We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 49, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

There is no elevator in this hotel
The rooms are quite small
Some parking lots are very tight
There is no heating system for your ski boots.
The bathroom is small
Wifi and internet is not free

So why go to this hotel ?

There are more than enough positive things about this hotel that more than compensate for these negative points :
- staff is very friendly and give you good touristic advice
- the bar is very cosy and charming
- as always in Switzerland : everything is squeaky clean
- what a view from the balcony ! OMG !
- the ski bus stops at 100 meters from the hotel, the train station is just an 8 minutes walk away (walking with ski boots and skis)
- Food, both breakfast and dinner, is very good, especially if you consider the price
- And yes, if you consider the price, you really get value for your money.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building. The adjacent building is across the street so you have to go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mosca, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very nice view on mountains. Balcony with small table and chaits. Clean room. Big soft bed and a lot of snow around. Very good staff, especially receptionist Andrea. Go to restaurant on the main bus station - very good food there

Room Tip: Go for new building Crystal - it is new and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

They were right. We stayed at the Jungfrau Lodge, and WOW what a view we had. The Lodge we stayed in was very nice and much cheaper than many of the Hotels there. The staff was friendly and spoke some English, A refreshing change for us. Our room looked out on the green hills with gingerbread houses scattered throughout. It reminded me of a Grandma Moses painting.
We so wanted to ride the train up the mountain but the weather would not cooperate. It was partly sunny when we arrived but very quickly clouded up. Then came the fog, then rain, then snow on the mountains. The next day was no better so we pushed on to our next destination.
With a little luck and a little money left we will return to Grindelwald. We need to ride that train!
Go to Grindelwald. You will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wow! What views from our balcony - the Jungfrau, the Eiger, endless snow covered mountains. Cowbells in the pastures provided a distant musical treat as we wandered around beautiful Grindelwald township. Owners of the Gasathof were very friendly, free WIFI in lobby, laundromat over the road (down a set of steps), restaurants everywhere, food market close. Comfortable large room with everything you'd expect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've stayed here twice now in the summer and the reasons I like it so much are: 1) very friendly and helpful staff, from the people at the front desk to the service folks. 2) Very good breakfast, with plenty of choices. Last time I stayed we also had half-board and the meals were ample and delicious. 3) location- close enough to the train station to make it an easy walk but far enough from the main square to make it quiet. 4) It's just a very comfortable place to be and the rooms are an adequate size with plenty of hot water. Also you can use the pool at the fitness center.

Room Tip: Personally I have decided that paying a little extra for a north facing room with a balcony that lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The room was pretty small (single bed, desk with tv, small sink and wardrobe), but it was adequate and good value in terms of Swiss hotels. WiFi access is available at a rate of 5 CHF for 24 hours. The hotel is only 5 minutes away from Grindelwald station, 15 minutes walk from Grund station and the Mannlichenbahn, so very good location all round. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful too. Overall, I had a very enjoyable stay here and would definitely stay again. Breakfast was a simple, continental affair, but good nonetheless.

One negative point, although this didn't really affect me, but there is no lift, so elderly or disabled people may run into difficulties, or people with a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had rooms in the second wing (not the main building), which has parking area.
The rooms were cozy, and the bathroom was ok too.
The main highlight of the hotel is the AMAZING view over the valley and the mountain. We sat for hours on the balcony watching it, hearing the cowbells from distance disturbing the silence. It was great.
The service was friendly and the breakfast was very good.
The hotel is quite close to the "center" of the village.
We took a hiking trip around the city - strongly recommended.
Mind you: Grindelwald is quite expensive, but then again, it's not really unique in Switzerland.

Room Tip: Note the hotel has 2 buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 49, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Swiss Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.