Breakfast is included and dinner can be bought (SF 20 per person - the food is basic) and there is also a well appointed self catering kitchen. You pay 1 SF for 8 minutes on the hotplate. The rule in the house - and this is different from any self catering Huette we have ever been in - is that you cannot consume your own drinks - cola, beer, wine, etc., but have to buy it from the host. Prices are steep: SF 28 and 30 for an ordinary bottle of wine and SF 6 for a bottle of beer can quickly add to a substantial amount. If you bring your own car - parking is SF 5 a night. The host is moody and lets you know that he thinks he should be charging more for his facility. Because of the extra charges our trip ended up being quite a bit more expensive than planned and our rating is based on that. The setting rates excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and the view from the (tiny) window was simply amazing. The beds were not really couple-friendly and the walls made every conversation well audible from at least one room over. However, since this is not the party hotel, the sleep was sound and unbroken.

The hotel is a bit from the center, so when the buses stop going (at about 7pm during summer) you have to walk which in this town means height difference. But it doesn't take long (10 minutes) as long as you go without your luggage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed here with my teenage daughter and the place was great.
it was a bit of a trek up the path to the hotel but, no point in going to Switzerland if you are expecting it to be flat. The reward, however, was opening the window to our room and seeing the Eiger in front of us...it almost didn't look real (a picture postcard).
The owners were perfectly pleasant and very hospitable...rooms were small but perfectly okay....and breakfast was an excellent choice of breads, pastries, yoghurts, fruit, cereal...and much more. Prices were very reasonable for Grindelwald so would definitely recommend...we have been back twice since.

Room Tip: Take a taxi from station if you not feeling fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Naturfreundehaus (Nature's Friends)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naturfreundehaus (Nature's Friends)

Address: Terrassenweg, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Naturfreundehaus (Nature's Friends) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naturfreundehaus (Nature's Friends), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.