We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly hotel, idealy situated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bodmi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bodmi to your Saves list
Hotel Bodmi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Terassenweg, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Keighley
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Family friendly hotel, idealy situated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Bodmi three times - and have always found the staff friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel is right next to the Ski school slopes and near the lift to the First ski area. Easy to get to by public transport and just over three hours from Zurich airport. The food has always been varied and filling - just right after a day on the slopes, and the rooms are warm and comfortable if a bit old fashioned. for a UK visitor at present the SFr rate is painful - but that isn't something the hotal can help

Room Tip: South facing for the best view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This is your base if you are parents with kids or if you want to learn skiing. Bodmi, which starts at the doorstep is the perfect location to learn skiing or boarding. For both you can hire coaches or take courses or just teach yourself. There is a nursery for small kids and the place also caters for you if you are into tubing or sledging.

The rooms, have good views, unless you are to the back. They are clean but the sofa bed is breaking your back, so don't count on sleeping on it. Overall it's very quiet once the sun is down since its outside of the village. I would book the hotel again, since there is no alternative in this location.

The restaurant is a let down, the food choices are very limited and overpriced. In essence most of the food is deep fried. Service not really enthusiastic. Although the hotel is a family run place, there is little or no heart in it and it lacks character.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel has probably one of the best locations you can find in Grindelwald. It is located above the village of Grindelwald and can be reach by foot (very steep walk) or by car / bus. From the hotel you have a wonderful view to the Eiger. Hotel Bodmi gets a lot of sunshine. In the winter the ski school is right in front of the hotel, so you can walk out of the hotel and start your lessons right away. Rooms are cozy and clean, with a balcony you can relax with a wonderful view towards the mountains. The restaurant hat excellent food, however prices are at "swiss level" which means there are no real bargains

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Hotel Bodmi was everything we had hoped for, and more. Gracious, kind and friendly owner-operators full of good advice they happily shared on everything from where to hike to where to dine. The hiking advice was perfect, but in the end we ignored their dinner recommendations in favor of dining in at the hotel's excellent restaurant which boasted a deep and fairly-priced wine list as well as fantastic regional cuisine with an emphasis on beef, game, and fresh fish, all beautifully prepared.
We loved the hotel's location along the gondola line, on a grassy shelf well above the village. It is set in a world apart from the crowded shopping scene below, yet is only a scenic 10-minute walk down to the train station and all the "action" - and a bit longer for the walk up. We'd been informed with our booking that we could phone the hotel when our rain arrived, and someone would drive down to collect us and our luggage. This same prompt and thoughtful service was provided for our departure.
"Lovely" doesn't begin to describe our room. The large bed was supremely comfortable and I don't know if we should credit the bed or the fresh mountain air and absolute silence at night. Bathroom was predictably immaculate, good water pressure in the shower and ample supply of hot water. A hair dryer was provided, as were fluffy robes and free wifi that worked well. To be really picky and find one small criticism, it would be that lighting in the room wasn't great for reading for over-50's eyes, but it's a small point and one I encounter at most hotels these days. Our room also had a sofa and small table but the main attraction was the wall of glass that opened to the most spectacular Eiger views. Our generous balcony offered seating for sun-bathing or reading, and a table to hold our bottle of wine and glasses. The ideal place to relax with a drink after a long day of trekking, perfectly positioned to catch the last warm rays of the afternoon sun. From there, we'd wrap up in the hotel's fluffy warm robes and head down to the former goat ran, beautifully restored and converted to a wonderful health &relaxation area. Sensory showers (summer thunderstorm, winter ice mist complete with scent and lighting effects), Finnish sauna, and steam bath complete the included options, as well as a relaxing solarium on the floor above. In a charming twist, the small herd of goats kept by the hotel, which provide some of the delicious cheeses served with meals, now reside in new goat stalls built adjacent to the sauna - so it's possible to observe them without disturbing them via a one-way window.
Elizabeth and Kurt, who own and manage this gem of a hotel, are kind, interested, and interesting people. The entire staff has been impeccably trained, and strike just the right note of relaxed, friendly and efficient service that never becomes intrusive.
Hotel Bodmi has quickly become one of our favorites, and we can't wait to return next year!

Room Tip: South facing rooms with Eiger view and balcony are well worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

When my wife suggested we try the hiking trails from Grindelwald on the other side of the valley from Murren (where we had spent an unforgettable week several years ago), I expressed reluctance. Why change perfection and after all, Grindelwald is a bigger village with cars and hordes of tourists. In the end, we decided to split our week: four nights in Murren, four in Grindelwald. I was a bit more comfortable when she found a hotel perched on a shelf above and away from town with an Eiger view.

When we arrived at the station in the late afternoon, the hotel sent a car to transport us and our luggage. On arrival, we received a particularly warm welcome from Elisabeth who assured us that 'we were not in the middle of nowhere.' We responded that we hoped we were! She showed us our room: lovely and charming though the Eiger view wasn't visible due to the fog. After a short walk to stretch our legs, we came back and spent a relaxing hour in the hotel's sauna which, uniquely I believe, has windows looking out on the goat sheds. Perfectly delightful.
Next, dinner in the Bodmi's superb restaurant where we decided to have all of our evening meals. (The kitchen is excellent with each dish prepared to perfection with an interesting selection of wines and impeccable and friendly service.)

The weather cleared over night revealing a simply breathtaking view of the Eiger but we didn't linger after breakfast - wonderful yoghurts - as the hikes trails were beckoning: They range from the incredible to the iconic. We asked about the famous Shynigge Platte to First walk - listed at about six hours. Elisabeth printed out rail tickets while we had ate. She said if we got to First after the cable car to Grindelwald stopped running or it was getting dark, to call her. Needless to say, we wouldn't have dreamed of bothering her and got back in time for another sauna, enjoyed the light fading on the Eiger from our balcony and had another fabulous meal. That evening, we had the pleasure of meeting Kurt, Elisabeth's husband as well, and enjoyed his tales of life in the mountains.

Four days in heaven and I still miss it two weeks later. We've already blocked off the same week next year for a return visit with perhaps one fewer day in Murren and an additional day or two at the Bodmi. The combination of magnificent vistas and perfect hospitality makes the Bodmi the ideal choice for a Bernese Oberland holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are so glad we chose to stay in Grindewald and at the Hotel Bodmi. The hotel sits about a 10 minute beautiful walk on a "Wanderweg" (hiking trail) above the main street and the First Gondola. If you are arriving by train you would have a bit of a walk and may want to use a taxi to get your bags to the hotel the first time. After that walking everywhere would be no problem. Hotels along the main street in Grindewald might have a problem with noise and the views aren't near as good as from the Bodmi which is higher up. We had a rental car and the drive was no more than 5 minutes from Grindewald. What you get for this distance is quiet and beautiful views. The hotel has a stunning view of the Eiger. We chose a room with a balcony and view of the Eiger. Highly recommended. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room and bathroom were large and clean. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evening and enjoying the quiet and the beautiful view. The breakfast was excellent each morning with lots of different home made jams. They have their own herd of goats where they get their goat cheese. We got to see the goats a couple of mornings which was fun. The location of the hotel was perfect for us. It was an easy walk down to shop or eat and the hotel is literally right under the First Gondola which takes you to some beautiful hiking. The Faulhorn hike was stunning. Overall we had an excellent experience at the Bodmi and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Recommend choosing a room on the Eiger side and the balcony was worth the cost for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were here for three nights and loved it. It is a ten minute climb out of the village (20 minutes if you are dragging your luggage from the station). Not so easy to find in the dark, but when you wake up in the morning and see where you are - it is magic.

The hotel sits alone up high under the First Gondola. All round views are amazing. We had a south facing junior suite which was lovely. Plenty of space and a huge terrace. Our only small gripe was the proximity of our room to the gondolas swinging past and interested faces staring in. Next time we will try to get a room on the other south westerly side of the hotel. But, we were out most of the day and the gondola only runs until 17h30.

Staff were really lovely, food was fine and the wine list was reasonably priced. Try some of the goats cheese. We were watched by the goats themselves as we enjoyed our meals. Our little dog was very welcome, and he enjoyed it all (almost) as much as we did.

Room Tip: South facing room - preferably away from the Gondola
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bodmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodmi

Address: Terassenweg, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bodmi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation like in a picture book. A hotel for individuals! Our hotel offers you all comfort with spa in the stable and a unique view. Very quiet location within green meadows, situated directly at the ski-runs, hiking-trails and ski-school area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bodmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodmi Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bodmi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.