We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect gem of a hotel, warm, friendly, and a view to take your breath away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bodmi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bodmi to your Saves list
Hotel Bodmi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Terassenweg, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A perfect gem of a hotel, warm, friendly, and a view to take your breath away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

When my wife suggested we try the hiking trails from Grindelwald on the other side of the valley from Murren (where we had spent an unforgettable week several years ago), I expressed reluctance. Why change perfection and after all, Grindelwald is a bigger village with cars and hordes of tourists. In the end, we decided to split our week: four nights in Murren, four in Grindelwald. I was a bit more comfortable when she found a hotel perched on a shelf above and away from town with an Eiger view.

When we arrived at the station in the late afternoon, the hotel sent a car to transport us and our luggage. On arrival, we received a particularly warm welcome from Elisabeth who assured us that 'we were not in the middle of nowhere.' We responded that we hoped we were! She showed us our room: lovely and charming though the Eiger view wasn't visible due to the fog. After a short walk to stretch our legs, we came back and spent a relaxing hour in the hotel's sauna which, uniquely I believe, has windows looking out on the goat sheds. Perfectly delightful.
Next, dinner in the Bodmi's superb restaurant where we decided to have all of our evening meals. (The kitchen is excellent with each dish prepared to perfection with an interesting selection of wines and impeccable and friendly service.)

The weather cleared over night revealing a simply breathtaking view of the Eiger but we didn't linger after breakfast - wonderful yoghurts - as the hikes trails were beckoning: They range from the incredible to the iconic. We asked about the famous Shynigge Platte to First walk - listed at about six hours. Elisabeth printed out rail tickets while we had ate. She said if we got to First after the cable car to Grindelwald stopped running or it was getting dark, to call her. Needless to say, we wouldn't have dreamed of bothering her and got back in time for another sauna, enjoyed the light fading on the Eiger from our balcony and had another fabulous meal. That evening, we had the pleasure of meeting Kurt, Elisabeth's husband as well, and enjoyed his tales of life in the mountains.

Four days in heaven and I still miss it two weeks later. We've already blocked off the same week next year for a return visit with perhaps one fewer day in Murren and an additional day or two at the Bodmi. The combination of magnificent vistas and perfect hospitality makes the Bodmi the ideal choice for a Bernese Oberland holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are so glad we chose to stay in Grindewald and at the Hotel Bodmi. The hotel sits about a 10 minute beautiful walk on a "Wanderweg" (hiking trail) above the main street and the First Gondola. If you are arriving by train you would have a bit of a walk and may want to use a taxi to get your bags to the hotel the first time. After that walking everywhere would be no problem. Hotels along the main street in Grindewald might have a problem with noise and the views aren't near as good as from the Bodmi which is higher up. We had a rental car and the drive was no more than 5 minutes from Grindewald. What you get for this distance is quiet and beautiful views. The hotel has a stunning view of the Eiger. We chose a room with a balcony and view of the Eiger. Highly recommended. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room and bathroom were large and clean. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evening and enjoying the quiet and the beautiful view. The breakfast was excellent each morning with lots of different home made jams. They have their own herd of goats where they get their goat cheese. We got to see the goats a couple of mornings which was fun. The location of the hotel was perfect for us. It was an easy walk down to shop or eat and the hotel is literally right under the First Gondola which takes you to some beautiful hiking. The Faulhorn hike was stunning. Overall we had an excellent experience at the Bodmi and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Recommend choosing a room on the Eiger side and the balcony was worth the cost for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were here for three nights and loved it. It is a ten minute climb out of the village (20 minutes if you are dragging your luggage from the station). Not so easy to find in the dark, but when you wake up in the morning and see where you are - it is magic.

The hotel sits alone up high under the First Gondola. All round views are amazing. We had a south facing junior suite which was lovely. Plenty of space and a huge terrace. Our only small gripe was the proximity of our room to the gondolas swinging past and interested faces staring in. Next time we will try to get a room on the other south westerly side of the hotel. But, we were out most of the day and the gondola only runs until 17h30.

Staff were really lovely, food was fine and the wine list was reasonably priced. Try some of the goats cheese. We were watched by the goats themselves as we enjoyed our meals. Our little dog was very welcome, and he enjoyed it all (almost) as much as we did.

Room Tip: South facing room - preferably away from the Gondola
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Used the Hotel Bodmi as a base for a weeks walking holiday in Grindelwald, Bernese Oberland.
We were on half board and the holiday was booked through Inghams. There is quite a bit of choice as far as hotels go in this resort. We chose this one because it fitted our criteria when in the Alps. Big enough to cope, small enough to care.

Arrived to an amazingly warm reception from Verena, it felt as if the sun had come out (even though it was tipping down with rain outside). We were then given a whistle-stop tour of the important parts of the hotel before taking us to our room.

We stayed in a Junior Suite; ours faced south and west (BIG balcony that ran around the corner of the hotel). Great view of the Wetterhorn and Mattenberg. It was of a good size (the suite NOT the Wetterhorn) and had a separate sitting area with settee, chair and table to throw yourself or your gear on after "a hard day in the hills". It also received the sun`s warming rays in the morning so as to get you out of bed for the sumptious breakfast.

The food was wonderful. Breakfast buffet style with selection of bread, ham, salami, home-made butter, cheese, boiled eggs, yoghurts, cereals, jams....I could go on and on. If you wanted a hot breakfast that was available at a supplement. The evening meals were even better; four courses, imaginative and plenty on the plate. Weizen bier and a wine list to die for too!!!

All the staff deserve a medal for their friendliness and hard work. A charming lady member of staff (who`s name escapes me) would always bring me an extra pot of coffee at breakfast as I loved the stuff, without being asked! They were all THAT good!

If you want to get about you can walk down to town BUT let the Bus (21) take the effort out of getting back. We used our area passes after slogging up the hill a couple of times. In fact, get an Area pass, then all the trains (apart from Jungfraujoch), cable cars, gondolas and buses are free.

I really can`t praise the work of Elizabeth and Kurt enough. Always had the time for a chat and a joke or a handy bit of advice. Do yourself a favour if you`re thinking of staying anywhere in Grindelwald. Stay here!

Room Tip: Ours had a great view of the mountains, the cable car and the goats. Room 221
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

small family run hotel close by nursery slope and easy access to both main ski facilities. Ski hire shop and inside storage for skis.
Comfortable rooms wonderful suites. Slightly limited menus. Great for families.
Outside town so not interesting for busy nightlife but mainly for serious skiers and families
We have been there three times

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms southside have a marvelous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster, md.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I travel to Europe annually. We no longer go to the impressive European cities, with their churches and grand historical sites, instead we look for places that just make us feel good. In Grindelwald, we have found Bodmi. Viewing Grindelwald from the Bodmi terrace is like viewing a great Christmas garden, with villages below and the awesome Eiger and Wetterhorn in the background.
The Bodmi Hotel is great, but their kitchen is superb! Believe me, we have tried the competition. The staff is the friendliest, and Elisabeth and Kurt are the most gracious of hosts. If you decide to go to the environs of Interlaken, try Bodmi and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Bodmi Hotel is in a wonderful location but the hotel is brought to life by the attentiveness and helpfulness of all the staff and the owners Kurt and Elizabeth. The Eiger facing rooms have a spectacular view of the mountains and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

The highlight of the breakfast is the home made goats cheese made by Kurt using milk from the hotels herd of goats.

All in all a truly memorable stay, I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bodmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodmi

Address: Terassenweg, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bodmi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation like in a picture book. A hotel for individuals! Our hotel offers you all comfort with spa in the stable and a unique view. Very quiet location within green meadows, situated directly at the ski-runs, hiking-trails and ski-school area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Bodmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodmi Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bodmi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.